We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've never seen such colourful banks of flowers & intriguing sculptures.”

The Himalayan Garden & Sculpture Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Very beautiful garden and sculture park specialising in Rhododendrons and Azaleas so only open during spring and early summer
Bainbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“I've never seen such colourful banks of flowers & intriguing sculptures.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Getting to the Himalayan gardens was a challenge as everywhere had roadworks in preparation for Le Tour de France. However, once inside there was no colour in the rainbow that you couldn't see in the form of a flower or leaf. Not just for horticulturists. There were sculptures to intrigue you as you strolled up and down the pathways. As the name Himalayan suggests you do change altitude as you go round the gardens but well worth making the effort.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Newbigginers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    32
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

These gardens just outside of Grewelthorpe are a hidden gem. They are built on the hillside below a house and you can wonder for a couple of hours through the various plants. There are a couple of lakes you can walk around and various sculptures along the way - you are given a list on the way in with details of the sculptures if you want to look them up as you walk around, each one is numbered so you can find them on your list.
There is a tea room and garden/nursery near the entrance so you can have a break and look round the nursery when you have looked at the gardens. We visited on a Bank Holiday and the car park was quite busy, however, even so the gardens did not feel over crowded.
Make sure you wear sensible/strong footwear as you will be walking up/down some steep steps and paths.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank akirkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely day out.”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a great day such a lovely place to see. Well worth a visit so many plants. Lovely little cafe and excellent plant selection to purchase too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden delights”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was my second and my wife's third visit to this distinctly seasonal attraction. We were absolutely stunned at the spectacular display of rhododendrons in various stages of flowering. The gardens are an absolute delight, and although the sculpture 'treasure hunt' was quirky, anyone who goes for an enjoyment of these exotic flowers in bloom will feel real satisfaction from seeing this subtly landscaped setting. Everyone we met on our visit seemed to share our enthusiasm - this is a real hidden gem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

These beautiful gardens are well worth a visit. At every turn a new vista opens up, with carefully
planned sculptures making focal points in the veiw.

The food in the little cafe was very good, all seemingly homemade and delicious. Anyone desperate for cappucino (see previous review) should stick with Starbucks and not venture to Himalayan gardens.
Likewise entertainment for children. The wooden adventure playground looked most inviting,
but the other visitors were all well-behaved adults enjoying the tranquility.

I will be making a return visit soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Himalayan Garden & Sculpture Park also viewed

Middleham, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Himalayan Garden & Sculpture Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing