We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feast for the gardeners eyes”

The Himalayan Garden & Sculpture Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Very beautiful garden and sculture park specialising in Rhododendrons and Azaleas so only open during spring and early summer
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feast for the gardeners eyes”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My recent visit to the gardens at Grewelthorpe near Ripon was the first but certainly won't be my last. Although it is only open for a short time in early summer it is an amazing place to spend some time. There are dozens of different varieties of magnolias, azaleas and rhodedendrons spread across about 20 acres. The new pagoda at the edge of one of the lakes is a brilliant place to see the splash of colour the plants create. When we visited it was warm and dry and there are plenty of seats to rest and enjoy the lovely peaceful surroundings.
It is not possible to see everything if you are less mobile or wheelchair bound as the slopes are steep but many paths are wide and sturdy.
Is it quite easy to find as there are signposts at the tiny junctions but it is quite well hidden.There is a cafe and a plant shop so visitors can take a little bit of the place home if they wish.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    31
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Acres of beauty”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Himalayan gardens are 20acres of pure delight,there are footpaths going off in all directions.Good job you get a map when you pay your admission,There are loads of different flowers and shrubs,the azaleas and rhododendrons are amazing.There are 2 small lakes full of wildlife and sculptures,the tea room has spectacular cakes though a little pricey.there are loads of sculptures all over the walks,hiding among the shrubs and flowers,well worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Himalaya Happiness”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went to Grewelthorpe to visit this garden because we happened to be in the area and had time to spare. I expected to find a few flowering shrubs that would keep our attention for half an hour so. Instead it was FANTASTIC. We walked the trails for 2 hours and even then didn't do it all. On every turn there seemed to be something spectacular. Red Rhoddos, pale Azaleas, nice Narcissus, Blue Bluebells ... and then suddenly the Blue Poppies !! The website does not do justice to all that there is to see. But be aware the plants do not bloom to order, and if you happen to visit too early or too late in the season then you might not see the particular blooms you wanted. Lots of places to pause, sit down and take in the tranquility and the views (maybe a crafty sip of tea from your flask!). There was some construction work on the lake, but it didn't restrict very much. Loved the sculptures which enhance the plantings and add extra dimensions. All the staff were so friendly and helpful in all area, on the tickets, the nurseries (lots of advice on growing) and the home made cakes to die for. We visited on Bank Holiday Monday when it was perfect, in the next few weeks some things will go over and some new buds will open up - you cannot predict. I think these gardens need to be better known, although I'd hate for them to become crowded. Lots of new planting and developments going on, so in the next couple of years it will mature and become even better. Somebody commented that there were no ticket concessions, but why should there be, everyone wears out the paths equally! Because these gardens are built on a steep hillside there is a lot of up and down walking, and the bark-strewn or gravel paths are not suitable for buggies or wheelchairs; but that is the NATURE of the place. FULL MARKS without hesitation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank redsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic garden even in mist & rain”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

When we visited the garden the weather was changable but as we only had this opertunity to visit this year we took the chance. Yes it was a bit wet and misty but the garden more than made up for this lots of colour as most of the Azaleas and Rhododendrons were out. A very impressive garden with a vast amount of money and time having been spent on it. The Cafe was pleasant with good home made fair. We visited the nursery and found the staff friendly and very proud of the gardens. Will definately visit again

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wellogra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Garden Gem near Masham North yorkshire”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fantastic garden laid over hilly valley location.
Located up a single track lane out of Grewelthorpe near Masham. Feels nice and remote when you get there.
Good footpaths around the gardens and small lakes, with sculptures every few yards/metres.
Cafe, toilets, plants for sale, and car park.
Walks vary, so the 'not so nimble' can see plenty from the upper areas. Families and children can gallop around safely up and down the hilly bits!
Well worth a visit as a keen gardener, landscape & sculpture enthusiast, or family outoing.
Nearby Hackfall landscape garden is a good contrast for a 'wilder' experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Himalayan Garden & Sculpture Park also viewed

 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Himalayan Garden & Sculpture Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing