We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In love!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flaxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Griffon Forest Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“In love!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Ok I thought I should write an independent review of this place as the last one was written by me and my partner after a pretty tough time in our lives and we feel that we didn't give this place the review it deserves.
I'm in love with Griffon Forest,we're in love with Griffon Forest,I've been before and can't imagine not going to it again,I want this place in my life as long as I live,the location and tranquility make you think you're the only people in the park when it's full,the hot tubs are gorgeous and sitting in there on a lazy afternoon with a nice glass of something watching the trees swish in the breeze and watch the local birds and squirrels pig out on the nuts and seed is what makes you just melt into the surroundings.
Staff are approachable and friendly but leave you to enjoy your stay,if you do see other people enjoying a stroll around the place,they all seem to look as relaxed and in bliss as you feel.
I can't recommend this place enough...I'd buy one of the cabins for myself if I could

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chippynorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    129
    32
    20
    8
See reviews for
165
453
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife decided rather than spending loads on each other for Christmas we'd go away for a weekend instead, we got a great deal on one of the cabins at Griffon Forest and booked it.

After a very busy Xmas period with work this was the perfect retreat, the staff are very nice and friendly, the cabin was very private, well presented and traditional. The hot tub took it to another level, to be able to sip champagne outside in the tub in the middle of winter just melted away any worries or stress from day to day life. We brought our own food and cooked, we didn't want to waste time outside the cabin, we went for a nice walk all around the forest area one day, information is provided for walks, eateries and other entertainment in the cabin. The cabin was very comfortable and we had great nights sleep. Without the deal we saw and booked it is expensive but I understand why, this is a well run, clean and a high quality place, you get what you pay for. Overall an amazing place and we will be back.

Three positives, three negatives.

Positives;
. Location
. Quality
. Hot tub!!!

Negatives;
None

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is our forth time at Griffon forest & I can hostely say it is like coming home! The stresses of everyday life seem to leave as soon as you start the drive down the lane to reception! We have stayed in a couple of different lodges but we always request our favourite Poachers premier no 5, bar far the most secluded as it backs right into the forest. We managed to drag our selves away from the lodge for a lazy lunch at Tykes which I would recommend but apart for that we didn't leave the lodge or the hot tub all weekend! The highlight of our weekend had to be Saturday night - we were star gazing in the hot tub and we were visited by two badgers! In all the years we've been coming to Griffon we've never seen a badger so it was a rare treat! Until next time!!

Room Tip: Poachers Premier No 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

17th - 21st March
First visit to Griffon Lodges but certainly won`t be the last.We stayed in a Poachers Premier lodge. No 6
Accommodation well laid out and good location, nice and peaceful.
Hot Tub was used at least once every day/night as temp was 39 degrees so no matter what the weather is just get in and enjoy.
Lay back with a glass of champers and watch the stars.
Wildlife varied and friendly, so get your feed at the reception shop.
Tykes restaurant well worth the 10 mins walk up the lighted pathway (torch also provided with pamphlets in lodge). Tuna/steak worth a try.
The White Swan Inn, Low St, Thornton Le Clay,(10 mins by car) YO60 7TG 01653608286,lovely local produce and warm hospitality.
Thompsons Fish & Chip Restaurant on the A64, York to Scarborough (5 mins by car) - take away and eat in, Fish pie was amazing.

Room Tip: Poachers Premier lodges probably lodge 5 and 8 most secluded but we stayed in No 6 and no problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldGreySquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here for four nights as part of our honeymoon and honestly can't recommend it enough.After all the stress of planning the wedding it was so nice not to have signal and our phones ringing constantly. Relaxing in the hot tub at night with a glass of champers is pure bliss. We were visited by badgers every night at 10:30 when we were sitting in the hot tub and also had visits from squirrels, a pheasant, rabbits and all types of birds. The near by restaurant Tykes is only a ten minute walk away and the food is really nice, especially the lunch time sharing platter. We loved Griffon Forest so much we've already booked to go again next Jan :)

Room Tip: Poachers premier number 8 is the most secluded with the hot tub backing on to the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxsquarahxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have stayed here a few times and the last time were very disappointed. It was over £500 for a long week end in what was supposed to be a top of the range lodge. There was litter scattered outside, facilities were poor - kitchen equipment very sparse - it was certainly not first class accommodation. We were told there was a welcome pack when in fact it was just a few sachets of sugar and coffee, packet of biscuits and long life milk. The whole area seemed much poorer and run down to what it was in previous visits, it really needs to up its game.

Room Tip: Just go for basic accommodation, other is not worth the extra cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annesleySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was our 4th visit and it never fails to impress. I just cant fault this place it truly is amazing you wont want to leave! On arrival the staff are always very friendly & welcoming. Brilliant all year round no matter what the weather. Although you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere there is a variety of super markets not far away we always stock up on the first day. Make sure you head into York for a wonderful day out. You wont want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfdfood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
7.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
14.7 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
279 reviews
11.2 mi away
The KP
The KP
#2 of 6 in Pocklington
373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thompsons Arms B&B
Thompsons Arms B&B
#2 of 2 in Flaxton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffon Forest Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffon Forest Lodges

Property: Griffon Forest Lodges
Address: Scotchman Lane, Flaxton YO60 7RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Flaxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Flaxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hideaways in the heart of tranquil woodland, close to York, perfect to relax & unwind! Boasting private hot tubs with every lodge, cosy furnishings and woodland walks from your doorstep. Why not choose a lodge with a four poster bed and a 6ft. circular Jacuzzi bath, for a truly romantic break? Onsite cameras film badgers, birds and many more creatures. Watch the live footage on your TV from the comfort of your lodge!Tucked away in the heart of 100 acres of woodland offering a haven of peace and tranquility to visitors and wildlife alike, Griffon Forest is the perfect luxury hideaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Griffon Forest Hotel Flaxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing