We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griffon Forest Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in a Poachers lodge for 3 nights between Xmas and new year. Had a nice relaxing time, just what we wanted. The bar and restaurant was a bonus as you can leave the car behind. The food was of a very high standard and reasonably priced.
We have stayed at spring wood lodges near Harrogate a couple of times. And I must admit that I think spring wood has the edge over griffon forest. The lodges are of a better standard with views to die for. The hot tub was much bigger and more secluded. Spring wood also only has 5 lodges so it is very quiet. Having said that I would still return to griffon forest but only if spring wood was not available!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank sue10England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 818 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Fantastic lodges, clean, well equipped, idyllic accommodation. Stocked up with food at the Farmers Cart farm-shop near Strensall and topped up with the not over priced goods at the on-site shop. Take plenty of bird food especially peanuts which attract the badgers. Also for the badgers peanut butter and honey will help your chances of a visit from these awesome creatures. We watched a badger for nearly an hour one night from the comfort of our lodge. With the lodges being two minutes drive from the A64 they are very accessible and ideal for touring York / the coast / North Yorks etc. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Sitting in the hot tub either watching the birds and squirrels or at night watching the stars in your own secluded bit of woodland was a treat we will be repeating at Griffon very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank charliefastrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed before, but this time we had the two person lodge ! It was everything we'd hoped for ! Champagne and chocolates were lovely as were the red roses ! The lodge was well appointed , lots of attention to detail , cosy , four poster bed and open Plan . Loved the real flame fire , lots of lighting options , loved the huge corner jacuzzi bath and of course the outdoor hot tub ! The lodge was private and not overlooked if you don't count the birds , squirrels and rabbits that is ! Really handy for our Christmas shopping in York and a lovely evening meal with 10% discount for lodge residents at the Sandburn Hall restaurant right beside the lodge site. So good we have booked again for a fourth visit !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived home from a fantastic week at Griffon forest. We stayed in lodge 22 gardener's premier. A fantastic secluded lodge. Very comfy beds and everything else you could want in a lodge. The hot tub is brilliant and we spent hours in it. A short walk to tykes for a very nice meal and use of the sports bar. The only very slight criticism is the lodge could do with a deep clean but it wouldn't stop us going again. All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable new years break.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank stclanico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Spent Christmas week in fabulous lodge no 5 , clean , warm with great hot tub few issues (oven light not working) where sorted out immediately by the friendly helpful staff . Great food at Tykes a sort walk away . Park and ride into York is the best way to go cheap frequent service .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngusMc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have stayed at Griffon Forest four times, each time in a keepers lodge as we bring our dog with us and this is one of the lodges that allows dogs. This place is fantastic if you're looking to unwind and de-stress. We have never had a lodge that isn't clean ( not that we would complain if we found a cobweb or a bit of dirt, this place is in a forest so to expect spotless is expecting a bit much ) The lodge itself is so cosy, utility room which has a washer/dryer and plenty of room for storing bags,cases, boots etc is perfect, the lounge is great with two comfy settee's and tv/dvd player which was showing Sky Sports 1 & 2 the last time we stopped in Jan 2013 :) The kitchen is spacious and well equipped with a double window to look out at the wildlife whilst your cooking/washing up lol The dining area is just off the open plan kitchen and is next to the door that leads out onto the decking area. The main bedroom is very cosy with a comfy bed and ample storage for all your clothes, the second bedroom is also cosy with twin beds but we have never used it ( you don't fall out with each other at Griffon ha ha ) The outside decking area is quite big and the sunken jacuzzi is wonderfull, we have have been in it many times whilst it has been snowing as we usually stay in January, never feels cold even on the coldest winters night.
We have eaten at Tykes which is about a 5 min walk on a well lit path but our favourite is the Tanglewood which is located on the A64, a 5 min drive or 20 min walk from Griffon, great food at reasonable prices. We don't eat out too much when stopping here as we both like to cook and want to spend as much time in the lodge as is possible.
As for the forest its great for walking the dog and we think it covers a big area, good fun to do at night with torches, on our last trip we found the badger setts that are covered by the cameras that beam it to your tv, not saying where they are though ;)
The reception area has a well stocked little shop with very friendly staff and a wide range of books/dvds that you can borrow ( a donation box is next to the dvd's, which we always put into as there is a good choice of films, must be 100 plus )
If you're looking for some peace and to be close to nature you will struggle to better this place in our opinion.
Our top tips to enhance your stay, bathrobes, slippers and lots of food for the wildlife, you should see a great variety of birds, robins, tree creepers, all the tits lol, pheasants, grouse and on every visit a woodpecker, there are loads of squirells too. On our last night in Jan 2013 we were in the jacuzzi about 9pm and a badger was eating food we had put down earlier at the side of the decking area ( could have reached out and touched it, was that close ) was an amazing experience and even when it got spooked it still returned 4 times. If you want to attract lots of wildlife take lots of peanuts and feeders ( hang one outside your bedroom window, great to wake up watching the birds feed ) black sunflower seeds, sunflower hearts if your budget stretches ( they're not cheap, all wildlife love them, even Billy Badger ) digestive biscuits( cheap brand bout 30p a pack, they go down a treat ) a general bird seed mix and the main favourite seems to be dried mealworms, loved by birds,badgers and squirells, you can get a 100g vaccum bag at Quality save for 99p, went through 10 bags on our last 4 day stay !!
We are returning for our fifth visit towards the end of Jan for 9 days, can't wait, like so many people have previously said, could happily sell up and move to this place :))))

Room Tip: Have a look at the plan layout of Griffon before you book, a few of the lodges hot tubs are less pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Timbob1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our fifth visit to Griffon Forest (first time in a poachers open plan lodge no 14) and again Griffon did not disappoint us. Very clean lodge, lovely welcome pack with chocolates, a bottle of bubbly, milk in the fridge, tea and coffee with biscuits...just lovely after our drive there to grab a cuppa without needing to unpack the car. We loved the open plan lodge with jacuzzi bath in the corner. The lodge felt smaller than previous stays but think this is because there's no hallway and separate bedrooms. This was a real treat for us for our honeymoon. Hot tub outside was amazing as always and the highlight of our stay. It wasn't as private as we've had before but loved it all the same. The price tag does seem high but when you think of the power needed for the hut tub and jacuzzi, the amount of water used, heating etc, it really isn't that bad a price. I would have rated this five star as I have in the past, however we didn't get much sleep whilst there as the mattress and pillows were very hard and not comfortable at all. And you only had to cough for the bed to squeak and creek! This was disappointing but not worth complaining to reception about. We love Griffon Forest and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemmab411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
7.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
21.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
293 reviews
1 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
15.9 mi away
Oakwood Lodges
Oakwood Lodges
#2 of 3 in Selby
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffon Forest Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffon Forest Lodges

Address: Scotchman Lane, Flaxton YO60 7RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Flaxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Flaxton
Price Range: $93 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hideaways in the heart of tranquil woodland, close to York, perfect to relax & unwind! Boasting private hot tubs with every lodge, cosy furnishings and woodland walks from your doorstep. Why not choose a lodge with a four poster bed and a 6ft. circular Jacuzzi bath, for a truly romantic break? Onsite cameras film badgers, birds and many more creatures. Watch the live footage on your TV from the comfort of your lodge!Tucked away in the heart of 100 acres of woodland offering a haven of peace and tranquility to visitors and wildlife alike, Griffon Forest is the perfect luxury hideaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Griffon Forest Hotel Flaxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing