We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to relax”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flaxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Griffon Forest Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just arrived back from Griffon Forest staying in Poachers Lodge 11. What a fantastic place! the hot tub is fantastic after a long day and very relaxing. We saw lots of Birds,Squirrels ,Rabbits and on the Griffon Forest wildlife channel were the Badgers. Staff we really friendly and nothing was too much trouble they had a well stocked shop at reception. The milk, tea/coffee and biscuits were welcome on arrival and the whole cabin was clean with all the facilities you would need, microwave ,cooker, washer dryer and even a dishwasher. The low lit path to Tykes restaurant at Sandburn Hall was welcome as we could both have a drink, the food there superb and the golf at Sandburn Hall was excellent and the greens well kept. You can have the stay you wish at Griffon Forest mine was peaceful and relaxing, what would yours be?

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelchick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 804 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home from a week staying at keepers lodge 50 at Griffon Forest. Stayed here with my partner and our dog Beryl. Lodge was everything we needed and the hot tub an added bonus on a cold evening! Lodge really clean as was the hot tub. DVDs & games available to borrow on site were a nice touch and all staff friendly and offered good advice on suitable beaches to take the dog (we opted for Whitby which was perfect!). Can also strongly recommend doing the walk around the forest - beautiful setting. Was our first stay but certainly won't be the last.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tormorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful week staying in Poachers no.11. A perfect setting and very comfortable lodge. Thoroughly enjoyed sitting in the hot tub under the stars as well as being able to watch TV in the jacuzzi bath!!

The lodge was very clean and tidy and the little extra touches made a difference (milk in the fridge for a cup of tea after our long journey, dishwasher tablets, tea towels, towels and dressing gowns etc).

The location was fantastic being 20/25 minutes to York-the park and ride is great value £2.60 return for adults. It was also great for Castle Howard (again about 20 mins away) and Whitby (50 mins). It was ideal as well for Dalby forest which we enjoyed for the mountain biking. The hot tub was certainly welcome on our return to ease our aching muscles!!

There is a fantastic farm shop just East of Pickering but we also found similiar products at Castle Howard- the truffle and garlic stuffed beef burgers are amazing!

We were very sad to leave Griffon park this morning but will be looking forward to returning again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our second stay at Griffon Forrest in a Keepers lodge it was so good we stayed a extra night. Best place ever nice walks with 2 dogs and your not to far away from the shopping park. The girls in the shop/office are so helpful can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeJay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in poachers premier lodge for a week. Our second visit to lodge no.4, we stayed here for our honeymoon 4 years ago and just had to come back for our anniversary. It really is a beautiful place, so relaxing and peaceful. We went prepared to feed the wildlife this time and were visited every day by the squirrels and birds, in the evening the badgers came for their feast (they do like peanut butter on brown bread! )park and ride not far away for a trip into york, only £2.60 each return. The food at Tykes is lovely, and not too expensive. Poachers premier is the ultimate luxury, although you are aware of other lodges near, they are situated so you really do feel secluded. Lovely walks around the forest. The staff are always welcoming and friendly. We just LOVE griffon forest and we will be going back!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ROSSY-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just back from spending 3 days at Griffon Forrest Lodges. We hired a Keepers lodge and took our dog with us. The setting is beautiful, made all the more so with lovely weather. The lodges are large, spacious and clean. They have a wonderful feel about them, hidden away from plain sight amid the forrest. The private hot tub was exactly that - not overlooked from any angle and the enclosed decking area, meant that the dog didn't need to be tied up he could wander as he pleased without the threat of wandering off. The staff were brilliant and helpfull, everyone from the check in girls to the guy who checked our hot tub every morning. Nothing too much hassle. All mod cons, flat screen tv's in lounge and bedroom, dishwasher, barbque and patio furniture too. Lodges were full, but in all honesty I think we seen no more that 4 people the whole weekend. We had our shopping for the weekend delivered to the lodge from the local Tesco. Saved carting it in the car all the way from Scotland. It was a complete break away and I have already booked to return next year.

Room Tip: Lodge 28 if you have a pet is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank callyallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break and stayed in the poachers lodge. At first I did find it very expensive but due to only staying 2 nights and with a last minute deal it was a bargain. The lodge itself was gorgeous and luxury. Had a few hiccups were the spa bath jets didn't work and still wasnt resolved after leaving but the staff was very accomendating and helped instantly.

The hot tub was the highlight even in the rain. The executive poachers was double the proce and my opinion no different I still had the bath, hot tub and 4 poster bed. Overall I will certainly be returning here.

Room Tip: The poachers lodge is much better value than the top one and just as nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
7.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
9.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
9.5 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffon Forest Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffon Forest Lodges

Address: Scotchman Lane, Flaxton YO60 7RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Flaxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Flaxton
Price Range: $92 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hideaways in the heart of tranquil woodland, close to York, perfect to relax & unwind! Boasting private hot tubs with every lodge, cosy furnishings and woodland walks from your doorstep. Why not choose a lodge with a four poster bed and a 6ft. circular Jacuzzi bath, for a truly romantic break? Onsite cameras film badgers, birds and many more creatures. Watch the live footage on your TV from the comfort of your lodge!Tucked away in the heart of 100 acres of woodland offering a haven of peace and tranquility to visitors and wildlife alike, Griffon Forest is the perfect luxury hideaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Griffon Forest Hotel Flaxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing