We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great weekend retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flaxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Griffon Forest Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great weekend retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Poachers Premier lodge last weekend and it was brilliant - upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff - who left us alone for the whole of our stay which is exactly what you want when you're in the environment you're in.
The rooms were clean but definitely need updating, for the price you pay you expect everything to be pristine however the decor was a bit old and there was marks on some o the walls.
The hot tub and indoor jacuzzi bath really do make the place special - it was snowing while we were there but don't let that put you off - its fantastic being heated by the jacuzzi and having a bottle of champagne late at night.
We went to Vue cinema on the first day which is a fifteen minute drive away, this is a great cinema and is near a tesco etc. we ate in the first two nights and the last night we ordered a Chinese from Mulan which is near the Vue Cinema - the food from here was brilliant and 20% off your bill for take outs so very reasonable!
We also visited the York outlets which are brilliant and you can find some great bargains!
In all honesty I wish we had stayed in the lodge for a full day instead of doing things both days as its good to make use of it while it's there.
There are two big let downs within the Gtiffin Forest stay
1. The bed was SO uncomfortable, the mattress was clearly very old and I could feel springs popping out everywhere - this was a major let down as the four poster bed looked so pretty and the price you pay to stay in the lodge should be met by major things such as comfort
2. The length of stay. The Friday check in is too late, by the time you unpack and settle and have been to asda etc there's only enough time to have a few drinks and go to bed. The check out on Monday is also too early as I feel that we really would've benefited from a late 12 o'clock check out to just relax that little extra.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenD2983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    126
    31
    19
    8
See reviews for
159
442
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just back from our first weekend break at Griffon Forest and thoroughly recommend it. Poachers Lodge is lovely & cosy and very well equipped - everything you need for a relaxing break away. Bubbly, chocs and fresh flowers are a nice touch. Plenty of wildlife visited the lodge during our stay - squirrels, pheasants and birds. Watched the badgers on badger cam too! Walked to Tykes Restaurant via Tykes Trail - takes about 10 minutes. It is lit but worth taking a torch too! Very impressed with standard of food & service. Am sure we will visit Griffon Forest again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona6487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Just been to griffon forest for a short break and would highly recommend it normally go to centre parcs but found this much more relaxing peace and quiet lovely accomodation fab hot tub used it 2x day min lovely walk to tykes and had some great food. Easy access into York by car or using the local park and ride. If you want a true break away this is the place take your own food and you spend the whole time in the lodge not seeing anyone will definetly go back

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a second weekend at Griffon Forest.
We arrived at our Gardners Priemier Lodge with Friends, A bottle of bubbly and chocolates in each room and flowers in the dining area made a very welcoming effect.
Lodge was cleaned to the highest standard.
We made full use of the Hot Tub and this was made even more magical when snow started to fall.
Is this a place for making you relax... you bet it is, watch the wildlife, walk for a drink at Tykes bar, or just Chill.....near enough to go to York for a quick shopping spree...but soon back to the peace and quiet that this forest offers. We will be returning Bliss!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueLincolnshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed at griffon forest for 4 nights in january with my boyfriend. We stayed in poachers lodge no 12, we loved everything about the place. We arrived early at 12 oclock with plans to go for a long lunch and pick up some shopping from the local asda as check in isn't until 4. We decided to pop to reception first to ask them if they would give us a ring when our lodge was ready as I had heard that they do occasionally let you check in early. To our surprise the receptionist rang ahead of her own accord and told us our lodge was ready and we could check in straight away 4 hours ahead of check in time, that was a great start to our break. The lodge was perfect, we only left once and that was a very necessary trip to asda. We spent our days drinking champagne in the outdoor hot tub whilst watching the squirrels playing in the snow and our nights consisted of lying in the 6ft jacuzzi bath watching films. We have never came back from a break away feeling more relaxed. With busy lives our intention was to do nothing and thats exactly what we did and it couldn't of been more perfect. If you want lot's of squirrel action lodge 12 was great, we had three waking us up by sitting on our window ledge every morning and continued to entertain us throughout the day. It was sad to leave but we can't wait to return. Check out my pics :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Have just arrived back from a four night stay at griiffon forest, a welcome break to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.
We normally wouldnt spend quite as much £455 for a short uk break, but after scouring the lodges on offer by hoseasons we decided on this place as it seemed to have an air of luxury about the accomodation on offer. We stayed in Poachers lodge No 19, and it was everything that it said, four poster bed, jaccuzzi bath hot tub and nice furnishings, it was clean and very well equipped.
The small shop on site sold more or less everything you would need and the added benifit of being able to borrow dvds and games was an added bonus, the staff were extremely friendly and helpfull, we had a blown bulb over the cooker hood, which wasnt the end of the world but made cooking a little dark, we reported this at reception and by the time we had walked back to the lodge the bulb had been replaced :) The wildlife is great, we bought nots and a bird feeder to take with us and had the pleasure of watching the birds and squirrels every day on the decking, we didnt manage to see anything on the animal watch tv though, only the shining eyes of a fox, but its woth a look, you may get lucky.
We visited tykes twice, once just for a stroll and a drink, the second for a meal, although the meal was in itself ok, it wasnt the best we have ever had, i had a steak and my husband a mixed grill, the prices are quite reasonable and you get the added bonus of 10% discount on all purchases so its not all bad.
There are some lovely walks around the site, we walked into flaxton village which took about an hour all round, check what time the blacksmiths arms is open though before you go, as the leaflet in the lodge concerning opening hours may be a little out of date as the pub was shut when according to the leaflet should have been open, so our little watering hole stop off was cancelled.
All in all we had a lovely stay, would say griffon forest is worth the visit, just one negative to point out, the hot tub was checked everyday, but the only thing the young man did when he came was lift the lid and stare at the water, so maybe he could do with a little more training :( Probably wouldnt visit again as there are so many nice places to go in the uk and much more to see. But for a first time, yes would reccomend

Room Tip: most lodges and hotubs are visible from the path/road on the site, but unless the people walking rou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevnrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed at Griffin Forest around 8 years ago and absolutely loved it. My wife and I always said we wanted to go back and did at Christmas.
The cabin obviously cost more than 8 years ago but the decor and appliance's conditions were not the same this time round. The sofas were so worn and flat you could barely sit up right without your back hurting. The bathroom had mould all round the edges and the finish is really poor. The boiler was old and very temperamental for hot water. Sometimes the hot water worked sometimes it didn't. The kitchen is old and falling apart, the fridge would only shut properly by lifting it up.
The scenery and hot tub are still fantastic but the cabins need a good 10k spent on them to bring them back up to standard.

There are much better places to stay for the price you pay for a weekend here. Really disappointing, such a shame

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
21.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,447 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
11.2 mi away
The KP
The KP
#2 of 6 in Pocklington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffon Forest Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffon Forest Lodges

Property: Griffon Forest Lodges
Address: Scotchman Lane, Flaxton YO60 7RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Flaxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Flaxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hideaways in the heart of tranquil woodland, close to York, perfect to relax & unwind! Boasting private hot tubs with every lodge, cosy furnishings and woodland walks from your doorstep. Why not choose a lodge with a four poster bed and a 6ft. circular Jacuzzi bath, for a truly romantic break? Onsite cameras film badgers, birds and many more creatures. Watch the live footage on your TV from the comfort of your lodge!Tucked away in the heart of 100 acres of woodland offering a haven of peace and tranquility to visitors and wildlife alike, Griffon Forest is the perfect luxury hideaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Griffon Forest Hotel Flaxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing