We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant, even better Take Away”

The Fox & Hounds Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $113
Cuisines: French, Italian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At the Fox & Hounds, the atmosphere & service is friendly & informal with select local beers & a choice of continental lagers & great wines. Diners have the option of eating award-winning Chef, James Rix' sophisticated, but simple menu in the bar, lounge, or the superb chandeliered dining room. In the summer months, you can enjoy eating on our heated, covered terrace. All our steaks are now cooked on the Josper oven, along with whole fish, squid, scallops in their shell and mussels. Our whole ribs of beef for Sunday lunch are also finished in the oven. The oven keeps fish really juicy - it cooks fish rapidly with great flavour & keeps flesh moist as well as enhancing the flavour of our steaks from the sweetness of the charcoal.
Much Hadham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, even better Take Away”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Fantastic village restaurant/pub, which we frequent often,which offers take-away hot food for locals.
Highly recommended

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HertsJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    47
    34
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food but way over priced.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went today for lunch. Menu only showed 2 and 3 course prices but waitress said if we only wanted one course that was fine and they would price accordingly. This is what we did and ordered 2 pasta mains. Food was fine but we were shocked when the bill stated that each dish was £20! One of these contained no meat/fish so we also couldn't understand how they were priced the same. It is a nice restaurant but the food is way over priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jigsaw36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield Heath
2 reviews
“Little Gem”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've been to The Fox & Hounds several times since moving to Hatfield Heath. I havn't ever had a bad experince including lunch aswell as several evening meals. The pub itself is a nice and the dining room has a lovely embience, when visiting for our anniversary it felt very intimate and romantic.

The menu is small, refined and interesting although at times perhaps appealing to a smaller audience with the game and offal etc. If you want something a little different, and done very well then this is the place (the pigs cheeks were excellently done). The portions are not huge, but i've never left hungry. If you want quantity over quality go to the harvester.

The staff are very friendly but not intrusive. This is one of my favourite restaurants in the area and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy !”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Will definitely go again, the food was lovely and tasty. Big portions. Mmmm Fox and hound. Would recommend it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaullyPaulPush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“gone down hill”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

visited this pub restaurant recently having been there on several occasions over the past couple of years. Very disappointed! The service was poor, very slow and not particularly friendly. The starters were poorly presented and very small and the main courses pretty much the same. The slow roast lamb was 50% fat, quite disgusting and the roast dinners very bland and again not well presented at all. As it is not cheap we felt very let down as it was a very special family get-together. Will not be going there again unless things change.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank polly66Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox & Hounds Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Stanstead Abbotts, Ware
 
Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire
Much Hadham, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Fox & Hounds Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing