We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burythorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burythorpe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Grasby, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Thank you so much for an absolutely wonderful overnight stay in such a beautiful hotel with a fantastic evening meal and breakfast. My husband and I just needed a total break 'away from it all' and found that at Burythorpe House hotel. From first meeting Tracie and the rest of the staff including Tilly who served us breakfast we felt totally relaxed and very well cared for, just what we needed to help make it a perfect stay. We hardly knew that the staff were around they were so discrete yet there when we needed them. We managed to chill and relax in beautiful surroundings, taking a leisurely stroll before dinner then relaxing in the lounge. We were upgraded to a lovely luxurious bedroom with a lovely free standing bath with plenty of hot running water and Molton Brown toiletries. We will be returning as soon as we can, kind regards Brian & Gill

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreetopsCottages-Spa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    122
    40
    28
    9
See reviews for
44
371
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the weekend and found it to be a very mixed bag.
The staff/service is fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble, and anything you ask is always answered with a smile. Everyone always seemed busy, but not to the point service suffered, if anything it showed they really care about the hotel and it's guests!
The room was lovely, nicely decorated and reasonably 'fresh'. Unfortunately it did look a worn around the edges in the bathroom, but, this is not a 'premier plastic inn'and the odd bit of cracked plaster should be expected.
We then went to the 'leisure facilities' and this is where things went wrong. On entering I was greeted with a changing room which had a hole in the roof from a leak, a toilet that didn't flush as well as the general condition being just very tired. We had a dip in the pool which unfortunately was a tad cloudy due to the roof leaking, allowing rain water in. But it was clean, and very warm. I ventured up the stairs to see the sauna only to find 2 steps on the staircase completely broken leading to a bit of a hazard. I also checked out the gym but it was in no better condition than the stairs.

We then decided to relax in the lounge where we were quickly brought our drinks, offered polite conversation and left to chat. The rooms are beautiful and very relaxing, but, yet again there's a hole in the ceiling from a leak!
We were booked in on a dinner bed and breakfast deal so dined in the hotel restaurant. The choice is good, the service as expected is great and the quality fantastic. If we lived closer this would be a regular spot to dine!


We probably wouldn't stay here again mainly because I didn't see the facilities matching the £245/night price tag. Personally I think if the hotel facilities were brought up to standard then £245 is justifiable and we'd be back. Either that, or close the pool area, avoid disappointed guests and charge a little less.

Overall, if you want a relaxing hotel with great food and even better service this is the place for you. Just don't go expecting a Bannatynes leisure centre.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D4NTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed at Burythorpe House on many occasions and have never been disappointed. The staff are excellent and discreet. We have stayed in many of the rooms but the Newburgh takes some beating. The food in the restaurant is always delicious and they serve some excellent wines. I was concerned and surprised to read the negative comments some had left but was left in no doubt that this continues to be a real find. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIANE2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Prior to visiting this hotel, I read some of the previous reviews, one or two of which were particularly scathing. However, my experience was the other end of the spectrum with a great setting, wonderful rooms, high quality food and extremely obliging and helpful staff. Admittedly, the pool/gym area was a bit tired, but the owners have an ongoing project to upgrade the building fabric and it will get attention in due course. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and feel confident visitors will not be disappointed. I will certainly return.

Room Tip: Because of its' location set in rolling countryside any of the rooms would be acceptable. Mine w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a beautiful hotel in a lovely peaceful setting. A very impressive building with staff who couldn;'t do enough to help. The food was wonderful as was the service. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast menu was very impressive. All food was presented with great attention to detail. Our room was beautifully furnished with heavy drapes which we kept open as we could see the moon and the stars from our bed. Nothing short of magical on such a lovely summer evening. Yeah the stair carpet is worn and the pool needs love and attention but the family who owns this hotel are getting round it to it and are working their way through replacing all the windows and doors and lets face it bo-one sleeps onm the stairs. The towels and sheets were immaculate and there were Molton & Brown toiletries. No traffic noise and no loud booming music just a blisfull place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottslass777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel was expensively refurbished in 2007 and the quality of the furnishings in the bedrooms and the lounge areas is excellent. Unfortunately, there probably hasn't been any maintenance carried out since then.  The main stair carpet is badly worn to the point of being dangerous and the wallpaper at one point is stuck on with Sellotape! In our room the shower spray head is hanging off the wall, the shower door handles are loose and there is black mould. The expensive Villeroy & Boch sanitaryware fittings are broken and the downlighters are full of dead insects. The paintwork is pretty rough in general but the bathroom window was the worst. The wardrobe’s back panel has been crudely ripped open and not repaired.

On the plus side the food was good and the wine was reasonably priced.

Before publishing this review I wrote to the General Manager before offering him the chance to rebut my original comments, the above is an abbreviated version. The following is his reply, abbreviated by me.

“The maintenance comments and photographs you have taken are fair comment and are a result of the hotel having been up for sale since last October and budgets having been adjusted in line with the sale demands…….whilst I am fully aware of the shortcomings I am currently not in a position to make good. It is for this reason that we have been doing the Travelzoo promotion and the 40% discount we are offering reflects where we think the real value currently is……...There is a complete overhaul program in place for this autumn when all rooms will have replacement windows the roof problems will be fixed and all rooms are to be redecorated in rotation.…….it is tough on the hard working staff to penalize them with your review publicly when they are not in control of these issues”.

With regard to the General Manager’s honesty I have decided not to exacerbate his situation by publishing the photographs.

Room Tip: Wait until the Autumn and check that your room has been renovated. If you need a room before then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Over the past fifteen or so years we have stayed at Burythorpe on four previous occasions and this fifth was to be a wedding anniversary treat, facilitated by a Groupon voucher, which made it great value for money.

We were pleasantly surprised to be allocated such a large and well appointed room (Kirkham) on the top floor as often when taking advantage of “deals” elsewhere this isn’t always the case. It was stylish, clean, and the bathroom had a large waterfall shower and separate roll-top bath with moulton brown toiletries supplied. It appeared that all the rooms were occupied the evening we were there which is good news for the hotel.

We had a drink before the meal in the lounge and were soon in the dining room with a complimentary amuse bouche of vegetable soup in front of us.

Our starters - I had the gnocchi, my wife had the feta, asparagus & pomegranate salad.- were excellent. My main of venison was first rate, my wife had the lemon sole which she enjoyed. Onto the puddings and I chose a strawberry cheesecake whilst my wife fancied the pana cotta.
We finished with coffee, which we drank outside on the terrace as it was such a warm evening.

We then had a five minute wander into the village and were amazed how quiet it was – as we live not far from an ambulance route to the local hospital. We had a drink in the local pub - which has just ceased serving food as an option.

Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and we particularly enjoyed starting with the summer fruit, yogurt and granola option.

All of the staff gave us first rate customer service, even when busy.

Some reviewers have already pointed out the areas for improvement required such as the stair carpet frayed in places, if this sort of issue would totally upset your stay then it’s best not to go, but you will miss a gem of a place! We are fortunate enough to be able to accept such minor issues under the heading country house shabby chic.

I didn’t use the pool on this occasion so could not comment.

We hope to return for our anniversary next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEETfinderGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burythorpe
4.0 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
15.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
20.7 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
21.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burythorpe House

Property: Burythorpe House
Address: Burythorpe, Malton YO17 9LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton > Burythorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Burythorpe House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burythorpe House is a boutique country house hotel close to York. Combining a relaxed, house-guest atmosphere, a renowned restaurant and stylish, individually-appointed bedrooms, the hotel makes a unique base for a few days of relaxation and exploring beautiful North Yorkshire. We are especially proud of our restaurant, the Priory, where chef Adam Richardson produces creative dishes based on the very best local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Burythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burythorpe House Hotel Burythorpe
Burythorpe Hotel Malton
Burythorpe House North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing