We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, excellent service.”
Review of Burythorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burythorpe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, excellent service.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here on a Travelzoo deal as a treat for my fiancé and having read these reviews I was dreading what was waiting for us. I needn't have worried.

The room (Easby) was beautiful, warm, modern and not at all spoilt by flaws in the plaster or windowsills as pointed out by a previous guest (seriously, who lets that affect their hotel experience??!!). A long soak in the roll top bath is highly recommended! The king size bed is sooooo comfy and the room is lovely and spacious.

One thing which was disappointing is the swimming pool. Based on previous reviews of it being out of action, I phoned up in advance to see if the pump had been fixed which it hadn't so I didn't even take my cozzie. I think until it's fixed and warm enough to swim in then guest should be made aware BEFORE booking as it was one if the main reasons I chose this hotel over a more basic city centre one. My fiancé used the gym and said it was a somewhat basic but he still managed to throw a few weights around.

The receptionist/waitress/bartender did an excellent job despite being rushed off her feet, and the three course evening meal was absolutely delicious. The tastiest creme brûlée I've ever had. I can't compliment the chef enough as the food was wonderful, and the same goes for the lovely and plentiful breakfast. A different host in the morning but very friendly and chatty.

I paid £109 on the Travelzoo deal which, with the three course meal for two, was about right given the lack of leisure facilities. A beautiful hotel, full of character and really tastefully decorated. Overall a lovely stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    123
    40
    28
    9
See reviews for
46
381
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The service we received at Burythorpe is second to none. The staff are belong excellent. Our room was extremely comfortable with gorgeous views of very beautiful countryside. Our evening meal was exquiste , portions not massive but first class quality, would take some beating. Cannot wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I never write reviews normally but felt compelled to after our wonderfull stay at burythorpe house. The setting is idyllic and so peacefull and our room was clean and very spacious with a wonderfull comfy king size bed. The evening meal and breakfast were superb with many varied choices while the service was efficient and very friendly. We have stayed at many hotels over the years our our stay at burytorpe is bang up there with the best value for money we have had ! Ignore any poor reviews they must have been with boring company, we shall definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamArkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We had seen the previous reviews which mentioned the tired decor of the hotel but decided that as the food reviews were so good we would be able to overlook cosmetic issues.
According to the waitress there are two chefs at the hotel. The chef with the excellent reviews was obviously off for the night as our food was definitely not as other people describe theirs! My starter of anaemic scallops was followed by flabby and inedible duck, my partners lamb was tough & chewy. Overall the meal felt very amateurish, which bearing in mind there were only 4 couples in the restaurant is appalling for a hotel which advertises itself as having one of the best chefs in Yorkshire.

The 'leisure centre' is grotty and definitely not safe. It doesn't appear to have been cleaned in months & the small area of pool which I could see under the cover appeared to be covered in algae, the stairs up to the sauna are in need of repair, I very nearly put my foot through a couple of them.

Our room was warm, the bed comfortable, and the furnishings attractive. HOWEVER, the carpet into bedroom was wet the entire time as if a radiator was leaking, the TV aerial wasn't plugged in, the grouting between the bathroom tiles was flaking away constantly and the shower cubicle grimy around the door. There were various hooks & catches which were either falling off or completely broken, the ironing board covered in stains & a valance sheet would have hidden the marks around the base of the bed. Little tiny things which wouldn't cost much to fix but which would make a huge difference.

The hotel has been up for sale for some time. It would seem that the owners are uninterested in maintaining the 'luxury' aspect of the hotel which is a real shame as it has such potential.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank foodlover1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We also took the groupon offer, and would largely echo the comments below. Having taken swimming and gym gear we were very disappointed that the swimming pool was too cold to use (and had the cover on), and when we went into the tiny gym all the electronic equipment was broken. However, not to be outdone we went out into the lovely country side, and lovely weather, only to be warned off a marked footpath by a rather obnoxious farmer, who didn't like the fact that the path went through his farm yard, and said he was fighting the local council to get it closed.
What a shame! The hotel its self is a lovely homely warm place with friendly staff. We had the Selby room, which was lovely. The bed was extremely comfortable - the best we have had in a hotel. There was a problem with not enough hot water, which was remedied after half an hour or so, and there was also rather a lot of noise, which seemed to be from barrels being rolling around outside up to about 11pm.
The food was absolutely top class. It would be so easy for them to become perfect by maintaining the gym and either officially closing the pool in the winter months, or getting a couple of solar panels to heat it with. Also, look to the times of day when barrels are being moved around!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We also bought a Groupon Voucher. This hotel was superb, from the moment we pulled up onto the drive we were exited. We were greeted by Monika, she is a wonderful, friendly and genuine person. She took us to our room (The Selby) wow, what a room, it was beautiful. Monika explained that they did not a have a bar but advised that we could have lunch and a drink at the sister bar just 500 yards away or she would be happy to take our order and bring the drinks direct to our room, she also advised of dinner and breakfast arrangements and that they did have a pool and a gym. Monika did say that the pool was cold and we would be brave to use. We did take our gym and swim stuff as the pool did look great on the website, however, it was not great, it was a shame but hey, who needs a pool and gym when the rest of the hotel and staff were fantastic. My husband and I would like to congratulate the chef. The food was out of this world, Michilin star quality, even the breakfast was a 3/4 course meal, wonderful and delicious. When we stayed there were a few people complaining, get over it. Give this hidden gem a try, Groupon or no Groupon, we are defnately returning for a "get away from it all" overnight stay. Well Done

Room Tip: Suggest the Selby room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeds26Rothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked this hotel through a groupon deal with bed, breakfast and evening meal. The hotel is in a lovely country setting in a very small but pretty little village. We stayed in the kirkham room. Lovely room we were pleased with it. Bathroom is gorgeous and shower is amazing I didn't want to get out! A few little bits and bats in the room that could of done with a repair but these were minor and overall a lovely warm room. Big comfy bed and had a great sleep. Staff are friendly, helpful and very attentive, they really cant do enough for you. The lounge and restaurant area is lovely. Food was gorgeous both in the evening and breakfast. We found it excellent value for money on the groupon offer. We didn't use the leisure facilities and they did look to be closed to be honest. We weren't bothered anyway. Lovely little pub 10 minutes walk down the road. Overall had a lovely stay and would return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annak68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burythorpe
4.0 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
9.9 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
21.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burythorpe House

Property: Burythorpe House
Address: Burythorpe, Malton YO17 9LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton > Burythorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Burythorpe House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burythorpe House is a boutique country house hotel close to York. Combining a relaxed, house-guest atmosphere, a renowned restaurant and stylish, individually-appointed bedrooms, the hotel makes a unique base for a few days of relaxation and exploring beautiful North Yorkshire. We are especially proud of our restaurant, the Priory, where chef Adam Richardson produces creative dishes based on the very best local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Burythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burythorpe House Hotel Burythorpe
Burythorpe Hotel Malton
Burythorpe House North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing