We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel good, leisure facilities far from luxurious”
Review of Burythorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burythorpe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Groupon deal. For the price we paid it was good value for bed, breakfast and evening meal. The staff were friendly and the food was good. The hotel is a lovely building in a beautiful setting. However, the room was not perfect, and could do with some tlc, also there was no soap, just shampoo in the room. I would be disappointed if I had paid full price as part of the reason we went for the deal was to use the leisure facilities however they were unusable - cold, dirty, locked and in a state of disrepair. We enjoyed our stay but from the website and other reviews we'd read, we expected more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Burythorpe House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 562 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband bought a Travel Zoo deal for a birthday treat.
Beautiful old country house with a small well equipped gym, pool and sauna.
Arrived just after 3pm and were taken straight to room, Selby, beautiful apart from view of gas tank. What a shame.
Lady who checked us in asked what time we wanted dinner and where to go.
Went off for a walk, great views from church. Pub does not open till 6pm on Saturday so could not get a drink. Hotel is missing a trick and ought to be offering afternoon tea.
We had a sauna but do allow time for it to warm up.
Dinner was amazing. Food delicious and some nice wines. Thought the staff could have been a bit smarter in their dress but they were extremely pleasant.
Got the impression that as we were on a deal stuff in room had been taken out. Only 1 packet of biscuits on tea tray. 1 shampoo, no soap or shower wash.
Down side is maintenance, bulbs out in the lights, broken standard lampshade and shower curtain hold back missing in our room.
Would recommend. Be brilliant place to do murder mystery weekend in the winter when not busy with weddings.
Thanks for a great birthday treat

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAbson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Burythorpe House, the setting itself is stunning and the walks in the local countryside are to be recommended. The team at Burythorpe were extremely helpful and accommodating, and the food was simply delicious. We did try to go back a few months after our visit but unfortunately they were fully booked.

I am sure that we will book in again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel. We stayed on a travelzoo special offer and thought it was excellent value. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the 'Fountains' room which was a recently modernised room with views over the front of the hotel and beyond. Everything was very clean, good quality and a very comfortable bed! The food both in the evening and at breakfast was excellent and well presented. It was very nice to be able to have pre-drinks in the large reception room by a log fire whilst choosing from the menu. We did have a look at the leisure facilities but would have been disappointed if we had gone to use these as they were a little tired. I would happily recommend this hotel to friends and family and will hopefully return soon ourselves!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just arrived home following a night at Burythorpe house. We booked through travelzoo and thought that we had a good deal for DBB-how wrong we were!! As we waited for someone to greet us, we noticed that the interior was in need of some decorative attention. We found the person who greeted us rather unfriendly and on edge. She showed us to our 'rievaulx' room, but seemingly couldn't wait to get away! We soon realised that there wasn't any bath products as stated or hand soap so we asked for some and also for directions to the pool. We had to go out of the house and to the back of the building to access the pool/spa area equipped with a code to get in. The pool still had a cover over it and was unusable.Why didn't she know this and tell us? The whole area was shabby, cold and uninviting. Our meal was fabulous, the highlight of our stay!! However, we were woken at 3.30 a.m by the sound of water dripping from the ceiling. It was raining when we had our meal and later snowed through the night which had obviously caused the problem on the flat roof area above the window at the front of the house. We did not want to disturb the manager or other guests at this unearthly time so decided to cover the wet area on the settee with towels and report it at breakfast.The dripping noise kept us awake all night and in hind sight we regret not complaining straight away, we were just thinking of others. We reported it to the same person who had taken us to our room and she was very unsympathetic, unprofessional and quite hostile toward us telling us that the leak had been fixed last week! This was no help to us. She didn't appear shocked or rush to check it out even though we told her that the leak needed urgent attention. (Please see photo). We had read the previous review regarding the leaky ceiling but presumed that it would have been fixed but it obviously had not. In addition there was no hot water for a bath or shower, so no lovely hot showers for us to refresh us after a sleepless night!! When we told her that the water was cold her comment was" well it shouldn't have been"!!! We were made to feel as if we were making it up, or were we being treated differently because we were on a travelzoo deal?.There was no sincere offer of apology or offer of recompense. We visit lots of hotels and have never before been treated so rudely or with such inconsideration. I hope this is helpful and other guests have a better stay than us!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John and Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked this hotel through travelzoo as a treat for my husbands birthday. The hotel is quite remote but in a lovely setting. We arrived at the hotel and were given the Rievaulx room which was beautiful apart from the leak in the ceiling. After a little wait were moved to the Kirkham room which was very contemporary. Again this room was lovely but a little on the chilly side. The bathroom was quite luxurious and the Molton Brown products were a nice touch, although there was no hand soap provided. We went to use the pool but the pool was too cold and the changing rooms were in need of repair. On the plus side, the staff were really helpful and friendly. We had dinner on the evening which was really nice and excellent value. The breakfast the following day again was excellent value for money. Overall the hotel was nice but in need of a little repair, especially the leisure facilities and the leaking room (which we found out was offered to someone else before us). As I booked through Travelzoo, I got a good rate for the room, dinner and breakfast, however I wouldn't be happy paying full price to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel end of Dec. There was a whiteout, so can't really comment on the surrounding area. Booked the deal on the Travelzoo site. DBB on the morning of the stay.
Had a lovely room looking out over the front of the hotel. Little bit of condensation on the windows, but wouldn't expect anything different due to the weather outside. Room temp' was fine, even had to turn radiators down a little. Beautiful bathroom and old 4 legged high back bath. Wife well chuffed.
Plenty of channels on the flatscreen tv, crisp fresh linen and a lovely soft bed.
Had a couple of drinks in the log fired lounge area whilst reading the menus for dinner, lovely.
Evening meal and service were excellent all in a lovely old mahogany walled room.
Breakfast was fantastic, menu's and service straight to your table. Service again excellent.
Got a bit stuck in the snow on day of leaving and a gentleman from the hotel (maybe the chef) came and gave me a hand to get the car out. If you're reading this?, many thanks again.

If in the area we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notajoskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burythorpe
3.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4.0 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
530 reviews
15.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
17.2 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burythorpe House

Address: Burythorpe, Malton YO17 9LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton > Burythorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Price Range: $96 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burythorpe House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burythorpe House is a boutique country house hotel close to York. Combining a relaxed, house-guest atmosphere, a renowned restaurant and stylish, individually-appointed bedrooms, the hotel makes a unique base for a few days of relaxation and exploring beautiful North Yorkshire. We are especially proud of our restaurant, the Priory, where chef Adam Richardson produces creative dishes based on the very best local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Burythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burythorpe House Hotel Burythorpe
Burythorpe Hotel Malton
Burythorpe House North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing