We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Burythorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burythorpe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel. We stayed on a travelzoo special offer and thought it was excellent value. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the 'Fountains' room which was a recently modernised room with views over the front of the hotel and beyond. Everything was very clean, good quality and a very comfortable bed! The food both in the evening and at breakfast was excellent and well presented. It was very nice to be able to have pre-drinks in the large reception room by a log fire whilst choosing from the menu. We did have a look at the leisure facilities but would have been disappointed if we had gone to use these as they were a little tired. I would happily recommend this hotel to friends and family and will hopefully return soon ourselves!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 570 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just arrived home following a night at Burythorpe house. We booked through travelzoo and thought that we had a good deal for DBB-how wrong we were!! As we waited for someone to greet us, we noticed that the interior was in need of some decorative attention. We found the person who greeted us rather unfriendly and on edge. She showed us to our 'rievaulx' room, but seemingly couldn't wait to get away! We soon realised that there wasn't any bath products as stated or hand soap so we asked for some and also for directions to the pool. We had to go out of the house and to the back of the building to access the pool/spa area equipped with a code to get in. The pool still had a cover over it and was unusable.Why didn't she know this and tell us? The whole area was shabby, cold and uninviting. Our meal was fabulous, the highlight of our stay!! However, we were woken at 3.30 a.m by the sound of water dripping from the ceiling. It was raining when we had our meal and later snowed through the night which had obviously caused the problem on the flat roof area above the window at the front of the house. We did not want to disturb the manager or other guests at this unearthly time so decided to cover the wet area on the settee with towels and report it at breakfast.The dripping noise kept us awake all night and in hind sight we regret not complaining straight away, we were just thinking of others. We reported it to the same person who had taken us to our room and she was very unsympathetic, unprofessional and quite hostile toward us telling us that the leak had been fixed last week! This was no help to us. She didn't appear shocked or rush to check it out even though we told her that the leak needed urgent attention. (Please see photo). We had read the previous review regarding the leaky ceiling but presumed that it would have been fixed but it obviously had not. In addition there was no hot water for a bath or shower, so no lovely hot showers for us to refresh us after a sleepless night!! When we told her that the water was cold her comment was" well it shouldn't have been"!!! We were made to feel as if we were making it up, or were we being treated differently because we were on a travelzoo deal?.There was no sincere offer of apology or offer of recompense. We visit lots of hotels and have never before been treated so rudely or with such inconsideration. I hope this is helpful and other guests have a better stay than us!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John and Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked this hotel through travelzoo as a treat for my husbands birthday. The hotel is quite remote but in a lovely setting. We arrived at the hotel and were given the Rievaulx room which was beautiful apart from the leak in the ceiling. After a little wait were moved to the Kirkham room which was very contemporary. Again this room was lovely but a little on the chilly side. The bathroom was quite luxurious and the Molton Brown products were a nice touch, although there was no hand soap provided. We went to use the pool but the pool was too cold and the changing rooms were in need of repair. On the plus side, the staff were really helpful and friendly. We had dinner on the evening which was really nice and excellent value. The breakfast the following day again was excellent value for money. Overall the hotel was nice but in need of a little repair, especially the leisure facilities and the leaking room (which we found out was offered to someone else before us). As I booked through Travelzoo, I got a good rate for the room, dinner and breakfast, however I wouldn't be happy paying full price to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel end of Dec. There was a whiteout, so can't really comment on the surrounding area. Booked the deal on the Travelzoo site. DBB on the morning of the stay.
Had a lovely room looking out over the front of the hotel. Little bit of condensation on the windows, but wouldn't expect anything different due to the weather outside. Room temp' was fine, even had to turn radiators down a little. Beautiful bathroom and old 4 legged high back bath. Wife well chuffed.
Plenty of channels on the flatscreen tv, crisp fresh linen and a lovely soft bed.
Had a couple of drinks in the log fired lounge area whilst reading the menus for dinner, lovely.
Evening meal and service were excellent all in a lovely old mahogany walled room.
Breakfast was fantastic, menu's and service straight to your table. Service again excellent.
Got a bit stuck in the snow on day of leaving and a gentleman from the hotel (maybe the chef) came and gave me a hand to get the car out. If you're reading this?, many thanks again.

If in the area we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notajoskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked this through a deals website with a fantastic offer of bed, breakfast, and a 3 course meal - we were not disappointed!
We were greeted by a lovely member of staff who showed us up to our fantastic room - really comfy big bed, huge TV, lovely bathroom with Molton Brown mini products and fluffy white bathrobes. We were asked what time we would like dinner and informed that drinks would be served in the lounge before dinner.
At dinner we had drinks by the open fire before going through to the dining room for a fabulous meal - the BEST sticky toffee pudding in the world - with excellent, friendly service. We then spent the evening at the hotel's cosy sister pub just 5 minutes up the road.
Breakfast in the morning was fantastic again - we expected, being on a special deal, to have a simple breakfast - however we were offered tea/coffee, a selection of juices, toast, croissants, fruit salad, yoghurt, smoked salmon, english breakfast etc etc at no extra cost!

Overall a lovely country retreat hotel - great quiet location for a relaxing overnight stay with great food and lovely staff. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wl_h89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have just tried booking a "Superior room" at the above hotel, I phoned and asked the person on the phone, do your superior rooms have king size beds, the anwser was I don't know, so I asked again do they or don't they which she replied "should I go measure them" I only wanted a yes or no, so I then replied should I call back tomorrow and then someone might be able to help me, which she replied "Yes" and hung up on me, well if this is the first person I have contact with my impession is I think I'll give this hotel a wide berth as what will the rest of the staff be like. Such a shame as it looks very nice. Had to put I stayed in January to get this published but no I didn't and never will.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
7  Thank batladforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Me and my husband recently held our wedding reception at Burythorpe House, after getting married at the local church.

We decided on holding our reception at Burythorpe House after we had spent a weekend there in the past, and fell in love with quaint village and relaxed feeling of the hotel. We booked our wedding reception last December.

After initially booking our wedding with the hotel, we we're informed that the wedding planner had been changed, and we were introduced to the lovely Sarah, the new wedding co-ordinator. At our initial meeting with Sarah, and her colleague Monica, we felt totally confident in Burythorpe house to deliver the wedding reception that we wanted.

Firstly, a few comments about the house itself. It is a beautiful period property, with lots of charm and character. We have stayed in 'Jervaluex' and the bridal suite, which is pretty amazing with a tin bath in the actual bedroom, very romantic. The sitting room of the hotel is particularly lovely, with a real open fire and lots of cosy sofa's and arm chairs, a perfect place to relax and talk with a drink. Of course with the hotel being so old, there are little areas that could do with some minor improvements, but I feel these little imperfections just add character to the place, if you want something brand new and squeaky clean go to a characterless chain hotel.

Now the food, when we have stayed at the hotel previously we have dined in the restraunt, and the food has always being nothing short of perfection, the chef really is talented. Our wedding breakfast was lovely also, and all of of guests commented on the quality of the food.

Now with regards to our wedding, we held a marquee reception for 100 people, and although the hotel itself is quite small and intimate, the additional marquee was the perfect space for our extra guests, with some of the guests retreating to the sitting room at the night time to sit in front of the fire.

I would like to say a special thank you to Sarah and Monika, they really did make the whole wedding planning process so much easier, every request that we had was met with a smile, event the most minute details were delivered just as we asked. Nothing was too much trouble at all, in fact the majority of our guests commented upon how helpful and friendly they were.

We hired out the whole of the hotel for the weekend of our wedding, and I would recommend this to anyone , as it felt like we had or own manor house for the weekend, which was great fun.

Burythorpe house was the perfect wedding venue for us, and I would strongly suggest any body wanting a wedding venue in a stunning location with a relaxed feel to go and meet the team there.

Room Tip: Jervaluex has beautiful views and a giant bed!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tommy06Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burythorpe
3.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
541 reviews
11.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
11.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
15.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burythorpe House

Address: Burythorpe, Malton YO17 9LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton > Burythorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Price Range: $98 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burythorpe House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burythorpe House is a boutique country house hotel close to York. Combining a relaxed, house-guest atmosphere, a renowned restaurant and stylish, individually-appointed bedrooms, the hotel makes a unique base for a few days of relaxation and exploring beautiful North Yorkshire. We are especially proud of our restaurant, the Priory, where chef Adam Richardson produces creative dishes based on the very best local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Burythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burythorpe House Hotel Burythorpe
Burythorpe Hotel Malton
Burythorpe House North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing