We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, a 5 star Dales hidden gem”
Review of The Craven Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Craven Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned home from a 1 night stay at the Craven Arms and cannot praise this establishment enough. We had a superior king room which was spacious, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The evening meal was excellent with a good selection of dishes which are all freshly made and tasted delicious. After a great nights sleep we had the full cooked breakfast which was once again superb. The Craven arms is easy to find on the A65 from Skipton and is a great base from which to explore the dales. I would highly recommend a stay here and if I could give it more than 5 stars then I would.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Disneysg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 332 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a great one night stay here. Nick was extremely welcoming and showed us to our lovely room. I think every room has a good view. Wonderful menu with a very imaginative chef. All the staff worked hard to make sure we were happy. Highly recommend it and lovely setting. Good luck Nick and team for for your future success!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

we stayed for two nights the service was the best we have ever had the food was excellent the room was clean and the owner nick could not do enough to help us and i recommend to try the beef wellington .do not hesitate to book one of the best around second to none you wont be dissapointed we will be going back

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We book this with a Groupon voucher and it them presented very good value for money. There is plenty to do in the vicinity. The restaurant is also good with meat and produce supplied from the owner's farm. Rooms in the new part of very much on the lines of a Travelodge.

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feretdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wow, what a fabulous place to stay! There were 9 in our group & Nick Young, who has only been there such a short time made us so welcome...the food & drinks were delicious, the rooms cosy & comfortable...& his renovations looked fabulous. Thank you so very much for your hospitality Nick, and for carrying my heavy bag to & from the coach....I hope I get the chance to return one day.

Room Tip: Rooms where all quiet, roomy and heated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Cannot rate highly enough. We stayed here as part of the Way of the Roses cycle route. As per other reviews, Nick was a brilliant host and extremely helpful, nothing was any trouble and he took the time and trouble to ensure everyone was catered for. Food and Beer was excellent, alongwith the accommodation. Thank you very much!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pnmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We decided to go to The Craven Arms for a meal after reading the Trip Advisor reviews. We went after a long walk in Settle & called in on the way back. The place is newly decorated & very clean. Our meals were very tasty & great value for money, I would recommend the salt beef wellington. The prices are extremely reasonable as well considering the high quality of the food. The manager came over for a chat & he really makes an effort with the customers which is great. Next time I hope to stay over. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikklekoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
521 reviews
6 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
627 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
5.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craven Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven Arms

Address: Brackenber Lane, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Price Range: $80 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craven Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly free house with real ales, great food & eight letting rooms. The Craven Arms is situated in the Yorkshire Dales on the edge of the beautiful village of Giggleswick & near the popular market town of Settle. The Craven Arms is the perfect base to explore the Yorkshire Dales and the Forest of Bowland & ideally placed for guests wishing to take up 'The Three Peaks Challenge'. Other popular activities include road & mountain biking, caving, climbing & paragliding. Giggleswick station is a two minute walk away & Settle station being the start of the famous & picturesque Settle to Carlisle line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Craven Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craven Arms Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing