We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great welcome and great food!”
Review of The Craven Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Craven Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great welcome and great food!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights taking in a three peaks walk in between. Other than the walk it was a great experience from start to finish. On booking the manager (Deb) was extremely helpfull in arranging meals around our itinerary and promised to ring me in the week before our arrival (a couple of months later) to confirm aspects I wasn't sure off; she did! We got a warm welcome when we arrived and were shown to our room which was clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and the food and service was excellent, as was the packed lunch they prepared for our walk. Oh yes, the walk... 26 miles in 30 degree heat was absolutely draining, unlike the Craven Arms, never again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davantall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    84
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
60
138
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
682 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with family and friends on a glorious summer evening. The menu was varied and interesting, the food tasty and wholesome. Staff were friendly and helpful allowing me to taste a couple of hand pulled draft bitters to assist in my choice. Recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RogerfromTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The craven arms was perfect for our weekend stay. It's location is ideal for doing the 3 peaks walk - approx 15 mins away from Horton-in-ribblesdale. The staff made you feel so welcome from the minute you arrive to the moment you leave. Nothing was too much trouble.

The food was exceptionally good and would definitely recommend eating in the restaurant.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable.

Hope to be back and would definitely recommend!!

Thank you for making our stay so good xx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Have just returned from a one night stay on the Groupon offer. Second time we have visited and could not fault it. Rooms spotless and comfortable. Food delicious. Welcome and hospitality given by Deb and her staff made it for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susiesueq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Highly recommended for tasty fresh cooked food with friendly service. I particularly liked the options of small portions for those with a smaller appetite which allowed me to enjoy 3courses rather than just one main meal. The wild rabbit, Yorkshire chorizo and puy lentils was really different and tasty.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed on a 'Groupon' deal which was unbelievably amazing value. Mr Proctor the proprietor was extremely friendly, ameniable and flexible with regard to booking dates. Spacious room, fresh milk available from communal fridge for a brew in the room, Harrogate mineral water, Yorkshire biscuits and nice toiletries. No baths available but perfectly adequate shower in small bathroom. Cracking breakfast with large choice of local ingredients from owners farm. Beautiful views across the dales from the dining room. Obviously a busy overnight venue for walkers, tourists and popular for locals enjoying a tasty meal out. We both plumped for the local leg of lamb served with a monster of a Yorkshire pudding, fresh vegs and roasties not forgetting a perfect gravy of veg and meat stock, port and red wine. I opted for a raspberry and rose crème brulee, whilst hubby had a delicious pear and chocolate tart with Chantilly cream. Mmmm, can't wait to return! Very pleasant staff!!

Room Tip: Although located alongside main road, no real noise from passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent a night here using a Groupon voucher. On the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews we ate in the restaurant. There is really nothing we can add except to endorse previous reviews in terms of the excellent standard of accommodation, service and food. The owners are obviously trying hard and deserve to do well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireDandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
330 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
487 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
524 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
18.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craven Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven Arms

Property: The Craven Arms
Address: Brackenber Lane, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craven Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly free house with real ales, great food & eight letting rooms. The Craven Arms is situated in the Yorkshire Dales on the edge of the beautiful village of Giggleswick & near the popular market town of Settle. The Craven Arms is the perfect base to explore the Yorkshire Dales and the Forest of Bowland & ideally placed for guests wishing to take up 'The Three Peaks Challenge'. Other popular activities include road & mountain biking, caving, climbing & paragliding. Giggleswick station is a two minute walk away & Settle station being the start of the famous & picturesque Settle to Carlisle line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Craven Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craven Arms Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing