We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Beautiful Cottage in a Beautiful Location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of SUNNYBECK COTTAGE

TRADITIONAL COTTAGE WITH PRETTY COTTAGE GARDEN
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
TRADITIONAL COTTAGE WITH PRETTY COTTAGE GARDEN
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
TRADITIONAL COTTAGE WITH PRETTY COTTAGE GARDEN
VILLAGE SETTING
RELAX BY THE FIRE
QUIRKY TOUCHES
LARGE MODERN KITCHEN DINER
FAMOUS RAILWAY
SLEEPY GIGGLESWICK
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
24Nic24
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Cottage in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We received a warm welcome from Carol (the owner) on our arrival and found a beautifully presented cottage with every comfort for a magical break. The first impression of the cottage is a definate WOW and the underfloor heating is bliss, especialy after an afternoon walk.

Both Giggleswick and Settle are very picturesque with lots of great places to eat all within a short walk of the cottage. Our favourite was The Little House (in Settle) where the food was fantastic and the host very welcoming.

There is also no shortage of walks in the area, more than we could fit in so we will be going back for more. We had a really lovely weekend and would reccommend Settle Holiday Cottage to all of you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and underfloor heating
Liked least: having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Sunnybeck and we REALLY hope to see you both again soon?

Regards

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Sunnybeck.

Take care,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laurel H
Benfleet
1 review
“Traditional Dales cottage on the outside, contemporary luxury on the inside”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Our stay started with a warm welcome from Carol (the owner). The cottage lived up to our expectations in all ways - light & airy, decorated to a high standard and very well equipped. The local pubs (5 mins walk) are very welcoming and offer a good range of food. Settle is only about a 10 min walk away and offers more places to eat and shop. We took the opportunity to travel on the Settle/Carlisle railway - the scenery is spectacular. All in all - a thoroughly enjoyable week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of accomodation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again at Sunnybeck or Bankwell cottage?

Take care

Carol(the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela A
Burnham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great holiday in Yorkshire”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked a lovely cottage so close to Settle we could stroll into town by the beck running alongside the cottage. The owners couldn't have done more for us even when we had to change our arrival time at short notice.

The cottage is beautiful from the outside and thoroughly light, bright and modern in the inside. Great pub in the village with good food and service and we also used the lovely swimming pool 10 min walk from the cottage - a lovely bonus.

Thank you Carol and Steve. Loved the welcome hamper - how did you know to pick my favourite dessert as a wonderful sweet treat?!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely bright cottage
Liked least: Wished there was a sofa in the light filled extension so I could curl up and read as I loved the light and airy feel to the room
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sunnybeck and we hope to see you all again soon? A little bird told me you liked that pudding!!!

Take care

Carol and Steve (owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshi...
oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable well equipped cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The cottage has been refurbished to a very high standard and is comfortable and well equipped. Everything has been provided for a relaxing holiday in a lovely environment. The village of Giggleswick is very pretty and it is a big advantage being close to the village pubs and shop and also within easy walking distance of the amenities of Settle. The area is very attractive with lots of lovely walks and places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very convenient location
Liked least: Limited drawer space in the bedrooms
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again in the future?

Regards

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlen
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent a wonderful week in carol's fab cottage. The cottage was spotlessly clean, beautiful, and every home comfort. Carol was wonderfully helpful and nothing was too much trouble to make our stay with our little dog bonnie special. It felt so homely we felt quite upset leaving at the end of the week and have promised ourselves that we shall return. Everything was just perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Carol was so helpful.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2013
Ahh thank you for your lovely review and I really hope you come and see us again with gorgeous Bonnie?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipiman
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed for just 3 nights but that was long enough for us to appreciate the comfort and standard of this cottage.
It has been equipped and updated to a very high level and is a credit to the owner Carol.
We hope to return later in the year and would highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the kitchen and bathrooms
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and I really appreciate people taking the time to write on TripAdvisor.

Take care and I hope to see you again soon?

Regards,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing