We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of BANKWELL COTTAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
NEWLY FITTED KITCHEN
MAIN DOUBLE
TEA FOR 6
SPACIOUS DOUBLE BEDROOM
DOWNSTAIRS SHOWER ROOM AND WC
NEWLY RENOVATED BATHROOM
SETTLE GOLF COURSE CLOSE BY
FAMOUS RAILWAY
LOCAL SCENERY
THE LOCAL TUCK SHOP
DOGS WELCOME
DOG FRIENDLY
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sophie059
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A beautiful cottage and perfect for a short break. Comfy beds, tastefully furnished with such a lovely welcome pack and fresh flowers on arrival. Bankwell Cottage is within walking distance of some great pubs, shops and eateries with a swimming pool just 5 mins walk for those rainy days. It’s a perfect base for exploring both Cumbria and the Dales with some super walks on it’s doorstep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2017
Thank you Caroline for your great review and I really hope we see you all again?

Carol x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
1 review
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a lovely stay at Bankwell. Every home essential was provided. Even the dog had a little welcome pack with towels, body spray, bowls and treats. We arrived a little early but were greeted with a warm welcome by the cleaner. Carol then poped over to introduce us to the cottage and provide us with some more towels. As we had our 15mth daughter with us Carol got out some toys, which she loved playing with. The location is excellent as a base for exploring the Yorkshire dales. You can walk into Settle if you wish and on Tuesday it's market day which was great for picking up some local sausages and eggs for breakfast.
The cottage itself has all the mod cons you would need and is decorated tastefully. The back garden was great for pooch as all in closed. Whilst literally 3mins from the cottage is a field you can walk dogs on, they have to be on a lead. But that was fine for our dog. It was so quiet at the cottage you can just sit and unwind with no distractions. Or if you like to explore, you're a 10min drive from the dales and all it has to offer.
We would definitely return no question.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
Thank you Victoria for your lovely review and I really hope to see you all again?

Take care

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C
1 review
“Perfectly perfect !”
Reviewed September 21, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wonderful cosy cottage, fantastically equipped, everything has been thought of in the cottage and the small courtyard back garden is a little suntrap. The location is perfect for all , local pubs just a short stroll and Settle is only a short walk away too. Second visit already and we will be back !! Thank you x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
Thank you Julie for another great review and I hope and look forward to your return for another visit? x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Thank you for your enquiry but are in the Yorkshire Dales National Park, so in the Dales not a few miles away!

Regards

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay and also for your positive feedback?
I really hope you come back and see us again?

take care

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LadyWillo...
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage!”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Bankwell Cottage is perfectly located in the village of Giggleswick. We were planning to walk the Three Peaks and could not have found a more convenient place to stay. The cottage is beautiful, spacious and had everything you could possibly need. We stayed for 3 nights and only ventured out on one evening as we were so comfortable - home from home! I would highly recommend the Harts Head pub in Giggleswick which is a short walk from the cottage; the food was excellent. Thank you Carol for your hospitality - we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2017
Hi Jocelyn, Thank you so much for your great review and for taking the time write it!
I really hope we see you again soon?

Kind regards

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilnic123
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cosy cottage”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Excellent pet-friendly cottage in Giggleswick. Bankwell cottage was spotlessly clean with modern furnishings and comfortable beds. The garden was fully enclosed and perfect for our 2 small dogs. Often gardens are described as enclosed but in reality, they have hedges or fencing that only keep larger dogs in, not the case here! Carol, the owner was really welcoming and left a lovely welcome basket with essentials and Easter treats! Lovely walks from the doorstep and pubs within close walking distance. Have no worries about booking this delightful cottage, it really is superb!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
Thank you so much for your fabulous review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay! Please do come again and see us soon?

Take care

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing