We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation with all the facilities...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of BANKWELL COTTAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
NEWLY FITTED KITCHEN
MAIN DOUBLE
TEA FOR 6
SPACIOUS DOUBLE BEDROOM
DOWNSTAIRS SHOWER ROOM AND WC
NEWLY RENOVATED BATHROOM
SETTLE GOLF COURSE CLOSE BY
FAMOUS RAILWAY
LOCAL SCENERY
THE LOCAL TUCK SHOP
DOGS WELCOME
DOG FRIENDLY
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jimbo935
Cottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great accommodation with all the facilities, really helpful owners.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a fabulous location and property. Everything as described with an owner who just wanted us to have a great time - which we did. Three spacious bedrooms with good sized living room and kitchen. Every modern facility one would need. Great advice about local places to eat and drink. A really great time was had by all. Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Bankwell and I am pleased you all had a great celebration!

Kind regards

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirtheMS
Lillehammer, Norway
1 review
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Blankwell Cottage is not a rental cottage, it is a very nice persons home. Carol has made it warm and welcoming, it is clean and proper. It is perfectly equipped and situated in the most beautiful area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nice cottage, the area, the pubs, the beautiful landscape
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Bankwell cottage and I really hope to see you again in the future?

Kind regards

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieC273
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful 'Home from Home' Cottage”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Our first stay at Bankwell Cottage and it certainly won't be our last. We have stayed in many cottages over the years and this one is definitely the best. The owner Carol was there to welcome us and to show us around, she was extremely friendly, helpful and informative. The cottage was spotless, warm and cosy with a lovely welcome pack of 'goodies' too. The village of Giggleswick is lovely too and we spent a number of evenings at the local pub 'The Black Horse' where the food was excellent and you were made to feel very welcome. It is also within walking distance from the cottage which meant you didn't have to use the car. There is also private parking at the cottage which was very useful. All in all we had a lovely few days away and can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I really hope to see you again at one of our cottages?

Take care,

Carol (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jend8870
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage for a family get away!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed at the cottage from 14th -17th Feb and we had a lovely time. The cottage is homely, comfortable and warm. We was welcomed by Carol who was very welcoming and left us some goodies in a welcome basket which was a very nice touch. We took our dog and it was good that there was an enclosed garden so he could not escape. The location is lovely , nice little walk into the village and a lovely pub The Harts Head welcomed dogs, the food was lovely. We really enjoyed our stay :-).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay

Regards

carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Girly weekend”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

What a gorgeous cottage it's absolutely amazing, the decor is to a high spec and there is everything you will need for a holiday. Beautiful area and Carol the owner is extremely helpful and eager for you to enjoy your stay. You receive a food welcome pack to get you started your your break. Love it! X

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you and your girlies are enjoying your break!

Regards,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christoph...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

super cottage, home from home and more.
nice welcome and very comfortable accommodation.
5***** nothing too much trouble , 3 good pubs around the corner.
All in walking distance.
Great base for dales holiday.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Bankwell cottage and we really hope we see you again in Giggleswick?

Kind regards

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnnSm...
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for a short break from the 31st October to the 3rd November. There were six of us (four adults and two teenagers) and the cottage accommodated us very comfortably. The owner Carol kept in regular contact with us to let us know when the cottage was ready and told us that she would meet us there when we arrived. She greeted us warmly and explained everything that we needed to know about the cottage, there was even a goody basket which was a really nice touch. The layout of the cottage is brilliant with plenty of room to make yourselves comfortable. The bedrooms are all a really good size and two showers were an added bonus. Bankwell Cottage is a perfect base to explore the stunning scenery. The cottage is located on the outskirts of Settle in a lovely village which boasts three pubs - we visited two of them and enjoyed a lovely meal in The Black Horse. We would highly recommend taking a trip on the Settle to Carlisle railway - the scenery is breath-taking, also Skipton Market is well worth a visit. It's a wonderful area for biking and walking too. We had a lovely break at the cottage and we would not hesitate to recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The cosy atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and I really hope we see you again one day?

Take care,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing