We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage for a family get away!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of BANKWELL COTTAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
NEWLY FITTED KITCHEN
MAIN DOUBLE
TEA FOR 6
SPACIOUS DOUBLE BEDROOM
DOWNSTAIRS SHOWER ROOM AND WC
NEWLY RENOVATED BATHROOM
SETTLE GOLF COURSE CLOSE BY
FAMOUS RAILWAY
LOCAL SCENERY
THE LOCAL TUCK SHOP
DOGS WELCOME
DOG FRIENDLY
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jend8870
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage for a family get away!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed at the cottage from 14th -17th Feb and we had a lovely time. The cottage is homely, comfortable and warm. We was welcomed by Carol who was very welcoming and left us some goodies in a welcome basket which was a very nice touch. We took our dog and it was good that there was an enclosed garden so he could not escape. The location is lovely , nice little walk into the village and a lovely pub The Harts Head welcomed dogs, the food was lovely. We really enjoyed our stay :-).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay

Regards

carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Girly weekend”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

What a gorgeous cottage it's absolutely amazing, the decor is to a high spec and there is everything you will need for a holiday. Beautiful area and Carol the owner is extremely helpful and eager for you to enjoy your stay. You receive a food welcome pack to get you started your your break. Love it! X

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you and your girlies are enjoying your break!

Regards,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christoph...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

super cottage, home from home and more.
nice welcome and very comfortable accommodation.
5***** nothing too much trouble , 3 good pubs around the corner.
All in walking distance.
Great base for dales holiday.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Bankwell cottage and we really hope we see you again in Giggleswick?

Kind regards

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnnSm...
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for a short break from the 31st October to the 3rd November. There were six of us (four adults and two teenagers) and the cottage accommodated us very comfortably. The owner Carol kept in regular contact with us to let us know when the cottage was ready and told us that she would meet us there when we arrived. She greeted us warmly and explained everything that we needed to know about the cottage, there was even a goody basket which was a really nice touch. The layout of the cottage is brilliant with plenty of room to make yourselves comfortable. The bedrooms are all a really good size and two showers were an added bonus. Bankwell Cottage is a perfect base to explore the stunning scenery. The cottage is located on the outskirts of Settle in a lovely village which boasts three pubs - we visited two of them and enjoyed a lovely meal in The Black Horse. We would highly recommend taking a trip on the Settle to Carlisle railway - the scenery is breath-taking, also Skipton Market is well worth a visit. It's a wonderful area for biking and walking too. We had a lovely break at the cottage and we would not hesitate to recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The cosy atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and I really hope we see you again one day?

Take care,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
premiump
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely well-appointed cottage in Giggleswick”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We actually won two nights in this delightful cottage as a raffle prize from "Access the Dales". We couldn't have been more pleased with our prize.

Carol met us on arrival, gave us a quick and friendly tour of the cottage and left us to our own devices ... along with a small welcome hamper of goodies; a great start!

The cottage was clean, well equipped and decorated in a modern yet homely style. Our party of four +baby immediately felt relaxed and proceeded to make ourselves at home.

The cottage has two showers, three spacious bedrooms, a fully-equipped kitchen and a large selection of board-games, dvd's and books to please just about everyone. We were very pleased to find a decent high-chair and travel-cot for the little fella, which makes things very easy.

Did I mention the free wi-fi? Working in IT, its the first thing I check. It clocked in at a very respectable 15Mbps. Anyone with smartphones and tablets will surely appreciate the decent internet connection.

A lovely cottage that we'd definitely recommend.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and you and your family are very welcome anytime?

Regards,
Carol The owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classic Dales cottage with modern interior - Great location”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Well located on peaceful road , with only short walk to Settle where most needs are catered for in this wonderful market town , that had great shops, places to eat and plenty of character. We managed to do so many activites in a week within only a short 10-20min drive each day from the cottage.
The Cottage had all the mod cons that you need when on holiday and was comfortable , and more spacious than the outside suggests.
Some lovely walks along by the river into the town

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Only very small outdoor space
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bankwell and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay?
We hope to see you again in the future?

Regards carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon m
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for a lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This cottage is perfectly situated for a holiday in the dales. Many attractions within easy reach. The cottage is lovely and very well equipt with everything you need for a holiday. The location is brilliant with Settle within walking distance,the village has two pubs both within walking distance of the cottage and both serving good pub food.There is a good supermarket again within walking distance.
The cottage itself provides a real home from home, very clean and comfortable with nice outside space for relaxing after busy days exploring wonderful countryside.We loved Bolton Abbey, Ingletons Falls and Malham Tarn and all were much appreciated by Winnie our much loved family dog!
We would certainly recommend Bankwell Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and delighted you enjoyed your stay at Bankwell and that Winnie had a good time aswell?

Regards Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing