We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of BANKWELL COTTAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
NEWLY FITTED KITCHEN
MAIN DOUBLE
TEA FOR 6
SPACIOUS DOUBLE BEDROOM
DOWNSTAIRS SHOWER ROOM AND WC
NEWLY RENOVATED BATHROOM
SETTLE GOLF COURSE CLOSE BY
FAMOUS RAILWAY
LOCAL SCENERY
THE LOCAL TUCK SHOP
DOGS WELCOME
DOG FRIENDLY
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FlorenceV...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We rented the cottage over New Year and were delighted to find a home-from-home in Giggleswick. The cottage was so welcoming, warm and comfortable... Carol went out of her way to make us feel welcome.
I highly recommend this cottage if you are looking for a relaxing break with walking opportunities on the doorstep!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great taste for interior deco.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of Bankwell cottage and I am delighted you had a great New Year in Giggleswick?

Kind regards

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 6, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Ideal location
Liked least: Bath/shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2012
Thank you for your very helpful and informative review, and I hope you visit Bankwell for the third time.
Kind regards Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CyrilStap...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rare find, clean, warm, fully equipped and welcoming”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We have stayed at many cottages in this area and most of them leave something to be desired. It is usually cleanliness, heating or being really spartan and cheaply fitted out, despite what the descriptions claim and the photos appear to show. This is not the case at Bankwell. I can honestly say that nothing was missing and the quality of all the furnishings and fitting was excellent - and it was warm! The only disappointing thing was the power of the shower but this is because it was an electric Mira unit which I know from experience are hopeless so this is no reflection on the house. The area is not known for extensive food shopping so the Booths supermarket was a welcome relief from the usual second rate Co-Op/Spar shops especially if you are used to Waitrose/Sainsbury's. So, all in all, book it and you will not be disappointed in my view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of Bankwell cottage and I really hope to see you again soon?

kind regards,

Carol The Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa t
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

I have just come back from a 3 night stay at bankwell cottage.It is a real find dont think i have ever stayed any where better in this country.Its a home from home with all your mod cons ,so relaxing ,fantastic location walking distance to shops pubs, what more do you want.Cant wait to go back.I would recommend this cottage and sunnybeck to all my freinds and family.I had a great birthday there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: the only negative was we should have booked for longer
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of Bankwell cottage and I sincerely hope you come again!

Carol, the owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious cottage in a beautiful location
Liked least: Nothing. Everything was perfect.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review of Bankwell cottage and I really appreciate your comments.
I sincerely hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was so peaceful and very well equipped with wifi
Liked least: the weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2012
Thank you for your review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at Bankwell and hope to see you again soon.

Carol The owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregStant...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely lovely lovely”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Bankwell Cottage in the charming village of Giggleswick was everything we could wish for , for our much needed vacation. The accommodation was of the highest standard. Very clean and every facility you could possibly hope for. Carol our host was so helpful and informative , and wished us well for our stay. We loved every minute exploring the area, long walks and by the time we were ready to go back it was like home from home. Excellent all round. Loved it thanks Carol.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the setting
Liked least: It's a long way away from home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am always grateful for any feedback as it is important to know we are doing the right things.
I look forward to seeing you again at Bankwell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing