We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Harts Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harts Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Giggleswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We cannot thank Barbara and her staff enough for a lovely 2 night stay. With anxiety sought accommodation in the area in anticipation completing 3peak challenge. Following previous recommendations on trip advisor attempted to book through late rooms with no success,phoned direct and booked a twin room with no problems.On arrival twin room not available and without any hesitation was upgraded to 2 double rooms in the lovely annex- my room( 8) esp nice but my friend no less impressed. Fabulous breakfast presented on a tray the evening before ,as needed to leave at 6am for the challenge ,was an excellent idea. Returned later than anticipated that evening,realizing would miss or would need to rush our evening meal asked if possible for us to take to our rooms. Landlady did no more than bring to us ,after our welcome baths , delicious,very well priced food on a beautifully presented tray. The Inn is not modern but adds to its charm and is appropriate to the area.We couldn't fault any aspect and look forward to returning in the near future.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
A lovely review to read, thanks very much Amanda. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    53
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
23
65
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Exceptionally friendly welcome, food first class and beers beyond reproach. Open fire, warm atmosphere and great company!

Tried all the cask ales on tap and couldn't fault any of them! Staff were very helpful and for a lone traveller to have conversation around the bar in the evening was most welcome!

I would definitely stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
A lovely review to read, thank you very much! Hopefully we will see you again if you return to the area.

Kind regards,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We all had a pleasant evening in the Hart’s Head. The landlady was very friendly, and made us feel welcome. There was a good choice of real ales, and they were all in good condition and poured well.

There is a excellent selection of meals on the blackboard, and are all reasonably priced. We had our meal in the main dining area, and we all enjoyed it. The cheese plate for dessert was huge and had a nice variety of cheeses to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silberhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your evening at the Harts Head. We hope to see you again when you're next in the area.

Kind regards,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A warm, welcoming and cosy pub.
Ideally situated for visiting the pretty village of Settle and for the Yorkshire 3 peaks.
The landlady, Barbara, was friendly, efficient and made our whole party feel very welcome.
The food selection was substantial and food was of a very high quality, at sensible prices.
The accommodation is very good value.
With snow drifts outside, the real fire in the bar and the friendly banter from locals made the stay even more pleasant.
Thank you Barbara for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneyArty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback! We're pleased you enjoyed the recently updated food menu and the accommodation. Hopefully next time you can stay when the weather is a bit better!

Kind regards,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed in one of the cottage rooms, great room, lovely comfortable bed, fantastic en-suite bathroom with great power shower/bath. The room was clean and tidy with a tv, hairdryer, kettle and coffee/tea/milk/biscuits and mini bar to store your own drinks/food. The only knock-back about the cottage room was there was no Sky Sports/Sky News or Wi-Fi as advertised on the website. The 37 channels were all the free channels you get with freeview so maybe Barbara can address this as it is advertised incorrectly as having this as the only place that can offer it within a 10 mile radius in peoples rooms? This may apply to the Inn itself but not the cottage to the rear? And the bidet handle was broken meaning it couldn't be used as the plug was firmly stuck.

The bar and dining area were lovely with a lot of different real ales to try along with the usual mainstream beers, the staff were very friendly and the food was fantastic. The food was mostly local produce including the full English breakfast and it showed with the lovely texture of the bangers and thick bacon. Thumbs up to the chef(s). Overall though I would rate this place 8.5 out of 10 and would have been higher but for the few 'minor' faults - but pretty much well worth the stay as Barbara is always smiling and certainly knows how to make everybody feel welcome.

Room Tip: If you want Sky Sports/News and Wi-Fi stay in the pubs rooms, but cottages probably less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Col H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for your review! We are pleased that you were happy with the room, food and service provided. We are currently in the process of redeveloping the website and your points about the annexe will be implemented in to avoid future confusion.

Hope to see you again soon,

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Recently stayed in Giggleswick at the Harts Head Inn for the weekend with friends. We had a great stay. Friendly staff, really good breakfast and amazing beers in the pub! Would certainly stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 994Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your trip, many thanks for your kind comments hopefully we can see you again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place is very poor. feels like it is about to go bankrupt with paint flaking off, television in my room not working, no wireless connectivity unless you stand at the top of the stairs, shower that points at the wall not the person and after a 5 hour drive to get there they are too busy to cook me a meal. at £40 for the night it isn't worth losing sleep over - probably worth £25 to £30. Think faulty towers and this is a close fit. Welcome to Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Probably good if you are walking, need a warm room and hot breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank idmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, Owner at Harts Head Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I am sorry you didnt enjoy your stay and can assure you we take all customer comments very seriously. I was unaware that you had a problem with your television or your wireless connection but have taken steps to rectify the problem. The night you stayed we had a very busy evening in the dining room with 2 xmas parties booked who had pre ordered their meals and so the kitchen were busy with their orders when you enquired about food. We did offer a later time for dining which unfortunately was not acceptable for you I am very sorry that you had this problem but in the circumstances it was the best we could do.
Kind Regards
Barbara Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giggleswick
0.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.2 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.6 mi away
King William the Fourth Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harts Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harts Head Inn

Property: Harts Head Inn
Address: Belle Hill, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Giggleswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harts Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the stunning Yorkshire Dales, yet close to Settle and the A65, this historic owner-run Inn offers delicious homemade food, cosy log fires and free Wi-Fi and parking. Boasting a privileged position within the delightful village of Giggleswick, and with the scenic beauty of the Yorkshire Dales right on its doorstep, the inn is perfectly positioned for those wishing to explore the area. Independently owned and managed, guests can always expect a warm, personable welcome and a wonderful home-from-home atmosphere. Each of the 9 en-suite guestrooms are comfortable, inviting and come complete with everything one could need for a stress-free night's sleep. They offer a choice of Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms all of which feature free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, comfy bedding, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Harts Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harts Head Hotel Settle
Harts Head Inn Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing