We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“superb old world charm”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old school House Norfolk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old school House Norfolk
Dining for a dinner party Four poster bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The Old school House Norfolk
Dining for a dinner party
Four poster bed
Bedroom 2 Double + single bed
bedroom 4 two single beds+ 2 futons
Bedroom 3 Double bed
Bedroom 2 from another angle
Dining for 10
view of pub from front window
Ready for a sing song?
postcard of the building when it was a chapel from 1908
Seal trips on North Norfolk coast highly recommended
Oxborough Hall closeby (4 miles)
Lounge seats 10
Relax by the log burner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fincham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
discomani...
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“superb old world charm”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a lovely house and in a most beautiful location overlooking the village pond . The house is very large and filled with everything you need for a fantastic getaway . the owners ian and debbie are very kind and are there when needed ..4 very large bedrooms , massive kitchen and a comfortable large lounge .
Loads of nice places to visit nearby and for any fishermen try the pond although its more like a small lake with carp up to 11lb . also a pub opposite with very friendly bar staff .
all in all a great break

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location and property
Liked least: couldnt stay longer
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lg222015
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“60th Birthday!”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed for 2 nights (7 adults, 1 toddler and 2 babies) for a 60th birthday celebration in January. It was lovely to stay in a home spacious enough to fit us all in and to have a table large enough for us to all sit around at once! The setting is lovely and our toddler enjoyed feeding the ducks on the pond at the front of the house. There were stair gates and cots at the cottage to contain the 2 babies (10 months) and a large fire guard to keep them safe. The Old School House had everything we needed and we had a fantastic weekend. Wereham is very pretty and we also had a great visit to High Lodge in Thetford as we were lucky that our January weekend was cold but beautifully bright and sunny. We will be recommending the house to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2015
Really pleased you had a lovely weekend.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviakle...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A brilliant weekend away!”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Thank you for a wonderful stay at The Old School House. The house was well-equipped and we received a very warm welcome. We especially enjoyed playing board games around the wood burner and walks around the beautiful village. The house was very clean and we enjoyed the extra touches that Ian and Debbie provided for us. Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2015
Many thanks Olivia
It was a pleasure meeting you and all the other Harrowvians. Very pleased you had a lovely weekend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah R
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful time..............”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

From the moment you walk in, you feel right at home. So much space. It was all the little touches. It was just like staying at a friends house, very homely. Such wonderful comfy beds. stunning view across the pond. Both owners and neighbours were so friendly. Wonderful area, peaceful and quiet but with plenty to do in the area. Wereham is such a beautiful place. I would not hesitate to stay again. We all had a great time and hope to stay there again soon. Many Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the feeling of home
Liked least: nothing it was all perfect
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2014
Really pleased you had a lovely time. Be happy to welcome you back in the future.
Debbie and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennym306...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“80th birthday celebration”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A lovely house with excellent facilities set in a "typical" English village complete with village pond, pub and church. Very friendly locals. Perfect for our celebration.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everyone sitting round the huge kitchen table.
Liked least: only 1 shower between us all although there was a lovely roll top bath as well.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2014
It was lovely hosting your family in The Old school House. Really pleased the 80th birthday celebration was a great success. Would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This property fails on multiple key performance indicators”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The bed linen is substandard. "Hotel" quality Egyptian cotton sheets will be 1000 thread count or better. The sheets at the old school house would struggle to be 250!! I was itchy all night. The mattresses are past their "use by" date. The hot water runs out after about three showers (unacceptable for a 4 bedroom house).

The house is heated by heating oil and fumes intrude into the house. There are so many small things that would be easy to fix. It could be very good. But it is not and it was not a pleasant stay.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2014
Surprised by this. No indication of dissatisfaction in daily communications. Not posted by customer who booked and paid but by one member of their party. Customer declined to comment.
For the first time ever neighbours complained about the rudeness of a guest, soiled underwear was left in the wardrobe and there was nothing in the ‘honesty box’ for extras used.
We are sorry this guest found nothing positive to say about his stay and ask for future guests to see our other reviews on this and other sites.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesmi...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Family weekend”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just come back from a family weekend in this cottage. It was a lovely place and very spacious for our family of 7. The only down side would be the only shower in the property is in the en suite bathroom. So being 5 women and 1 shower was a long time to get up in the morning.
We had fun playing on the piano and having lovely family meals at the large table in the kitchen.
You do struggle to get any signal on mobile phones and albeit that you are provided with wifi and the code the reception is not picked up in all rooms of the cottage.
Other than these small things we have a fabulous weekend.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2014
Many thanks.
Very pleased you had a good stay.Hope to welcome you back in the future.
We debated whether to have the roll top bath or install a bath and second shower. We like to wallow in the bath so the roll top won but we do appreciate that it does not suit everyone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing