We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“main course not nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timbers Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Timbers Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Fincham B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“main course not nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My partner and I thought we would try this pub for a meal on Sunday evening as he is not local so had never been in before, we had a really lovely starter although more bread would of been better with my pate!!
We then decided to have a roast but sadly it tasted like it was the leftovers from lunchtime as the roasties were rock hard and the Yorkshire pudding tasted stale so was sadly disappointing as I'm sure had we of chosen off the bar menu i'm sure it would of lived up to the starter..
We felt slightly begrudged paying for the main course but you live and learn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safiya39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimbersManager, Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We apologise that you found your meal unsatisfactory at our hotel restaurant.

After investigating with the staff concerned for collecting all the facts (chef and waiter who served your table Sunday evening) The chef confirms that you were the only two guests who had a roast dinner from our menu, the chef said that all the food was freshly prepared and our restaurant does not serve food left over from lunch time. Our food is locally produced and each customer's order is freshly cooked. According to our chef the roast potatoes were not rock hard and the Yorkshire puddings were freshly made. We received no complaints from other guests who had roast potatoes with their menu choice that evening.

It is unfortunate that you did not ask the waiter for more bread with your pate as we will have most certainly obliged. If guests require more bread, we have no problem serving them extra. Since the Pate is from the A La Carte menu, like most restaurants, it is served as an elegant starter portion for presentation as well as good flavour. Extra bread is always ready if a customer requires more.

The waiter who served you asked if everything was to your satisfaction when clearing your plates and our waiter reports that you said everything was ok, that you were full from the starters you ate and that you enjoyed your meal. He reports that he didn't receive any complaints from you during, or after your meal.

If customers are not happy with any part of our service, it is always appreciated if it is brought to the manager's attention immediately in order for us to offer the quality service we always aim for.

It would have been a positive outcome if you had approached management rather than leaving as dissatisfied customers and begrudging the payment. Our aim is to please and give our best. We receive many compliments every day for our food and service. We do hope you give Timbers a second chance in the future for trying our different menu choices and speaking to our friendly staff for any extra requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    60
    37
    20
    29
See reviews for
68
61
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stopped to eat at Timbers last week - lunchtime. Came in with my partner as we were passing by on our travels. We were greeted by a professional lady who impressed us with her gentle style and warmth. The bar area was welcoming and intimate with friendly atmosphere. The service was good and efficient. We will certainly come back and try the hotel’s restaurant as it seems like it is under refurbishment at the moment. Overall very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimbersManager, Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback.

We are very pleased you stopped for an interim break during your travels and look forward to you visiting us again soon when The Barn restaurant refurbishment is completed by the end of next week.

I am sure you will enjoy the character packed restaurant with it's gorgeous old beams and warm friendly atmosphere, whilst enjoying your freshly prepared meal :-)

Thanks again, it will be a pleasure to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We haven't been to Timbers for a few years but it's certainly changed in that time. The service was excellent,we were allowed to have a leisurely drink in the bar and couldn't fault the food. Quality produce all looked and tasted fresh. I had a slice of each of the meats and they were cooked perfectly and full of flavour. The best roast potatoes we've ever had away from home. Nothing was allowed to run out and because it was so busy nothing was sitting under lights keeping warm like some carverys. It's obviously a team effort, there were some big parties of people but smaller tables didn't suffer because of that also we were never rushed. I look forward to our next visit!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimbersManager, Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
It is much appreciated that you took the time to post your feedback, Thank you :-)

Though we receive verbal compliments every day, It is always a pleasure reading about customers' happy experiences here at Timbers.

We always aim for a quality service at all times and great believers in continuous improvement, with that, it will be a pleasure to serve you again once The Barn restaurant's refurbishment is completed, so there are more lovely changes coming your way!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

'Under New Management' and now FANTASTIC. Visited last night for dinner with a friend, food was absolutely outstanding. Plenty of it and superb quality, and not at all expensive. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive and the Manager, Monika, was an absolute 'Super Star'. Nothing was too much trouble and so very, very friendly. We will definately be visiting here again and I have already recommended this restaurant to my family, friends and work colleagues. If you enjoy good food, in a great location with wonderful staff.....then go to Timbers Restaurant!!!

Room Tip: I did not use the accomodation facilities here but if it is of the same standard as the restaurant i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimbersManager, Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the lovely compliment. It makes us very happy knowing our customers recognise the quality and standards we have put in place since new management took over and where existing staff have been re-trained as well as introducing new members to our team (our front-of-house duty manager, who you refer to, being of of them :-) Improvement is a continuous process with any business and quality is our goal for giving our customers a pleasant and memorable experience.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashby
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Being out in the country miles from anywhere you expect some quiet & a good nights sleep
Thankfully the restauarant & bar was deserted so you could hear a pin drop
Unfortunately the same couldn't be said of my room in the cottage.
It was liking living inside a drum - bang from the main door, bang from the other rooms & firedoors, gurgles from the plumbing, tap dancing upstairs, Dom Joly on his mobile next door, etc
All in all there was less noise back in the office
The c

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farfromthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimbersManager, Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We apologise that this guest's stay was restless and noisy. We do our best to make our guests comfortable and the cottage rooms are a very popular choice. It is rare we receive complaints about the cottage rooms. Most of our guests are very happy with their room.

We do have lovely chalet rooms all on one level, some of which are towards the woodland edged field which are a quieter option, one of those may have been a better choice in this case.

if guests inform reception that they are not satisfied with their room, they do their best to move guests to one more suitable. We are here to make your experience as relaxed and enjoyable as possible.

The restaurant and bar can be quiet outside of the main lunch time and evening service times and we are pleased that the guest found some peace and quiet during that time. Our lovely sofas by the log fire are very popular with our business travellers.

We do hope the guest gives us a second chance by staying with us in the future to experience the good food, friendliness and charm that Timbers has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fincham hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We occasionally visit relatives down here and this is the second time we stay at Timbers hotel and have dinner in the restaurant. Although at easter the restaurant was good, this time it was excellent. Staff attentive and polite, not intrusive, food was goodnd the atmosphear was very good. We will definately stay here and have dinner here again

Room Tip: For example room 5 has a small living room and a bedroom. Good if one wants to sleep and the other w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aros75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimbersManager, Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the lovely compliment, we are very happy to know when our customers enjoyed their stay and the good locally sourced food we have to offer.

I hope you and your friends stay with us again in the future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have been visiting Timbers for over a decade now and have seen many changes good and bad. In the past we have had the occasional poor meal and some staff have been less than interested.
Last nights visit was a shock as we have never experienced such great hospitality as this before. Everything was at it should be; attentive, polite and smiling staff and an excellent meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GUSFITGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimbersManager, Manager at Timbers Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, it is always very important to us to read our customers experiences.

Being a repeat customer for over a decade is very impressive! and we are so pleased you have
noticed the recent improvements with staff and service and our goal is to continue improving and progressing for the best we can give.

There are more pleasant surprises on the way!

We hope you continue visiting us for another decade and more, as I am sure, you are not just a valued customer, you are also a friend :-)

See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fincham
4.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
8.4 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
7.4 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#9 of 15 in King's Lynn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbers Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbers Country Lodge

Property: Timbers Country Lodge
Address: Lynn Road | Just off A1122, Fincham PE33 9HE, England (Formerly Timbers Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Fincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Timbers Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful Norfolk countryside, Timbers Country Lodge is a converted barn complex in the West Norfolk village of Fincham; close to Kings Lynn, Downham Market and Swaffham and central to many of Norfolks attractions (see our website for the list of popular tourist attractions) Timbers Country Lodge offers a bar and restaurant which serves quality food made from locally source ingredients. Timbers Country Lodge also offers home from home accommodation and is an all inclusive weddings and events venue, providing everything you need in one place for s stress free day, whether it be a one night stay on a business trip or large party for a wedding or special occasion; good food and a homely atmosphere awaits you. There is plenty of free parking, disabled facilities and function rooms packed with character. Enjoy the big sky's of Norfolk and have a taste of our hospitality, join us on our Friday steak night or our very popular Sunday Carvery (make sure you book early!) Timber's offers fantastic value for money. Timber's Country Lodge really is Norfolk's best kept secret. Arrive as a customer and return as a friend... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Timbers Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbers Hotel And Restaurant
Timbers Country Lodge Fincham, Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing