We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are not a big dog fan, maybe not the place for you”
Review of The Vines

The Vines
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Vines
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you are not a big dog fan, maybe not the place for you”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Nice B&B and in a great location. meaning it's easy to get to various places in Norfolk or Suffolk. We visited Go Ape in Thetford Forest, explored the local area- it's castle ruins and cute marekt towns, plus got to visit a number of coastal areas, all in a long weekend.
We had the room at the top of the house, which, although comfortable, felt pretty cold when we arrived, meaning we had to blast up the heating to warm up.
I also feel there should have been a proper wardrobe in the room, rather than the temporary looking, cheap material sided ones you get in Ikea. Inside of which was only one towlling robe, so the boyfriend went without ;-)
Plenty of fluffy towels in the bathroom, but could do with updating the magazines- a housekeeping magazine from 2009 was prominantly displayed!
The breakfast was great- really delicious and generous portions with all locally sourced produce, and the owners are really chatty and friendly.
The main comment I have on this B&B is that I know they say they are dog friendly, but this is rather an understatement. Everywhere you look there's dog pictures, magazines, ornaments, fluffy toys and even dog patterned curtains in the breakfast room! I'm not anti-dogs at all but just found it all a bit OTT. Having said that, there are no dogs wandering around the house, that we could see, and there was no dog smell at all.
Would recommend this B&B for enthusiastic dog lovers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelannaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
36
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N/A
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Great breakfast lovely rooms, excellent and welcoming hosts, and soo peaceful. We will definately be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roguereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed at The Vines for two nights while visiting relatives.
The owners were very pleasant and helpful and have given a great deal of thought
to the needs of their guests. Thank you both!

The accomodation is set in a lovely 15th century cottage that is
full of character. A welcome change from the usual sterile hotel fayre.
Our room was very spacious as was the separate bathroom.

The breakfast was substantial, offering a range of toast, jams, cereals;
followed by a delicious cooked breakfast using ingredients of the finest
quality. The Norfolk sausage and bacon were particularly tasty!

We will certainly stay at The Vines on our next visit to Norfolk.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We needed a late booking - and we got booked into "The Vines". From the arrival to departure we were made so welcome that an Arne phraze came to mind "I/We Will be Back" - The 15th century house is a treasure as are Leigh and Kevin. The accommodation Brill, Breakfast Brill and the pub down the road (8 minute walk) an added attraction. Do not miss this home from home bed and breakfast - you will not be disappointed - John Louvain Sharon & Steve

Room Tip: Make sure to request shower or bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandLouvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Leigh and Kevin were the perfect hosts in this very well kept and extremely pretty B&B. They catered for every single need of our 2 night stay, above and beyond what was necessary. I couldn't recommend them highly enough and we would definitely stay again. On a personal note, Thank you for your extreme kindness you showed to me, it meant so much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon_Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

It was spotless which is what i loved about the rooms.
I had the most peaceful sleep there.
and the breakfast was amazing.
Kevin was a good host.
Well definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessagomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We were looking for a dog friendly b&b that didn't charge extortionate rates and we were so glad we found The Vines. The house is full of character and our room was immaculate. Breakfast was delicious and Leigh, the owner, uses local produce wherever possible. The local pub also a varied selection of lovely food. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelWall81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Cressingham
3.2 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Olde Windmill Inn
The Olde Windmill Inn
#1 of 2 in Great Cressingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Willow House
The Willow House
#1 of 3 in Watton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Phoenix House
Phoenix House
#1 of 1 in Little Cressingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.8 mi away
Acer Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vines

Property: The Vines
Address: The Vines The Street, Great Cressingham IP25 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Cressingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Cressingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vines 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Vines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing