We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olde Windmill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good in parts”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I visited the windmill on a Monday, and was greeted by a friendly staff member who conducted me to a beautifully appointed room which I could not fault.
However, my evening meal was at best average, the dessert crumble having suffered from the effects of the microwave, but the major problem was having to fight of the flies during the meal which according to a regular guest, appeared to be a recurrent problem. One local guy spayed his area of the bar at regular intervals.

Room Tip: Take your own fly repellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    85
    13
    14
    12
See reviews for
59
127
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just had a meal in the Windmill. Suggest you check if the flies are out before you go in. Our experience was ruined because of all the flies and that was in the bar area around 5hr30 this evening. When I brought this to the attention of the bar staff all they could say was "yes we know about them. We have sprayed the eating areas" and that was it. The food was not great either. so beware, especially if you are taking guests or family for an eating experience. With the prices they charge he customer should get a better deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadoxhurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Only stayed one night but was impressed by the large and very clean room. The towelling was probably the whitest we have experienced during stays in many a hotel - an extra mark for that. There was comfortable seating and a good sized TV. The tea / coffee facilities in the room were supplemented by good quality bottles of still and sparkling water and biscuits. Both my wife and I are not good sleepers and although the bed was comfortable, the pillows didn't suit us. (we are fussy and usually take our own but forgot on this occasion). The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The price was very good and we would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 298David_M298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I and our dog, stayed there last weekend. We had a wonderful and very enjoyable stay. Our double aspect en-suite room (no 10) was well furnished and had a huge bath and plenty of room for our large dog. The pub was a real charmer with Perino on tap! :-) and the food was beautifully cooked and served very efficiently considering it was busy both Fri and Sat nights.We shall definately be returning, the only downer was that the room did smell a bit when we first arrived (urine), but after we had opened the windows, it disappeared after an hour or so. Hence the 4 stars instead of 5, but it's not really an issue, just a bit overpowering on arrival!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark49London_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay for a weekend to visit the Houghton Revisited Exhibition and Kings Lynn so I googled the hotels/inns in the area and after reading the reviews booked a nights stay at The Olde Windmill Inn and were not disappointed! We arrived at about 7.00 pm on the Saturday night and checked in and despite them being very busy the young lady showed us to our room which was in the new extension at the rear of the building but all the walkways were under cover. My husband commented that it was one of the best laid out rooms we had stayed in as it had two chairs where several places only have one, there were two lots of toiletries and a well plenished tea/coffee tray including hot chocolate and biscuits! We hadn't booked a table, which I recommend you do as they get very busy, but the young lady said she would go and put reserved on a table for us straight away. We freshened up and then went across for something to eat. The building is a lovely olde worlde building, full of character with lots of small dining areas and filled with lots of olde worlde items too. The menu was very extensive with my husband choosing the Terry's Lemon and Black Pepper Chicken Fillet and I choose the Lamb Steak, both were delicious! We had a treacle sponge pudding and vanilla cheesecake for dessert which were equally as tasty! The waiting staff were all very friendly and helpful. We retired to our room and after a very comfortable night rose to a very delicious and filling breakfast again served by some very friendly and helpful waitresses in very clean and comfortable surroundings. The Inn also has a field that can accommodate a few caravans aswell as a large playarea near the outside eating space.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited the Olde Windmill at Great Cressingham on Friday 19th. We had been recommended to eat here and were very disappointed. The service was well below par, the bar staff were not at all helpful - contrary to their advert, they were most INDIFFERENT! The waitress was most off hand, having plonked our meal on the table, when asked for another round of drinks replied "you have to go to the bar for that". We have never experienced such poor service in what we were lead to believe, by our friends, and the pub reviews, to be an excellent venue.
The food was only average, just warm but not hot.
We would NOT return there, and would certainly not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Not applicable, would not consider staying here. There are far better in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Having booked four weeks in advance for a special 70th birthday celebration (a Sunday roast), I could not have been more dissapointed. Firstly, I requested on two occasions that myself and my 14 guests sat on ONE LONG TABLE. I was assured that this was confirmed, and that we would be sat on the long table in the 'garden conservatory room'. Upon arrival, however, we were confronted with the room laid out with small tables to each seat four people, resulting in us all being split up. Although very dissapointed, I did not complain at this point, as we still had high hopes for the food. The worst was yet to come. All but one of the guests (a vegetarian) had the two course Sunday roast. The plates were cold, the vegetables were more than undercooked, parsnips were barely recognisable, the meat (we believe) was not carved and was stacked up (as if brought out in a stack and re heated), I could go on.......Basically, the whole meal seemed as if it came out of the freezer. And the two sweets offered with this package meal, 'homemade' my foot!! The coffee had to be requested twice at the bar, before it eventually arrived, together with a pot of tea we never ordered. There appeared to be no particular person to whom we could complain to. The waiting staff needed far more guidance as to what they should be doing, and how to offer proper customer service. After our terrible experience, I sought out someone to complain to, only to be told " I will tell the chef". I then was forced to reluctantly pay the bill in FULL. I feel I should have been offered a reduced bill of some sort, or at least something!! I have been in the food and hospitality trade for over 25 years, so I feel that I am well placed to make this review. A dissaterous, and most dissapointing afternoon. A lovely establishment, that could be great, but currently being run very unprofessionally. I can not comment on the hotel side, just from the point of view of having an afternoon meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rubynelson43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Cressingham
4.8 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
4.8 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
470 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
11.6 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
435 reviews
3.5 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Windmill Inn

Property: The Olde Windmill Inn
Address: The Windmill Water End, Great Cressingham IP25 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Cressingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Cressingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Windmill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Olde Windmill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Windmill Hotel Great Cressingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing