We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed and more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Ram Coaching Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressed and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

After seeing reviews about here good and bad but i was curious and stayed for a weekend to find out myself.we relaxed and didnt expect but it got better and better.staff were friendly and willing to learn from the new chef who apparantly will turn this place around after marstons..1st night we chilled in the bar and snacked on chefs pork scratchings and got hungry so we worked on getting a table,this all why still thinking of other reviews and wondering myself.after a bottle of wine those thoughts left and we had a great meal in the middle of a mass of people all wanting food at the same time..must say it gets busy when its busy then goes back to quite tranquil country pub..all in all dealt with very well and food was as good as we pay for in london at double price.have family coming over soon from abroad and im having them stay here so can eat here again.try before you believe other opinions...

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eve82efc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    87
    36
    32
    45
See reviews for
76
121
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

As I have to stay away for business quite a lot I must say how happy I was when head office found me this fantastic relaxed place to stay. My usual hotel Dunsten Hall was full. I was concerned, but had nothing to worry about I was made to feel welcome and found the personal touch from this independent hotel a refreshing change from the mainstream corporate places I usually stay. The room was fantastic and a great restaurant to offer aswell, this will certainly now be my first choice of location to stay in the future.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Horsfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and myself recently stayed at the Old Ram Coaching Inn, we were greeted by the friendly staff and was made to feel at home straight away. We stayed in the family room and what a fantastic room it was, immaculately clean with a lounge area and a massive bathroom. The highlight was the bedroom that was on a separate floor, with a pitched roof and original beams and features and lovely fresh white linen. We had a superb stay and will definitely be paying another visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned from weekend break at the Old Ram. Having been regulars for more years than l care to mention and having had so many good and bad experiences there since the dreaded MARSTONS TOOK ROOT, finally the beautiful Ram is back to how we remember it. The new Management team are exceptional l have never seen a couple so determined to make a business work and they have succeeded in a very short time. Food was great, rooms as always superb, service excellent and the restaurant was buzzing again with customers (happy ones). Thanks to all the staff and chefs. Keep up the good work. Happy Birthday Steve. (I think the 65th Birthday Party review must have been at a different venue, ignore that one. Trust the other reviews!!!. only my opinion)

Room Tip: rooms 6 onwards are more modern but very well laid out whereas rooms 2 to 5 are in the original part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roger l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Came for a break with my fiancé and baby and saw the pub driving down. Looked lovely so decided to stop and eat. The food was great, fresh and the price was reasonable for the quality we got. I don't understand how people can complain about the cost, try eating in London food is generic for twice as much. We had a lovely afternoon and the service topped the whole thing off. I would definitely come back and would recommend to anyone to see for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londonlove10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I booked the Ram for my husbands 65th Birthday Meal with family, Staff are friendly. The food was not not good at all, we had send meals back as they was not cooked or was over cooked, potatoes was cold. I live local to the Old Ram and will never return after this experiences as it spoilt my husbands suprise birthday meal. Not impressed at all with the food. Wished we did not give the new owners a chance and have gone some where else.

The manager was nice and the young waitress with good, thats all I can say about our night out at the Old Ram.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tivetshall St. Mary hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We lunched with friends after a walk around Tivetshall. My burger meal was well presented and enjoyable but a little pricey for the grade of burger. My wife had a fish pie. A not very generous portion of greens, in fact her whole meal was rather small in portion size. On the whole we enjoyed our lunch and the food experience is certainly much improved under the new management. We found the dessert menu unappealing as there were no hot pudding options e.g. spotted dick, sticky toffee pudding or a crumble.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tivetshall St. Mary
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
4.5 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
10.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Breckland Lodge
Breckland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Attleborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
4.3 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ram Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ram Coaching Inn

Property: The Old Ram Coaching Inn
Address: Ipswich Road, Tivetshall St. Mary NR15 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Tivetshall St. Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tivetshall St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Ram Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Ram Coaching Inn is a listed inn dating back to the 17th Century - documents reveal that it has been a coaching inn for most of its life. Our hotel accommodation consists of 11 guest rooms, all of which have private bathrooms, and there are some suites and a four poster bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Ram Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ram Coaching Hotel Tivetshall St. Mary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing