We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly god day out”

RAF Air Defence Radar Museum
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Horning
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Air defence radar operations began at RAF Neatishead in 1942 and continued until 2004 when RAF Neatishead ceased operations and became Remote Radar Head (RRH) Neatishead. RRH Neatishead supplies engineering support to the radar at Trimingham. When operations at RAF Neatishead moved into the underground bunker in 1995, the Operations Room was left intact and it eventually became the centre piece of the ADRM. The museum has expanded considerably since its inception and the most common observation of the visitors is that they wished they had scheduled more time for their visit. There is so much to see, including presentations on the part radar played in the Battle of Britain, night fighter operations, the history of radar, Space Defence and the Coltishall rooms. Now visitors can see the once Secret Cold War Operations Room and have its secrets explained in detail. Visitors are encouraged to participate in the guided tours during which the Volunteer Guides tell the story and add a personal touch to the experience.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprisingly god day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Now y kids are a little older 12 and 14 we thought a groupon offer of £9 instead if £20 was worth having.
It was far better than we expected, not too far out of Norwich plenty of easy parking and really friendly staff
The set trip around was excellent and then we spent another hour browsing before having tea at the shop.
We all found it interesting ( though it was very cold ) and would defiantly recommend.
Tea shop was very well priced too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cloudinthesky1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radar_Curator, Manager at RAF Air Defence Radar Museum, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Cloudinthesky, I’m glad you enjoyed your visit to the Museum. I’m sorry you found it a bit chilly – we are trying to improve the heating. The irony is that, when it was operational, the problem was keeping many of the rooms cool with all the electronic Radar equipment fitted! We are aiming to try to keep the heating at a comfortable level (about 18 deg C), even keeping some warmth in the three vast WW II/Cold War concrete bunker rooms, each of which are bigger than a lot of houses! However, it will never be to the level you are used to in your lounge at home – for both practical and cost reasons. But, Spring is here (almost!!) so things will improve dramatically for Visitors and Volunteers alike! Anyway, apart from that, I’m really glad you enjoyed your visit! Rgds, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    43
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Albans, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
189 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“How they kept Britain safe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent if humble museum. No flash facilities but but everything available - parking, loos,cafe. Staffed by delightful volunteers, many of whom had experience of the radar when working. Lots to see and do including sitting in the cockpit of the Jaguar fighter jet!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mezan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A must to see when on the Broads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

One of the most informative places we have ever been
A wonderful place to spend 2- 3 or even 4 hours as in our case especially on a very cold April day.
Amazing place and the volunteers are so dedicated and informed
There is so much to see and look at and its a really tactile place.

Explaining in lay mans terms the way the defense of the country evolved through the wars and what it has become today the story of the radar is told by people who really are dedicated to the history of the site.
It is a must for anyone going to the broads
There is every thing there a small shop and a great cafe staffed with really nice people whose food is great and they make you so welcome.
We will go back again if only to listen to the stories.
.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scowp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radar_Curator, Manager at RAF Air Defence Radar Museum, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Scowp, I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your day with us recently. I am particularly pleased that you have singled out the Volunteers who make this place what it really is. Nothing to do with the Manager – the Volunteers are the key!!!! We certainly enjoy telling people about this unknown bit of History, one that shaped modern Britain. And, of course, that History is still being made at home and abroad today by the RAF Air Defence organisation. Do visit us again when you are next in the area. Kind regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Neat in more than a name.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Neatishead was my last posting in the RAF. I left in 1977 and I just love going back now and seeing the operations room, it is such a good exhibit as it looks just like the last time I walked out of there. I now run a website for others that were in the same trade as me and when ever we have a re-union in Norwich we always go and have a visit back at the old site. The staff there are doing a wonderful job keeping it all alive for those of us that worked there and the visitors that come to see what we got up to whilst they were tucked up in their beds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NWoodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, Norfolk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This was a surprising look back to the recent past.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

At first it seemed it could be an ordinary wartime collection of bits but with the help of the guides, you are easily transported back to the intricacies of the Radar's contribution to the defence of England. The last of three sections, the cold war room, was a revelation even to us in our 70's. We did have the benefit of being shewn around this latter piece by the man who ran it and we came away feeling much better about the defence spending in that period!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank voiciclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RAF Air Defence Radar Museum also viewed

 

Been to RAF Air Defence Radar Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing