We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Horning B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very welcoming and helpful staff. Good selection of quality food and fair selection of cask ales. Bed was on the hard side though. Quaint, ancient building which meant drafty dining room which for us was fine as long as you ate the full english which was top notch and need time to enjoy it If you didn't sit in the window, I'm sure you could eat it leisurely!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith_Wilson919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Swan Inn, Horning , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 153 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

just had Sunday roast platter which was excellent.Our waitress was Zoe who was so nice nothing to much trouble.What a lovely place to eat so relaxing and the food was first class.This will go on our list of one of the best places to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosaStalham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Lovey pub, bit of a tourist trap, but then so are most places!

Had a meal, very nice but bit expensive. We moored here in our holiday boat in 2011, mooring space is VERY limited and you will be very lucky to get a place. You have to pay a fee for mooring - around a fiver i think.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bLaZeR666_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Swan Inn, Horning, Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here to break up a journey collecting a specialist car from Norwich (several hundred miles from where I live). I chose a hotel away from the town (a good 20 minutes+ to be honest) to make sure the car was working well and so I would be able to go past the garage the next day on the way back to the motorway if anything was wrong. Anyway, back to the review!

The hotel itself is a stunning location at the edge of the broads; boats, boats and more boats can be seen from the room and there is a mooring in the beer garden!

The room was a little dated but for the money I wouldn't complain. The windows definitely needed replacing though, and the bathroom one was quite rotten meaning I was glad when the heating came on - it was September and the weather was just on the turn. Everything was pretty clean though, no worries there.

I would have probably had a good nights sleep if it were not for having been woken up at 5am by 'BYE WAYNE...' SLAM!! I was on the top floor where the hotel rooms are outnumbered by the staff rooms. I suspect in years gone by the whole top floor was 'staff only' but they've tried to squeeze an extra 2 rooms in. This was a bit of a shame.

Also a relic of days gone by was the hotel breakfast room. Often with these Innkeepers Lodges the breakfast is quite sensibly served in the 'closed' pub; not here. It clearly hadn't been touched since 1976 and was faintly quaint, very plastic oak beams pub style. The breakfast was good though, as always, although if you're wheat intolerant you may as well have a cup of tea in your room, make your excuses, and leave...

The free wifi didn't work well the whole time I was there. Again I suspect naughtiness going on in the staff rooms re: bit torrent etc... It barely worked, which was a shame as there is no 3G and I wanted to catch up with some work after a nice walk.

Overall, 6/10 with lots of room for improvement, which is no bad thing.

Room Tip: Choose a room as far away from the staff quarters as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruffianrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

As a couple we booked 3 nights away in Jan 14. I have to say that the staff went out of their way to be friendly. We had a room with a view over the broads which was lovely although it looks like most rooms here have that. The food was really nice good pub food at a price we would expect. Drinks werent cheap and nearly £10 for large glass of wine and pint of Aspells cider. On Wednesdays they have pie night and I had a suet pie that was to die for and a blast from the past. Overall really nice stay and I will be recommending to my parents which says something. We had the buffet breakfast which was more than enough for us.

Room Tip: Try to get room with view over river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gino079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Returned to the Swan to stay a few nights, after eating a lovely dinner there almost exactly one year ago to the day. The disappointment was huge! Last year's seperate gluten-free menu almost had my husband in tears of gratitude. This year the GF menu hadn't arrived yet(?) but in any case the food was low standard normal pub grub at an inflated price.
Having said that the room was clean, spacious and warm and everything worked properly -that we tried anyway. The staff were also extremely friendly and helpful. The only gripe with the room itself was a rather awkward, springloaded bathroom door.

Room Tip: River facing - lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catfish_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised once we entered the pub/hotel. The exterior of the hotel, road side, looks a bit shabby and could perhaps put some people off. However the riverside view of the hotel and the inside were excellent. There was one lady serving behind the bar when we were there who looked slightly stressed out but she was pleasant to us, although I thought she was a bit sharp with some elderly people who had asked if it was ok to sit at any table (one of the people had a walking stick) the bar lady said that they would have to wait as she was serving. It would have been just as quick to point at one of the many vacant tables. The bar was nicely set out and decorated, the staff serving in the evening were nice. The room we had in the hotel was clean, spacious and had a great view of the river. The breakfast was minimal but enough for us and the staff at breakfast were friendly. Would we go there again, yes. Would we recommend it, yes we would and have especially as it is good value for money as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janices13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Swan Inn, Horning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horning
2.3 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
365 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
224 reviews
8.5 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
944 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn

Address: 10 Lower Street, Horning, Norwich NR12 8AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Horning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horning
Price Range: $89 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Bure, in the "prettiest village on the Norfolk Broads," Innkeeper's Lodge Horning is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful part of the country. It also provides convenient budget accommodation near Wroxham or Norwich. The Swan Inn began life as a cottage in 1696, although the main part of the building was constructed in the early 19th century. Its rustic black and white timbered structure is home to eight comfy, modern rooms and one of the cosiest pubs in Horning. So it couldn't be easier to sit back and enjoy heart-warming, seasonally inspired food and a glass of what you fancy. It's well worth taking a tour of the Broads by boat or by steam locomotive on the Bure Valley Railway. Or if you're feeling more active you could try the award-winning BeWILDerwood Treehouse Adventure Park, or charge up to the medieval motte and bailey fortress of Norwich Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn Horning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing