We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent base to explore the Boards”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Swan Cottage

Swan Cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swan Cottage exterior
Swan Cottage garden Swan Cottage in the snow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Swan Cottage exterior
Swan Cottage garden
Swan Cottage in the snow
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Horning Village
The River Bure at Horning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DavenSueS...
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent base to explore the Boards”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Swan Cottage for three nights in late September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage is situated between two pleasant riverside pubs and perfectly located to enjoy all the facilities that Horning has to offer. The house was very clean, comfortable and well equipped and coped with six adults easily, none of ever felt cramped. The kitchen has everything you need if you fancied baking a cake or cooking a roast dinner, there was plenty of cutlery and crockery. There is BT Wifi in the cottage that provides broadband throughout the house and worked admirably throughout our stay.

There are three double rooms (one has the benefit of an en-suite) and one twin room, one of the double rooms has only very limited storage space. Outside there is a small courtyard garden which gets the morning sun, although a pleasant place to sit we felt more could have been made of the space. There is only parking for two cars, but there is street parking nearby and the village hall also has free parking if groups have more than two cars.

For a short break or a longer stay of a week or more Swan Cottage provides a home from home and an excellent base to explore the Boards and the North Norfolk Coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhotman12...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Beautiful place, had a lovely stay and we would most definatley reccomend to anyone! Also such a lovely area to be in

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review Swan Cottage. We really appreciate your booking and your comments.
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Comfortable cottage in good location.. Parking space tight. Ensuite tiny.
We where in the area for a family wedding. We would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor.
Regards
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D
Cornwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A delightful, light and spacious cottage in a beautiful quaint Village.
4 adults and 3 children and never felt on top of each other. The rooms are light and airy and the kitchen is superbly stocked with every utensil/appliance you could ever want and more.
Horning is a perfect place to stay and explore the broads. There are places to eat within walking distance, booking advised in peak times. Holt is a lovely little town and Bewilderwood is absolutely amazing for the children.
Highly recommend Swan Cottage and we will definitely be returning.
Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thank you so much!
It's lovely to see your comments about Swan Cottage, and we really appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
We're delighted that you enjoyed Horning and Swan Cottage, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Thanks again and best wishes
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMS161
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Swan was just like its name, graceful, well appointed and lovely to rest and relax in with family. It had everything we needed and was superbly located in the heart of horning.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-T-S...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage always clean on arrival”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our 4th visit to Swan Cottage in the last 6 years. It is always clean and tidy and crammed with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. The beds are comfortable and its a real home from home with good size rooms set in a great location- you are spoilt for choice for pubs and restaurants in the village and there's a plethora of Norfolk attractions only a short drive away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
Thank you for coming back to Swan Cottage again, it's always lovely for us when we have repeat visitors.
We really appreciate your business, and also that you've taken the time to write us a review.
Thanks again, best wishes and we hope to see you again next year.
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cottage In the centre of the village”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for 5 nights over Easter with my family, I just love the cottage and have been back a few times. It is very spacious, homely, all the amenities of home, very comfortable and clean. It is in the middle of the village so shops, restaurants, pubs are no distance then there are The Broads right on your doorstep! It was very relaxing and we all came back refreshed. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage and how central it was to everything.
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike about the place!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay at Swan Cottage for your recent break, and also for taking the time to review your visit.
We really appreciate your feedback, and are delighted that you had a great time. we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.
Best wishes
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing