We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Owner very welcoming”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Balcony View
Fishing from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pjbrown16...
1 review
“Owner very welcoming”
Reviewed September 24, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Perfect for a relaxing break fishing and touring around the Norfolk Broads. Good choise of pubs and restaurants

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2018
Thank you Peter for taking the time to write the review, I’m so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Mallard View last week, Happy to welcome you back anytime. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bartown22
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely cottage in a lovely location, best equipped accommodation I've ever stayed in, lovely and clean, owner extremely pleasant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel I
Kentallen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“amazing cottage”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Would definitely stay there again, only two of us but plenty of room for two couples. 2 bedrooms, two bathrooms, two living room areas, kitchen well equipped , four televisions and the worlds smallest ironing board ! Could happily live here. Thank you Carol for letting us stay in your lovely house. If you stay here, make sure you visit The Ferry Inn, lovely pub where you can sit and watch the swans and ducks and boats pass by, we found this by chance because its not in the main part of Horning, we had not a clue of its existance on our first visit two years ago to Horning. There are a couple of gift shops in Horning, but Wroxham is the place to go for a serious shop in Roys.Theres a great food supermarket at Roys next to the Mcdonalds, plus upstairs in his department store there is discounted clothes for makes like Joules and Weird Fish.Tip , although its single beds in the downstairs bedroom, it is actually much cooler than the upstairs, so thats the bedroom to bag !

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
140fionac
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location for a relaxing break ”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked this house well in advance for its location, views of the river, and it suited our needs as a family. We have visited Horning in the past, so knew the area, pubs, cafes and as we was traveling with my partners parents one whom requires wheel chair access it suited our needs.
The house is located within easy reach of the main village, which has several pubs, we preferred the Swan inn, lots of lovely tea shops and we hired a day boat from outside the house. (Norfolk boat hire)
The house has lovely views, you can sit on the decking and watch the passing boats. We saw lots of swans, geese, ducks.
There are a few points with the house that we felt could be addressed.
It could do with a deep clean, just around the edges, it was nothing that would put us off.
In the bedrooms there is a good size mirror, but with no plug socket near by, which made doing my hair rather tricky, there is also no 2 pin shaving points in either bathroom so we could not charge our tooth brushes, and didn't think to pack an adaptor either.
Be warned the upstairs bathroom has slopping roof, which is your a taller gentleman can make using the toilet rather tricky.
We had a lovely week at the house, and the area. If your looking for a good food there is a fantastic pub at Neatishead (the white Swan? ) food was very good, but you do need to book.
Thank you carol for the lovely stay, we all had a fantastic break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K
1 review
“The most relaxing holiday”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely cottage in a great location. Nothing more relaxing than sitting in the sunshine on the decking, on the sun loungers provided, and watching the boats go past while enjoying the company of the very friendly wildlife. A short walk into the very pretty village of Horning with lots of places for a meal or just a drink. The cottage was very comfy and everything you need is supplied and if not speak to Carol who is just lovely. Would thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m0cmh
london uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“needs a good clean”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

only recommend if I knew it was given a very deep clean and a spouse up
location is good. I am a fisherman and caught fish every day.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: cleanness
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honestmum...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot, lovely clean cottage, perfect for kids”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed over May half-term and thoroughly enjoyed our week. The cottage was lovely and it was very pleasant eating our breakfast on the balcony each morning. There was always something of interest to look at and my son especially liked feeding the ducks/swans etc and watching the boats go by. The local area is great too with some lovely child & dog friendly pubs. We took a radio controlled boat for our son to play with which went down a treat and the locals didn't mind it being in the water with the big boats! Had a nice trip on the Southern Comfort boat trip and we recommend the seeing the owls at Happisburgh - unique experience. Would love to go back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being right next to the water
Liked least: The mattress was uncomfortable
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing