We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Natures Little Secret”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Balcony View
Fishing from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Natures Little Secret”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Mallard View was the perfect place for a relaxing holiday with our little dog Pip. The property is really quite lovely and provided everything we needed. Ducks swans and sail boats gave us an ever changing view. In the evening we walked the short distance into Horning, where we had a choice of 3 good restaurants, The Swan, The Staithe N Willow and my favourite The Bure River Restaurant. By day we found plenty to do. Sailing obviously, nature watching (Red Kites, Cuckoos and Marsh Harriers) amongst many others birds, trips to the seaside, Sea Palling is the nearest approx. 8 miles and has a lovely beach. Seal watching at Horsey Beach, were just a few of the things we did. All in all a very good holiday.....we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsbells...
Kellington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mallard View- Stunning!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were amazed as soon as we arrived. The cottage is beautiful inside and out. We felt at home straight away. All the rooms were cosy and well heated. The cottage was set out brilliantly and had great views what ever the weather. It is a good base to see Norfolk by foot, car or boat. Carol the owner is a lovely lady, so very helpful! We hired a day boat from Carol which was the cheapest in the area. An absolutely smashing week was had by all, would go back tomorrow!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole holiday
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip L
Sutton in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb cottage”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A well appointed cottage with more than average amenities for an enjoyable stay..very comfortable and warm .....excellent views all around cottage and fishing available from garden on three sides.
When we were there the silver fish were present all day and lots of Jack Pike about...in the last hours of daylight the big perch came on and made great sport until dark.
The owners are very friendly and helpful sorting any queries we had within minutes...we will definitely be booking again back end of year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent customer service from owners
Liked least: Although a non smoking property there were no ash trays for outside use especially around the balcony area
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 13, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: eveything
Liked least: going home !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was to the exact specification advised in the description.
Liked least: I cannot justify making a negative comment
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
grannygig...
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

A wonderful holiday property.-Everything you need for your stay.
It ticks all the boxes - thoughtful layout, incorporating an upstairs lounge with balcony and views leading from double bedroom/ en-suite. Downstairs has a large fitted kitchen and dining area leading to a sofa and t.v corner., plus a second bedroom /en suite double shower.
The beds are extremely comfortable, a luxury topping on a well supported coil base gave my husband and I an excellent night's sleep. I am particularly fussy about beds after spending much of my working life as a bed specialist in a well trusted department store.
Outside the property is a mooring for a boat, small garden to fish from and a safe easy parking area with plenty of room for all.
Everything is spotlessly clean and the owners Carol and Nigel are around to help in any way they can.
Horning is good as a base with much to do in the area; boating, fishing, coastal walks and country houses. Blickling is a must. The nearby radar museum is a hidden treasure and is not just for the boys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property and location
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kebab3112
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Will be back”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

A fantastic property had everything we could have needed. We travelled with our 10 week old baby. The ower was lovely and the property exceeded our expectations. We have not been fishing since we were children but fished every single day off of the properties garden (and always caught something.) because you can fish off of the garden no need to pack everything up every night just leave your gear on the decking. Kitchen had everything that we needed. Bedrooms both had en-suite bathrooms which was great as granparents can to stay for a couple of nights. great views over the river to watch the boats go by from the decking / balcony. Can't wait to return. If you can stay here do. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Double bed - not the most comfortable.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing