We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be back”
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Swan Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 9 Restaurants in Horning
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Swan Inn in Horning is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and his dad had called in for a drink last week, they then decided we would go for a meal this week... Never again! We were quickly seated, however then had to wait at least ten minutes for the menus then being informed what was unavailable, which was fine. The pub was not very busy, so we were surprised when after the bread and olives to start it then took 45 mins to get our mains. My husband and father-in-law both had the lamb burgers, which were well over cooked,dry & tough whilst the crispy chips should be renamed soft and soggy. When we informed the waiter of this, he appeared disinterested. The mushrooms with my steak were also cold. The pub tries to present "trendy" food, but I felt this wasn't the case. Overall unimpressed with the food and service, and won't be returning

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shaz245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Swan Inn, Horning was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

884 - 888 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Would recommend the swan inn to any one visiting Horning it has fantastic food excellent views of the Norfolk broads and very Friendly service well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Swan Inn, Horning and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Despite poor reviews we dined at The Swan due the free mooring right outside and were pleasantly surprised with both the level of service and the quality of the food. Waitress Lisa was very friendly but also efficient and professional. Superb location and building but toilets definitely well overdue a refurb. Main courses were very good and the mini desert options well received. Recommended!

Thank Bababiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Swan Inn, Horning. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was a bit worried about revisiting the Swan after several poor reviews on here, mostly regarding service issues, especially as I was tight for time with a prior engagement at 8pm. After arriving at the bar (we hadn't booked at 6pm on a Friday in October) we were swiftly shown to a table and drinks orders taken. Food orders were taken as the drinks arrived. Service was delivered with a smile throughout and was efficient without being overly intrusive. My meal was cooked well and served in an appetising manner. I think the slight reduction in the menu items for the winter menu has helped the kitchen staff as our meals were ready in 20-25 minutes, less than on previous visits and also quicker than I was expecting given other reviews on here. The pub appeared to be well staffed with a waiter/waitress in each room thus allowing orders to be taken more quickly, again this has not always been the case in the past. My sister opted to have the gourmet chips and these looked worth the money being very thick and tasty, unlike my previous visit when they looked like shop-bought oven chips you could have anytime at home.

In conclusion, this visit to the Swan was at least on a par with previous visits and better in some respects. The food was tasty and served on time and the service was very good. Hopefully days/evenings like these are now outnumbering those where things go wrong as it is in a super location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Toby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Swan Inn, Horning, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been going to the Swan on and off for thirty years. Sunday lunch used to be splendid in the upstairs restaurant with a superb view of one of the busiest parts of the Norfolk Broads. This latest visit was to spend a voucher I had been given after a truly dreadful experience four years or so ago. Sadly, the upstairs bit is now used only for groups and breakfast, so everything happens in a cavernous, but attractive, downstairs area with a much less impressive view.
There's also a large outside sitting area for when the weather is nice.
As it was Sunday, we opted for the roast. Mum had what was supposed to be a children's portion, which was huge. At £8.50 or so for that and £11.50 for an even bigger platter of assorted roast meats and veg, certainly the price was very acceptable. But it was cold. No problem with it being changed at all, apologies were offered and a totally new dish of each arrived promptly and without fuss.
Our server was excellent, Jimmy by name, someone who clearly enjoyed people and his job. Gold star to him.
But the bottom line is that the food was average, a couple of large glasses of wine and one pint of Adnams added another £16.50 to the bill, so the food really is a loss leader.
I am sure Vintage Inns will take the view that the hordes who flock there want it as it is, so who am I to yearn for the days of crisp linen napery and silver service?
Ladies loos were OK, the gents was dire.

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Your review is very helpful to us, and we will take note of the points you have made following your visit to The Swan Inn .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing