We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but in a good location and a variety of dishes on offer!”
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Swan Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 8 Restaurants in Horning
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Swan Inn in Horning is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive but in a good location and a variety of dishes on offer!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We liked the location, being right on the waters edge, with outside seating and the convenience of being able to moor there and pop in for a drink and a meal. Nothing to dislike.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmenome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Swan Inn .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    242
    178
    128
    123
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent well worth a visit”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited the swan inn during a week on the norfolk broads and must say that the swan inn was absolutely excellent, we visited on a Sunday afternoon/early evening and decided to have Sunday lunch there, we opted for there Sunday roast one of us had chicken and one had beef and must say that it was excellent, portion size was very good as was the service and the staff we very friendly.

Very nice place to visit, nice restaurant inside to eat in or sit by the side of the river and either eat outside or just enjoy a drink and watch the boats go by.

We will make a point of visiting again when we are in the area again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjd9233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Swan Inn, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Outside breakfast”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We visited The Swan Inn for breakfast and sat outside on the terrace about 10.00am should have guessed what to expect before we sat down as tables had not been cleaned from the night before as bits and pieces left on the table thought they may have come and wiped but no, felt like you wasn't wanted, ordered scrambled egg on toast. firstly nothing on menu to what type of bread you would get no butter offered or on the bread at all egg came up dry as a old bone tea was OK.
I feel some Broads pubs are quite arrogant due to the promise of passing customers so if you don't like it I don't care we will get another dumb lot along in a minute.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing visit to our Innkeepers Lodge, The Swan Inn and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Won't be eating here again !”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

After a good lunch here on a previous occasion we decided to have a family meal here in the evening. Despite being seated quickly, we waited excessive time for menus to appear. We were 5 adults plus a child. A number of items were unavailable on the menu. When we eventually ordered and the food finally arrived, the child's meal was immediately sent back. We ordered fusilli in tomato sauce and were presented with spinach stuffed ravioli which had been left under the grill so long it was that crunchy you couldn't even get a knife into it. The game pie was tough and inedible, 2 of the party ordered crispy potatoes instead of mash - but I can assure you there was nothing crispy or tasty about any of them and the 'garden' peas were overcooked discoloured bullets. By the time the replacement child's meal appeared we had given up on our meals - and the child had fallen asleep in the chair !!!! I will say that the 2 puddings we did risk, were excellent but there are serious issues in the kitchen that need sorting - but not at the expense of my £130 bill !!! We did get the cost of the child's meal knocked off but was little compensation for one of the poorest meals I've ever had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are sorry that your recent visit to The Swan Inn was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback which will help us to improve our service, and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pub food a cut above the rest”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had lunch here with some friends on the last day of their Broads cruising holiday. They had been eating out at various eateries over the past week and all agreed that this was by far the best meal they'd had during their trip. Having left us to decide where to eat, we were relieved and delighted that our choice was a good one. Quality of food was excellent, interesting and varied menu, reasonable prices and service attentive and friendly. What more can one ask? We've now found a new first choice venue for entertaining friends and family visiting us in Norfolk. Well done and we'll be back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Swan Inn. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing