We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River hot spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Swan Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 8 Restaurants in Horning
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Swan Inn in Horning is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Southampton
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“River hot spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Although part of the giant M&B brewing chain, this inn has an individuality. On the river, with someone to help you tie up your boat if needed, riverside dining area. charming inside ,with friendly helpful staff, whether you dine or just stop for coffee, grill night on Thursday, juicy , tasty steaks at reasonable prices and a varied menu besides. Wish this was my local!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bojangles381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Swan Inn. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    229
    167
    123
    112
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wroxham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great food, just sit by the river and watch the world go by, if you love boats this is the place to be to have lunch or dinner and watch the boats drift by, staff friendly and polite and serve great food. Fantastic place to stay as well, rooms clean and have everything you need.....Do it!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Swan Inn and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Beautiful setting, sat outside on a fabulous warm sunny day. That was where what was supposed to be a pleasant lunch ended. Ordered a mixed vegetable salad priced at 6.50 as a main course.
Lettuce was slimy, most of the vegetables mentioned on the menu were almost non existent. The cheese puffs were overpowering. The portion size was as a starter not a main. Service was very slow. Waitress was totally uninterested when we complained.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridg726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit to The Swan Inn Restaurant, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge Norfolk Broads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very very poor service - barmaid Ellie was grumpy and particularly unhelpful. The standard of the food was poor (disgusting tear and share garlic bread) and the roasts were nothing to write home about either. The parsnips were hardly cooked and I've never seen such emaciated sausages and bacons! We were all so disappointed as we have been there a number of times and it seems like every time we go it gets worse. Needless to say we won't be going again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrisidol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to the Restaurant and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
The Swan Inn
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pub food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

the food is good when it eventually arrives .But the wait is to long .the staff don,t appear to know there drinks.don,t appear to have enough staff to coap for a holiday place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patricia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are sorry that had disappointing service at our The Swan Inn Restaurant and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge Norfolk Broads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 
Horning, Norwich
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing