We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean well run holiday site”
Review of Ferry Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferry Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice clean well run holiday site”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed in Ranworth Quay Lodge which was spotless and spacious. We thought hiring a cot and highchair was expensive which in some other holiday venues its free. There was no washing machine but a launderette was on site, we also took a small BBQ with us. Nice fish and chips, swimming pool, and cafe were all on site. Ferry Inn public house(under new owners) on the riverfront was good value and large menu range and with a good range of childrens activities outside. We didn't hire a picnic boat from Ferry Marina as they don't like them being used for fishing so we hire a boat locally from Grebe Island and got a really good deal for 3 days, but beware there are hire boats available from £75 day which must be returned by 4pm or you will be fined £50. Outstanding fishing on site but far better on the main river, best fishing very early in the morning or late afternoon and night. Horning did have a very small fishing shop but would recommend Wroxham Angling or Lathams at Potter Heigham, as both have huge stock and fresh bates. We have been holidaying the Norfolk Broads for many years and we have stopped at many venues and although we don't usually do to the same place twice you will not be disappointed with Ferry Marina

Room Tip: Be prepared to be woken up very early by the wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PopsyfromNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    37
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
128
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

"Woods End" is a luxury house in the Marina itself. Luxury fittings, beds and showers make this a real treat. This is a perfect base for exploring the broards and the nearby Norfolk coast. look forward to returning soon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Ferry Marina hires out lovely boats with high quality fixtures and fittings. As we went past boats from other hire companies, we could see that we had made the right choice to use Ferry Marina, and we got real quality for our money. We had satellite TV, DVD player, two very good shower rooms, bow thrusters, thick curtains, comfy beds and plenty of storage space. The kitchen was well equipped and the sofas were comfy. The training from the staff on the first day was good but too much for me to take in all at once, as a first-timer. There are quite a lot of things to remember about running electric and hot water. However the instruction manual on board covered everything. We spent our last night moored in Ferry Marina and saw a marsh harrier and grebes displaying.

I would recommend stocking up with food on the first afternoon, as there are few opportunities for supermarket shopping on the broads, once you set off. If the weather forecast is for cold nights, ask for extra bedding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DalesDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've used Ferry Marina 4 times in the past 5 years and have enjoyed every trip. Some boats are new and some older, you get what you pay for - they accommodate for all incomes. I love them because they are a well run Independant business that adds a bit extra. I've got to know them and they treat people brilliantly. Owned by a local man.

Boats - we've been on several and like Jade. The larger boats don't always go under Wroxham bridge. The boats are comfortable, clean and have all you need on board. If you need more of something they will add it for you. We had Brilliant recently, which was a good value boat.

People - always helpful and friendly. Ian outside in the yard is excellent and is valuable to them. The office team are great. We had an issue with the heating and the on call engineer came out at 9pm at night to sort it, even though I said we would be ok and would manage.

Location - it's well located for exploring all parts of the river and for popping back for that all important mid week "pump out"!

Other - Harry's fish and chips is the best, probably anywhere but certainly in Norfolk. You have to have them. The pool is great for the kids, whilst you sit and have a coffee. If you want an on land shower it's £3, which is a bit steep. That would be my only negative. But the pool is £4.50, so you can have a shower thrown in!

Highly recommend ferry marina and will be using them again next year.

Room Tip: Do your research on the boat, get what is important to you as a family. If there are 6 of you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintmarkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We hired the ivory emblem, for a mid week break. It's a beautiful cruiser, kept in immaculate condition. The staff were helpful and informative! We had a excellent holiday on the boat. Would definitely recommend booking through this company.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca11767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a lovely place! We went over Easter and Ferry Marina was still quiet and not over subscribed.

The property was perfect for us, we were a party of 7 ranging from 4 years to 72 years old. All the creature comforts and mod cons were there and the cottage was very warm considering how cold the weekend was in general.

The living accommodation was arranged on the 1st floor and had a lovely balcony that looked directly onto the river. A very picturesque spot indeed!

The only thing that let Ferry Marina down was the swimming pool at Harry's. It was absolutely freezing and not comfortable to swim in. The jacuzzi was cold as well.

Apart from that the whole complex is well cared for and perfect for a chill out holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineA740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Perfect break with lovely surrounds , very friendly staff and very knowledgeable and insightful , we had booked into marina lodge but upgraded to Swan which was vacant , horning is a lovely quiet village but a lovely feel and warmth about the place , we have been coming to the Ferry Marina for the last few years and will be returning with a larger group next year ....

Very clean property with fabulous views over the marina ....

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horning
2.7 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
282 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
485 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
201 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Acle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry Marina

Property: Ferry Marina
Address: 9 Ferry Marina Ferry Road, Horning, Norwich NR12 8PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Horning
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Horning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferry Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ferry Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferry Marina Horning, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing