We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horning
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Horning B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great value for money. Lovely rooms with very friendly hosts. breakfast was wonderful, cooked to our spec and perfection. Nothing too much trouble. A great place for couples or families to base themselves for the Norfolk Broads

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
54
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the family room (conveniently away from other rooms and very quiet) and thought this was excellent value for money. Fluffy towels every day (we we mostly using our own from home but it was handy to have a spare), great setup in the room including spacious shower room and private outdoor table and chairs in the sun. Brilliant location, close to boat hire, local deli and the water (of course!).


The best thing though is the hospitality. Lovely hosts who provide fresh, delicious breakfast with helpful advice on seal spotting, best beaches, options for boating etc. We felt really welcome and had a great stay. We'd happily return here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrumKanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night mid week break at The Moorhen - it's a very comfortable homely B & B situated approx 50m from the River Bure and, in our opinion, in one of the Broads prettiest villages, Horning.

Neil and Josie were fabulous hosts and a lovely couple, whereby nothing was too much trouble and they were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and good local eateries.

The breakfast was lovely, very nicely cooked with very good local produce from the villages butcher.

If we were to come to this area again to stay in a B & B, which hopefully we will, we would definitely look to come back here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tonymkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here on Sunday for a night and it was lovely. The hosts were really helpful replying to my queries before we arrived and were really friendly and welcoming when we arrived.
We stayed in the cabin and it was lovely. The beds were spacious as was the whole cabin. The kids loved it. Everything was spotless. It had a tv and wifi so everyone was happy.
The breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend to people. The area is lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The moorhen is everytging you could want and need on a relaxing break the rooms are spotless. Josie and neil are fantastic hosts they make you feel like part of the family nothing is too much trouble to top it off breakfast was fantastic we will be regular visitors

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zoe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the Moorhen last weekend,once again it was Top Notch,spotlessy clean clean,and what a huge bed.

The hosts went out of their way to be friendly in fact we all got chatting over breakfast and whiled away a very happy hour.

Another nice touch is ,you can have breakfast any time from early up to 10am,(nice lay in).

Have rebooked for 3 days in Sept (get a discount for 3 days or more).

Room Tip: All rooms high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roya a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Great period building in good location by the Broads. We stayed in the 'log cabin' at the rear of the premises. Having gone straight to our room it was very dark and tired. Double noisy metal bunk beds that I would associated with cheap hostel. Mattresses so soft! Bathroom door would not shut due to warping. Damp mould around base of toilet and had to run around in the shower to get wet........ However, we went to breakfast in the main building which was very nice. Staff really attentive and voice of breakfast first class. Our friends who stayed in the main building were very complimentary of their facilities and so we must have been unlucky. In brief feedback from friends and breakfast saved the day. Advice therefore is to avoid the 'cabin' in the garden as your sleeping quarters.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horning
2.3 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Edingworth Guest House
The Edingworth Guest House
#7 of 29 in Lowestoft
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast
Address: 45 Lower Street, Horning, Norwich, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Horning
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horning
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Moorhen Hotel Horning
The Moorhen Bed And Breakfast
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast Horning, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing