We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horning
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Horning B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just come back from a three nights stay at this lovely B&B. The rooms we stayed in where "Barton" and "Malthouse" rooms which are situated at the front and over look the river - so you can watch the boats go by. They are lovely comfortable rooms. The Breakfasts were great too. But the main attributes to the "Moorhen" are its host Neil and Josie, although they have only been proprietors for a few months now, they are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to family and friends. Certainly will be going back in the future.
Keep up the good work Neil and Josie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodders1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
55
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

As I am disabled my wife and chose the Ranworth Garden Room which has a wet room. Josie and Neil made us very welcome. They had only been the new proprietors for six weeks and were trying very hard to stamp their individuality on the Moorhen. The property is situated very conveniently in the center of the village with an excellent variety of "eateries" close by. Try their "White Pudding" for breakfast- delicious.

Room Tip: Nice garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Moorhen for three nights during a touring holiday around Norfolk and Suffolk. Neil and Josie are excellent hosts. Nothing seemed to be a problem to them and they were so helpful. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. We would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend The Moorhen to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I spend a night at the Moorhen in July before joining up with a boat for the weekend. The welcome was warm, and the bed very comfortable.
Breakfast is excellent; a "Full Norfolk" included in the price.
We we lucky to have had a view over the river (see the picture).
The new owners have only been there a few weeks, but they're doing a great job.
Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paul2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just had a superb weekend at the Moorhen. Neil and Josie were so welcoming and hospitable at all times, and kept us supplied with endless cups of tea/coffee.10 of the family had gathered for the 40th birthday of another family member at the Village Hall in Horning on the Saturday, and we stayed for Friday/Saturday and Saturday/Sunday nights at The Moorhen. On the Friday we all had a great meal at the Swan Inn, in Horning. After a brilliant day on the Saturday - the weather was very kind to us - my wife and I stayed in in their very spacious and well appointed sitting area in the evening, and read the papers, and had teas/ coffees galore. The breakfasts were very good, and all cooked to order - I love their fresh fruit salad and yoghurt, and the poached eggs! The "youngsters" enjoyed being together in the Coot Cabin.Thank you for making us so comfortable and welcome, Neil and Josie!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

A fantastic welcome by two warm hearted hosts, wonderful accommodation, super breakfast and yes I have rebooked for a return in September.

The room I had was so calming and tranquil and the fudge was an added bonus!

Thank you Josie and Neil!

Room Tip: I had a wonderful room with amazing views of the Broads and the sky !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Moorhen's cabin, the Coot Cabin, and had a really fantastic welcome from Neil and Josie. The Cabin is excellent for a family stay, giving us the flexibility of a self-catering holiday (the cabin has a fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle) with someone else to make the breakfast! The breakfast was extremely good quality - ingredients sourced from the local butcher with nice touches, such as home-made yoghurt. They went to great lengths to help find breakfast things for our daughter, who has a dairy allergy. The Moorhen is next to the staithe at Horning, so perfect for a sailing holiday. Neil and Josie went several extra miles to make our trip memorable and our stay comfortable. I thoroughly recommend the Moorhen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zillah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horning
2.3 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast
Address: 45 Lower Street, Horning, Norwich, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Horning
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horning
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Moorhen Hotel Horning
The Moorhen Bed And Breakfast
The Moorhen Bed & Breakfast Horning, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing