We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”
Review of The Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is my second review, I couldn't help it, we keep going back, its almost an annual pilgrimage. I have to say any one who like us sometimes feels awkward or embarrassed and stressed going to hotels with two large dogs especially after they've had a wonderful time on the beach it is so important to be welcomed and feel relaxed. This is just the place, they don't bat an eyelid and the service and staff are always welcoming and helpful. The courtyard rooms are the place to be in with your dogs, quiet, spacious with a dog blanket and bowls available. The beach at Old Hunstanton is a dogs paradise and a short easy stroll from the Lodge!
For the humans, the breakfast is fabulous, if you like healthy then the home made granola with fresh fruit salad and soaked dried fruits with yogurt on top is perfect. The cooked breakfasts are also delicious and you can pretty much have anything, I usually opt for kippers or smoked haddock and poached egg, but the full English is superb too. And there are coixants!
The menu is a relaxed mix of traditional and Italian all at a fair price and well portioned and well cooked, wines are good and can be bought by the glass.
We will be back of course!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms for those of you with dogs, they are spacious, The garden Shed is lovely and has a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    119
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
103
328
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Visited in March, taking advantage of a winter offer for a 2 night stay. Stayed in room 6, which has plenty of space and a very comfortable bed. Although a "superior" room, this does not extend to the view, but unless you like to spend hours looking out of the windows, this is no great handicap. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent - a particularly delicious bowl of soup - and it made such a pleasant change to have breakfast cooked to order rather than have to make do with the usual "hit and miss" buffet effort. All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the manager. They all appeared to be working in a happy environment, which helps enormously. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Inn following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us, the food and our hospitality. It gives me great pleasure in passing such wonderful comments onto the team here.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Gavin


Gavin Wyeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

After extensive research for our male only walking weekend I plumped for this Inn due to all the accolades and reviews on Tripadvisor, we weren't disappointed. Our room (number 1) was at the front and was a nice size, well decorated with a modern bathroom, which included a bath as well, the standard of cleanliness was excellent. The only thing that put me off was the fact that I thought it may be noisy, being at the front, my fears were unfounded and despite a band playing that night it all quietened down nicely about 11.15, this room might not suit someone wishing to turn in early! Breakfast was superb, fresh and stewed fruit, muesli and croissant from the buffet, plus a selection of freshly cooked dishes from the menu, fresh brewed coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice ( a rarity nowadays) and apple juice from the orchard down the road, wow!
We ate in on the first night and again we weren't disappointed, all ingredients were freshly cooked to a high quality and the service was friendly and attentive in a relaxed atmosphere, the menu was small but enough for fish and meat eaters alike!
We all enjoyed our stay and found everyone was friendly and interested in how our day went, all in all a great Inn!

Room Tip: When booking be aware that the rooms at the front might be a noisy until 11'ish, especially in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at The Lodge for a 2 night break - a most enjoyable Christmas present. Though the bedroom was rather small, it was quite well equipped and the bed was very comfortable. However, there was little room for 2 people to relax and indeed there was only 1 chair. The shower room was also small - a bath would have been welcome after a very long walk in the blustery weather.

The best aspect of the hotel was the service. John was ever present during our stay and worked hard to meet the needs of all guests at reception and in the restaurant and was attentive without being intrusive. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. There was a good range on both menus, portions were good and everything was very well presented.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Visited overnight to do some walking. Let reception know when we arrived as we were leaving the car. It was 9.00 am but the receptionist booked us in so we could just pick the keys up when we returned.
We booked a superior room which was beautiful, very spacious ( rm 6)
I was a little disappointed that our view was a brick wall to one side and a group of holiday flats to the other, would have been nice to have a decent view for the price paid. The television jumped when it was on for a while, did forget to report it on departure.
The bar had "happy hour " from 5-7, the bar had a lovely atmosphere, was busy and friendly.
Staff in the restaurant were friendly and attentive, food slightly disappointing.
Breakfast was wonderful.
Highly recommend

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heskey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our stay at The Lodge was faultless. Service was excellent and staff were friendly. Our room (6) was spotless and spacious. There was a good choice on the menu at breakfast and we had a lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening. Very good value for money and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lepode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The building was pleasant and the food very nice, despite a loud table next to us, we enjoyed our meal, the service was faultless.
Only downside, the Burnham Market effect is spoiling otherwise 1st class restaurants and Hotels

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodneyP176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Lodge Inn.

How disappointing to read that your meal was let down by "the Burnham Market effect", I'm not quite sure what this means to be honest. My team would have been more than happy to move you into another, less ... Burnham Markety area of the establishment if you had requested.

I am really delighted you found our food and service of such a high standard as well as enjoying the Inn itself. A great shame you only scored us 3/5, I note you scored us 12/15 in total for value, location and service - the average being 4/5 surely?

I hope you haven't been put off trying us again and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Lodge again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Gavin

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Hunstanton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
856 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
779 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
380 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Inn

Property: The Lodge Inn
Address: Old Hunstanton Road, Old Hunstanton PE36 6HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Old Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the old village, The Lodge in Old Hunstanton Norfolk offers a relaxed and casual experience - perfectly combining the traditional with the contemporary. Conveniently situated only 500 yards from Old Hunstanton beach, coastal walks and Old Hunstanton Golf Course. The food is simply sumptuous, our specials blackboard changes daily - with an emphasis on fresh fish and locally sourced produce. For the ultimate treat, try our homemade puddings. Dine in the bar, outside in the veranda garden or enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the dining room. The bar offers a great selection of wines and real ales. We have 16 beautiful, well appointed accommodation rooms , which are simply fantastic, and 5 luxury self-contained cottages . "The Loft" and "The Attic" rooms are superior accommodation suites with sea views across rooftops. Our Courtyard rooms are individually special. Most of the rooms have super king size beds, and all accommodation is equipped to a high standard, with flat screen televisions, modern en-suites and warm, fluffy bath towels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Old Hunstanton
The Lodge Inn Old Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing