We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely find on the way back !”
Review of The Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Touring the coast of beautiful Norfolk and wanted more than fish and chips, we saw the lodge yesterday as we drove through Hunstanton so decided to stop there today. The menu was impressive and good value, I had the clams,prawns and crab spaghetti with tomato and basil and my hubby had the pulled lamb which was fab. Great food and lovely service would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 572 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Lodge recently hosted a post-Christening meal and drinks for us and a large group of friends and family. Food and service was fantastic, especially considering they were catering for us and also the usual guests on a busy Saturday. A great time was had by all. Thanks to all of the staff who made it such a great day and for making sure we were looked after. We couldn't have asked for more. The bar, restaurant and hotel in general have a very relaxed and cosy atmosphere, with a rustic charm to attract all ages. I would recommend it to anybody looking for a small function space, a bite to eat or just a few drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Arrived to find no parking and reception guy said use disabled so we did. Dinner was served between 6-9 on website but we were told as it was a bank holiday Monday dinner would have to be 6-8. We could not get any later so we had to skip this as we had things to do. Room was large and clean with modern fittings and a very nice bathroom with bath and shower. Toiletries included. The bed was large but the mattress was not good enough quality. This should be improved for the price. Breakfast was plentiful but not all cooked freshily as stated in The Lodge details. Service was good. This is a nice place to stay that does not cost the earth unilke everything else on the N Norfolk coast so I wish them well...but do improve the mattresses!!!

Room Tip: Choose one away from bar as it will be noisy as it is a pub with rooms. The owners do tell you this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. I would like to start by correcting the inaccuracies in your review

Your partner came to reception to enquire about car parking whilst you took it upon yourself to park in the disabled spot, she spoke to me personally at reception and I pointed out that there was car parking between the front car park and roadside which is accessed by a dropped kerb, she looked confused so I offered to come out to the car park to help you park and this is how I know you parked in the disabled spot without any encouragement from myself! As we reached the car park a space become available next door but one to the disabled space where your large silver Mercades was parked, your partner said that you were looking to unload and go straight out again to take pictures before it got dark and asked if you could stay in the disabled space for a few minutes - at this point I agreed.

I am sorry that our website misled you with regards to dinner, we always advise that a reservation is made for dinner to avoid disappointment, again I said that on a Bank Holiday we serve our full menu all day from 12noon until 8pm, we have never served from 6-8pm only as you state in your review! I have now amended our website to include bank holiday hours.

The mattress in room 10, a beautiful superior bedroom with contemporary four poster bed is approximately 4 years old and is of hotel quality and therefore is designed to last considerably longer than 4 years. I appreciate that the firmness of a mattress is a personal preference, for the record our oldest mattresses which were six years old were replaced in 4 rooms in May this year. If you decide to stay again, we would be delighted to reserve a room with a newer mattress.

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast as much as we would have hoped, you provide me with very little detail to investigate this further but I have spoken with the Chef who was on breakfast service Tuesday morning and nothing was done any differently to any other morning and we receive some wonderful comments as you will see from the majority of reviews on TripAdvisor.

Finally, I have spoken to my Shift Manager who dealt with your departure and most disappointingly not one of your comments mentioned in this review where brought to our attention when you were asked if you had enjoyed your stay!

I find it really upsetting that a tiny percentage of guests in this day and age will refuse to complete a comment card which is left in every bedroom, they will stand at reception smile and wax lyrical about their stay upon check out and then retreat to their computers and leave a review online like yours which is fundamentally untrue and unfair - it undermines the hard work and dedication that goes into running a business like The Lodge.

Yours sincerely,

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We thought a little tlc was in order after having grandchildren for 3 weeks on their sailing courses(all wet clothes and large meals!) so booked at this, after being ecommended by daughter.
We were allocated the coal-bunker, a comfortable and well thought out room in the courtyard,
The dinner, bed and breakfast deal was great, no need to hunt for places to eat in a busy holiday
area.
Staff were very friendly, despite the many calls on their service, and we particularly enjoyed our
dinner. We definately will book again.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms seem quieter. One small point I would mention, a grab rail in the shower would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Friendly check in at the Lodge got us off to a good start for our 2 night stay which then led to a spacious room equipped with a lovely modern bathroom.
Always a pleasant surprise is finding seating for 2 to watch TV. This comfortable lounge was soon to collapse however (we are only small, light people!). It provided us with a good laugh and was very promptly replaced by a most luxurious one and all was well.
The bar/bistro is a "family" affair and can be noisy as not all children are well behaved/controlled so the go is to book into the restaurant where it is quieter and generally far more pleasant.
The range and quality of the food is OK but not a standout as the dishes we were able to choose from there seemed to have a cream bias. Nonetheless, the fare was satisfactory and the service excellent with a good wine list.
Add inclusive WiFi and off street parking to a first class breakfast and the package shapes up well.
Not inexpensive but in general terms, a cut above that which we had experienced over the previous week. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Book into the restaurant for the evening's repast as the Bistro can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElectrickBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just spent one night here and felt it was worth taking a moment to comment.

I would praise the staff for their excellent service.

The Bedroom was comfortable and well appointed although the WiFi was not working - The manager suggested it would be better in the Restaurant.

Dinner was good if a little pricey but the breakfast was memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid the noises from the main road which passes the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The very welcoming staff made our one night stay very enjoyable and I was pleased that we stayed here. We eat outside by the bar and despite some rather roudy children, had a very good meal. My partner's lamb was 'superb' and my fish was also excellent (despite the cheddar cheese in the sauce!). Our room was well appointed, clean and had lovely big, soft towels. TIP: If you have got to the stage in your life where you find noisy children less than welcome when you are trying to have a peaceful meal, eat after 8 pm and eat in the restuarant. The hotel is minutes from a great beach and perfect for an evening walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwert99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Hunstanton
0.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
843 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
897 reviews
4.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
861 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel and Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Inn

Address: Old Hunstanton Road, Old Hunstanton PE36 6HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Old Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Price Range: $155 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the old village, The Lodge in Old Hunstanton Norfolk offers a relaxed and casual experience - perfectly combining the traditional with the contemporary. Conveniently situated only 500 yards from Old Hunstanton beach, coastal walks and Old Hunstanton Golf Course. The food is simply sumptuous, our specials blackboard changes daily - with an emphasis on fresh fish and locally sourced produce. For the ultimate treat, try our homemade puddings. Dine in the bar, outside in the veranda garden or enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the dining room. The bar offers a great selection of wines and real ales. We have 16 beautiful, well appointed accommodation rooms , which are simply fantastic, and 5 luxury self-contained cottages . "The Loft" and "The Attic" rooms are superior accommodation suites with sea views across rooftops. Our Courtyard rooms are individually special. Most of the rooms have super king size beds, and all accommodation is equipped to a high standard, with flat screen televisions, modern en-suites and warm, fluffy bath towels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Old Hunstanton
The Lodge Inn Old Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing