We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another fab stay”
Review of The Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“another fab stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

as always The Lodge was great ,staff really really friendly nothing too much trouble also we stayed in the attic suite absolutely fabulous ,this morning the breakfast was lovely had a really good fresh fruit salad and the healthy fry up option and as usual everything was great and as idont do fruit juice they always bring me a large bottle of cold water ,cant wait for our next visit later in the year

Room Tip: to be fair i dont think thy have any bad rooms as far as we are concerned ,we have never been dissap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally_farrington7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    119
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
103
328
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here last month with our dog in the Coal Bunker and overall it was a pleasant stay. My biggest dissapointment was the food. We had booked DBB for 3 nights and I only enjoyed one of my meals. We may have stayed whilst the chef was off as many people do seem to like the food at this hotel - however breakfast was very good each morning.

Location is excellent for walks etc and overall we did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addieteesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Lodge Inn.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and breakfast each morning. We are not complacent at The Lodge despite receiving some excellent reviews and feedback. We always strive for excellence and I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy all of your meals with us.

Our kitchen team produce consistent food if our Head Chef is on service or not as we have 2 extremely capable and experienced Sous Chefs, in fact during your stay both our Head Chef and one of our Sous Chefs were on duty. Reading your review I am a little perplexed as I personally checked you out and there was no mention of you not enjoying some of your meals.

I would have liked to have fed this back to our team sooner than now but I appreciate that not everybody is comfortable giving feedback face to face, we do have in room comment cards in this instance. None the less, thank you for taking the time to review The Lodge.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Lodge again soon.

Kind regards,

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic place to stay on a cold wintery weekend.
Welcoming staff, roaring log fires, candles, good food and a lovely relaxing atmosphere, a very cosy place to stay indeed.
Easy walk along the beach to Hunstanton, certainly blew away the cobwebs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grafton67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at The Lodge Inn on Bank Holiday Monday with our dog. We were in the Garden Shed Courtyard Room which was lovely, clean and cosy.
Paige the dog was made very welcome and sat with us when we eat in the bar that evening.
I would say there are a few minor things that could have been improved on when eating in the restaurant the sauce to my main came out 10 minutes after the food and the next morning the sausages were missed off of the breakfast. I also feel that £15 extra a night for having a dog is a little excessive.
Other than this The Lodge Inn is a nice place to stay and a short walk to the beach. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluF80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Lodge Inn.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our “Garden Shed” courtyard bedroom. May I take this opportunity to apologise for the items missed at dinner and again at breakfast, I have looked into how this happened and it appears a lack of concentration meant that your order didn’t arrive to you in full.

We do charge £15 for a dog staying in a courtyard bedroom, per stay. We still believe that this represents excellent value for money, allowing you avoid kennel costs which are currently £14.50 per night at the kennels towards King’s Lynn. Our £15 charge goes towards the additional cleaning which is undertaken when a room departs after having a dog stay, I’m pleased to see you noted how clean your room was.

Thank you once again for your excellent review and we very much look forward to welcoming you both (and Paige) back to The Lodge again soon.

Kind regards,

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed a three night break at the Lodge Inn with friends. The food was excellent with a varied choice including "specials" which changed daily. We stayed in rooms 6 & 8 both of which were very nice. Room 8 had a 'walk in' shower and room 6 was larger and had a small sofa.
The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Room 6 is very nice. It is large with a small sofa and has 4 windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekenders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a two night Travelzoo break here and it was superb. The staff were all so friendly and we were given an upgraded room upon arrival which was lovely. A super room with two lovely armchairs in a bay window with a great sea view and a huge 6' bed with a beautifully decorated bathroom.
Breakfast both mornings was great with a great selection of cooked food to order and cereals, fruit etc. on a self serve basis.
We ate dinner there on our first night and it was great, with a good menu choice and a blackboard of specials.
Would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: We had room No. 1 which was super - sea view through a lovely bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just come back from a lovely weekend at the Lodge. Staff were very attentive, the rooms were very comfortable, & the breakfast was excellent.

Highly recommend to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Hunstanton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
856 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
779 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
381 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Inn

Property: The Lodge Inn
Address: Old Hunstanton Road, Old Hunstanton PE36 6HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Old Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the old village, The Lodge in Old Hunstanton Norfolk offers a relaxed and casual experience - perfectly combining the traditional with the contemporary. Conveniently situated only 500 yards from Old Hunstanton beach, coastal walks and Old Hunstanton Golf Course. The food is simply sumptuous, our specials blackboard changes daily - with an emphasis on fresh fish and locally sourced produce. For the ultimate treat, try our homemade puddings. Dine in the bar, outside in the veranda garden or enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the dining room. The bar offers a great selection of wines and real ales. We have 16 beautiful, well appointed accommodation rooms , which are simply fantastic, and 5 luxury self-contained cottages . "The Loft" and "The Attic" rooms are superior accommodation suites with sea views across rooftops. Our Courtyard rooms are individually special. Most of the rooms have super king size beds, and all accommodation is equipped to a high standard, with flat screen televisions, modern en-suites and warm, fluffy bath towels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Old Hunstanton
The Lodge Inn Old Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing