We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and atmosphere at the Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere at the Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at a flat in Old Hunstanton over New Year and spent several lunchtime/evening sessions at the Lodge. The bar staff were excellent and the food, on the whole, excellent. One minor area of improvement would suggest would be the puddings - but that comes from a pudding fan!! Unlike the main dishes they were a little 'manufactured'. We would, nevertheless, definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tod5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    117
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
102
321
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Outwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Fourth year at The Lodge, Old Hunstaton, Norfolk for New Years Eve and it was a great success ! The bar staff were as always helpful and friendly and the band got everyone on their feet dancing the night away. Breakfast this morning was lovely and the girls waitressing met us with a cheery New Years Day welcome ! Well done everyone and we will be back soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated to a high standard, and the little extras such as a Xmas tree in your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Inn following your New Year’s Eve stay.

New Year’s is such a fantastic time at The Lodge, live band, good seasonal food and a very well stocked bar get you into the mood to welcome the New Year in. Great to read that the team were cheery the following morning too.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge again soon.

Kind regards,

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I went on a spontaneous trip to the Norfolk coast to escape studies, and came across The Lodge Inn whilst on a Coasthopper bus trip. Despite not having made a reservation, we were immediately greeted with hospitality, and even were given the Superior room at a discounted price. The room was absolutely fantastic, quiet and the complementary shortbreads were an extra bonus! The breakfast in the morning was delicious - especially loved the homemade granola (thank you to Gavin, the manager, who was kind enough to email me the recipe afterwards!). Overall, perfect accommodation for a perfect weekend break: will definitely be visiting again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Inn.

You are most welcome for the recipe of the homemade Granola, it’s a personal favourite of mine too so can appreciate you wanting to give it a try at home. The Coasthopper bus runs all year and stops just outside The Lodge on both sides of the road, come back soon and try one of our other “perfect” bedrooms, they are all so unique and offer something for everyone.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge again soon.

Kind regards,

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Welcoming and helpful staff helped to make our Christmas break at The Lodge a comfortable one. As on previous visits, the food was excellent coupled with attentive but relaxed service.The unexpected extras (card, chocolates and glass of fizzy) were the icing on the cake. The Lodge is ideally situated for dog owners, the walks on the beach proving a particular favourite with our Lab!
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Last weekend (7-9 December) we held our annual pre-Christmas weekend away at the Lodge. Eight couples in all, relaxing and enjoying ourselves. This was our fourth yearly weekend away at the Lodge, and was we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Amazingly, it just gets better and better. The staff are brilliant and can't do enough for you. The two new chefs turn out dinners of the highest quality. And I'd challenge you to find better breakfasts anywhere in Norfolk.
Our rooms were impeccably clean and inviting, and so comfortable...
Yes, we've booked for next year.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to try the Attic or Loft rooms. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tercera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent - both accommodation and food were outstanding. The staff were enthusiastic, friendly and helpful. We have now stayed here several times and have been impressed on each occasion. It is ideally situated for exploring the North Norfolk coastal area and has outstanding bird watching at several locations close by.
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We have now stayed here on several separate visits and have had a different room on each occasion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthNorfolkClarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Me and my partner stayed two nights in The Lodge Inn in their absolutely stunning attic suite. They made the stay unforgettable and tended to mine and my partners ever need. The bed was very comfortable and even when i need an extra pillow they supplied it to the room. The staff are friendly and show great costumer services and i would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Callum T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Hunstanton
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
4.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Inn

Property: The Lodge Inn
Address: Old Hunstanton Road, Old Hunstanton PE36 6HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Old Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the old village, The Lodge in Old Hunstanton Norfolk offers a relaxed and casual experience - perfectly combining the traditional with the contemporary. Conveniently situated only 500 yards from Old Hunstanton beach, coastal walks and Old Hunstanton Golf Course. The food is simply sumptuous, our specials blackboard changes daily - with an emphasis on fresh fish and locally sourced produce. For the ultimate treat, try our homemade puddings. Dine in the bar, outside in the veranda garden or enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the dining room. The bar offers a great selection of wines and real ales. We have 16 beautiful, well appointed accommodation rooms , which are simply fantastic, and 5 luxury self-contained cottages . "The Loft" and "The Attic" rooms are superior accommodation suites with sea views across rooftops. Our Courtyard rooms are individually special. Most of the rooms have super king size beds, and all accommodation is equipped to a high standard, with flat screen televisions, modern en-suites and warm, fluffy bath towels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Old Hunstanton
The Lodge Inn Old Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing