We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I ran a hotel - this is how I would do it!!”
Review of The Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We came for a weekend with 8 friends and every aspect of the stay was exceptional. The staff are very friendly and efficient, the rooms nicely decorated and tastefully furnished and the resterant was superb with a great choice and quality. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thewaddymasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Owner at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you for your excellent review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

A great deal of hard work and passion goes into running The Lodge, it always gives me such pleasure to pass such wonderful comments on to our team.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 582 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a good place to stay in North Norfolk. Open fires, friendly staff and a large room and huge bathroom . Better still they are happy to accept dogs in the rooms and the bar (where you get the same menu as in the restaurant . Would definitely return here. Great location across the road from a sandy beach .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedforshireAndrewJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Owner at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2011

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Lodge in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed at The Lodge for one night, 15th October in a 4 poster superior room - it was great. The room was lovely, restaurant very good and location excellent.

We arrived after a very long walk on Brancaster beach in and a late lunch at the Jolly Sailor in Brancaster. Probably too late a lunch as I don't think we appreciated our dinner as much as we would have done with a picnic on the beach but a lesson learned.

When we arrived in the room I was a little concerned as we were at the front of the building looking out onto the busy coast road but there was no problem with traffic noise and we had a great night's sleep.

Service in the restaurant was very good, even though it was a busy Saturday night and the food good too. We had a couple of drinks in the bar afterwards and found a seat OK.

Breakfast was good and the smaller english breakfast a wonderful idea as I always seem to end up with poached eggs in hotels as I can't eat a full english!

On Sunday we left our car at the hotel and walked down to the beach in Old Hunstanton and then went onto the Art & Craft Centre which was very good, then back for coffee.

A lovely weekend, can't wait to do it again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Owner at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2011

Thank you for your excellent review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

The local beaches here are superb and we are pleased to read you discovered the lovely antiques centre nearby too.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Lodge in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Had a lovely time - and so did the dog. The room - The Bottle Store - was ideal for the dog having access to the outside courtyard. The room was very large and extremely comfortable.

Food and service was very good. The only thing we did not like was the sound of the vacuum cleaner in the bar area when we were having breakfast!

Room Tip: THe Bottle Store room is excellent if you have a dog with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Owner at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Thank you for your excellent review, we are delighted to read that you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us so much.

I have passed your comments onto our housekeeping team who will try to be more sensitive when cleaning the public areas, thank you for your constructive criticism.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you both back to The Lodge in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My Husband & I have stayed here before, and as we were happy with our previous experience, decided to choose this hotel again for a 2-night stay.
The hotel is in a convenient location - only a few minutes walk to the lovely unspoilt beach, and on the main road to all the places in the north of Norfolk that you would want to visit.
The Lodge has a lovely relaxed feel to it. The service is excellent - staff are friendly, helpful and efficient.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant on our first night. We thought the food was quite acceptable but not 'out of this world', & prices going the way of many restaurants in Norfolk - rather over-priced.
Breakfast was excellent. A great choice and beautifully cooked.
Our room was lovely - spacious, modern, airy & comfortable. The bed was huge & very comfortable!
I would recommend The Lodge & would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chizz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Owner at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Thank you for your excellent review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Our menu pricing does reflect the excellent quality of produce available to us in this wonderful part of the Country, food costs across the world are increasing rapidly and alas, we do need to pass this increase on unfortunately.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Lodge in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of September.
We have been to Hunstanton before and had dinner here one night and really liked the feel of the place so this year we booked to stay as well.
Guests were myself, my wife, my 11 year old daughter and our small dachshund.
We had originally booked one of the courtyard rooms but we were told on arrival that they felt it might not be large enough for us so they upgraded us to a larger room within the hotel :-)
I cannot praise this hotel enough, the staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was great, a real happy feel about the place and the food was just amazing.
We ate here both nights of our stay and found the range of food on offer was excellent.
The bar can get lively in the evening but that just added to the atmosphere for us.
I would whole-heartedly recommend this hotel and we will be going back again next year at least once.
Thank you for helping make our short stay in Hunstanton perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Owner at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for your excellent review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to The Lodge in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed for one night at the Lodge. Found the staff very welcoming and surprised when they told us we had been upgraded to the Loft (Suite) due to a mix up of bookings. We had originally booked an ordinary double room and a single for my mother.
The hotel had a very nice atmosphere and the staff very friendly. The rooms were very modern and spotless. Could not fault it. We had two views of the sea from the Loft Room and a lovely bathroom with walk in shower and very nice toiletries.
We ate in the Restaurant which had a good choice of menu including desserts Pear Belle Helane, Peach melba and Banana Split. Not seen these on a menu for a number of years, but very good. The specials board had a very good choice and included various fish dishes. Spoilt for choice. Service excellent and staff had time for you especially young lady from Bulgaria who was very friendly and chatty.
Breakfast excellent with a good choice and once again very efficient.
Would definately stay there again when visiting the area. thank you.
Only downside, twin beds put together to make a double so a little uncomfortable in the middle.

Room Tip: Lovely modern and spotless hotel. Recommend the Loft, lot of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank february6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Owner at The Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We do try to offer complimentary room upgrades on arrival and we are pleased to read you appreciated this, the Loft is a stunning Suite. Many of our rooms have “zip and link” beds, please do mention this upon booking and we would be delighted to allocate a non zip and link bed for your next stay.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Lodge in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Hunstanton
0.2 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
950 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
892 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel and Bar
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Inn

Address: Old Hunstanton Road, Old Hunstanton PE36 6HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Old Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Price Range: $141 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the old village, The Lodge in Old Hunstanton Norfolk offers a relaxed and casual experience - perfectly combining the traditional with the contemporary. Conveniently situated only 500 yards from Old Hunstanton beach, coastal walks and Old Hunstanton Golf Course. The food is simply sumptuous, our specials blackboard changes daily - with an emphasis on fresh fish and locally sourced produce. For the ultimate treat, try our homemade puddings. Dine in the bar, outside in the veranda garden or enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the dining room. The bar offers a great selection of wines and real ales. We have 16 beautiful, well appointed accommodation rooms , which are simply fantastic, and 5 luxury self-contained cottages . "The Loft" and "The Attic" rooms are superior accommodation suites with sea views across rooftops. Our Courtyard rooms are individually special. Most of the rooms have super king size beds, and all accommodation is equipped to a high standard, with flat screen televisions, modern en-suites and warm, fluffy bath towels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Old Hunstanton
The Lodge Inn Old Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing