We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancient Mariner Out”

The Ancient Mariner Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Atmosphere very friendly, staff efficient, and open log fire welcoming in November. Sadly, meal we ordered was very disappointing and would recommend Le Strange restaurant next door.

Thank Yosemiteless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandB_OPs, Manager at The Ancient Mariner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

We really appreciate your comments and would like to Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. Every comment we receive we always share with the team. This enables us to work together to solve any issues.
We have now started a new menu for the winter months and I believe made many impovements. I hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.
Many Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 603 of 703 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Having been here recently in the last few weeks, we came back on Friday evening. From outside the pub looked inviting with the candles on the bar and the open fire was welcoming. The atmosphere was good with a friendly crowd enjoying some sort of raffle. I had the local mussels to eat which was lovely and was served by very friendly staff. However, the barking of two golden retrievers was irritating along with their owner who ignored his barking dogs and let them wander around! We enjoyed our meal and would recommend the menu but our evening was spoilt. I do recommend this pub but should 2 golden retrievers be at the bar, beware!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandB_OPs, Manager at The Ancient Mariner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Every comment we receive we always share with the team and take very seriously. This enables us to work together in solving any issues.
We have now started a new menu for the winter, so hope to see you soon. Many Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good pub food, friendly staff and great atmosphere. Have good selection on menu with choice of specials. Lovely view from sunset restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandB_OPs, Manager at The Ancient Mariner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

We really appreciate your comments and would like to Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. Every comment we receive we always share with the team. This enables us to work together. We have now started a new menu for the winter, so hope to see you soon. Many Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great traditional pub grub and fantastic service. Good portions, well cooked and homemade coleslaw I wish I could take home.
Children said "best burger!". Couldn`t fault the place.

Thank 431FamilyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandB_OPs, Manager at The Ancient Mariner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a comment. We really do appreciate it. Our customers enjoyment is why we are here and it really does make our day to read comments such as yours. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had two really nice meals here, served very quickly and very hot by very nice staff, the seafood and burgers awesome! Well Done

Thank lennie2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandB_OPs, Manager at The Ancient Mariner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to fill in your comment on trip advisor. We are extremely proud of where we work and the team work hard to get things right so that our guests have an enjoyable experience at this beautiful venue, we are so pleased that you did just this. It is really important that guests tell us of their experience and we do make use of all of our feedback, so that we can keep on moving forward.

Thank you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ancient Mariner Inn also viewed

Old Hunstanton, Norfolk
 
Old Hunstanton, Norfolk
Hunstanton, Norfolk
 
Hunstanton, Norfolk
Hunstanton, Norfolk
 

Been to The Ancient Mariner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing