We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good accomodation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Smugglers Rest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Petham, Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marleen V...
1 review
“Very good accomodation”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Smugglers rest is a very nice accomodation. There is a big garden which was nice for the children. The reception was very welcoming and relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: De ontvangst
Liked least: Niets
Traveling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
You're very kind - it was a pleasure to meet you. The weather was of course a help but then it's always lovely in Kent!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Heath...
1 review
“Comfortable, friendly with all you could need”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed for a week around my daughters wedding. Ian and his wife were friendly and helpful especially with service for taxis and hairdressers! The cottage is very comfortable and has all you could need. We weren't in the cottage much during the day but it is well placed for getting to the north and south of Kent. Just to note - it is a converted barn (which is part of its charm) but has some low beams which my 6 ft son had to be careful of. Also there is a step down from the living area to the toilets and shower area and another to the kitchen area which my elderly mother also had to watch for. The turning on to the road is also not for the faint hearted. However these points may sound negative they all add to the charm of he place and I am glad we chose to stay there.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2016
Many thanks for the review and I'm glad all went well for the wedding - even the weather in the end!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 29, 2015
Thanks for the review which is basically factual. We wouldn't claim the place is luxurious and furnishings tend to be dictated by the fact that the place is a very old, listed building. We are unable to get a dishwasher in due to plumbing issues (and that's what men are for on holiday!) but have added a DVD player to the existing satellite TV, video and internet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amy S
1 review
“wonderful!”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I had gone through much stress in finding a suitable property to host a birthday weekend for my partner. First of all, in regards to communication Ian was brilliant in responding quickly and was always informative. The booking process was simple and when we arrived at the property we were pleasantly surprised! Tucked away was the cottage which had plenty of parking space for us all (which was three cars carrying 9 guests) We were greeted by Ian's wife who was so kind and welcoming, she gave us a tour of the house before leaving us to go about our weekend. The house itself was spacious and had everything we needed, each room was a great size and every bed was super comfy. The actual set out and style of the house we all really liked to! The welcome pack of wine, cookies and crisps were also a nice touch. Overall we couldnt have been happier. There arent many photos online of this property that really do it justice, so if you are debating whether or not to book, do it! We are so, so glad we choose this property to book out for the weekend. In the future we would most certainly stay at Smugglers rest again. Thank you to Ian and his lovely wife!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2015
Thanks for the kind comments and for leaving the place in good nick - both greatly appreciated, We look forward to welcoming you back for another 'occasion' possibly with better weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gajend K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very clean and beautiful cottage... Nice and calm place for short vacation. We was impressed by the service provided by the owner of this cottage. Very helpful and lovely person to talk. We really enjoyed our stay....

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments - trust the Channel crossing was quiet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamch
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smugglers Rest”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 6 stayed at Smugglers Rest. We had an amazing time. The directions were perfect. When we arrived very late on our first nigh Ihan greeted us and gave us a walk of the house. 4 bedrooms, full bathroom with tub upstairs, full bathroom and shower downstairs. We loved the sinks in every bedroom, there were no arguments over teeth brushing in the morning. The house was fully furnished including a washer. We cooked several meals at home. The kids enjoyed the garden, we were lucky to have good neighbors with more kids to play with. It was a short drive to downtown Canterbury with all the shops. Perfect and quiet location.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing