We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-cute cosy caravan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Upstreet B&B and Inns
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super-cute cosy caravan”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I went to a birthday party here the other day and as it's quite far from home I stayed in the new 'Forager's Love Shack' - a cute little caravan in the pub garden! A great party, staff are lovely and the pub has a great atmosphere, and to top it off it was so much fun having a cosy little den to stumble back to at closing time! It's got all you need for an overnight stay and I loved the retro touches and quirkiness of the whole thing. The goats next door are really sweet too!

    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    45
    27
    27
    23
See reviews for
47
130
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Friendly helpful enthusiastic staff make the most of this charming quirky riverside pub in a unique unspoilt location. The staff coped adequately with the challenges which a delightful old building presented. Our stay was relaxed and great value. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNH1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary had a great night lovely rooms and a perfect meal really can't fault it and would stay again perfect romantic location staff were friendly and attentive. I would certainly recommend staying here for the absolute peace this is a real hidden gem

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great place..friendly staff, good food excellent location (i love the river)
Oh and a clean and comfy room!

I stayed here the night before my wedding. We were greeted and made to feel very welcome. The room was ready, clean and tidy. Quirky decor!
Oh and a comfy bed.
The staff were very helpfull and jolly!

Perfect for me and my best man
The beer was good too :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveking77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The website states that they own the pub, infact it is owned by Sheherd Neame brewery and they either lease or rent the property! It's the perfect location and if you are just going for a drink i'm sure you'll have a lovely time ( as long as no one elses lunch is stuck to the inside of your glass, which I found on the inside of mine). The food is over priced and very basic. We had scampi and chips £9.50, ok, but not worth the money. They have goats near the car park. On the day that we visited it was about 28 degrees and they had no water, somebody notified the staff and as we were leaving the poor things were given water!!! Not good. When we went to order our food the staff were more interested in talking to each other than serving customers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

When we checked in to our room at the Grove Ferry inn, the ceiling corners and window had many cobwebs with live and dead spiders. Some of the spiders were squashed on the wall by previous guests and had not been cleaned. There was also a clump of hairs on the duvet sheet. We informed the staff and although we changed rooms, there were still dead spiders and cobwebs, and this time a shower that trickled water after a few minutes of use. Overall, this hotel was not up to 4 star standard. We were looking forward to eating in the restaurant and having breakfast based on previous reviews, but we never got that far due to our room issues. Dissatisfied with the standard of the rooms, we left the hotel without staying the night or eating in the restaurant. The hotel staff were friendly and gave us a refund. Nonetheless, we will not be returning here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LM1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is right by the river with sweeping overhanging weeping willows, the room we had was very large with french windows which led onto a balcony so we had a wonderfull view!
The bedroom contained a huge 6ft bed, the floors were stripped back to the original bare wood which felt lovely underfoot.
The coffee machine was brilliant, ( Ive seen in earlier reviews that some people found it hard to use but we found it easy) and there was plenty of choice, tea coffee hot chocolate and even cappuchino!
The hotel will happily arrange a river cruise trip, which we took and which was a highlight of our stay.
The hotel is old ( its a country pub) but welcoming , Mark the assistant manager was lovely, really friendly and couldnt do enough for us.
The breakfast was great and plentyfull.
They also offer picnics if you want to go out for the day to explore the countryside which was lovely
Just a couple of suggestions Mark, ( you did ask me for suggestions) how about a dressing table in the room and any chance of the french windows have mosquito nets to protect us from the the little devils at night!!
And please stop using those tiny little jam jars for salt and pepper on your restaurant tables......

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with a view of the river, and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue8Iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upstreet
6.2 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
6.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
385 reviews
6.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn

Property: The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn
Address: Grove Ferry, Upstreet, Canterbury CT3 4BP, England (Formerly The Grove Ferry Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upstreet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upstreet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our homely little slice of Kent. The Grove Pantry Pub is an old Georgian manner sitting on The Great River Stour in the middle of the Stodmarsh Nature Reserve. The Georgian manner is now our very own pantry pub with pigs, goats, chickens, pheasants and quails all in our gardens and helping us to be proper country folk. Our menu is brought to you by our very own forager chef who trawls the countryside each season to bring you fresh ingredients. If our chickens are up to it the eggs on your full English will be freshly laid and collected that morning and if you cant quite polish the breakfast of don't worry Lily and Pickle our pigs will eat the left overs except for the bacon naturally. If you are naughty during your stay the team might rope you in to helping pick the fresh veg, herbs and fruit from our garden or feel free to volunteer and you might get a free slice of cake. But don't forget there is loads to be seeing and doing in the local area including boat trips chartered from the pub and pleasant walks around the nature reserve that boasts some very rare birds and beautiful panoramic views of the marsh and river. Don't expect a glitzy spanking hotel but expect loads of character, lovely old rooms with all the facilities you need to spend a weekend in the country with the added benefit of a short hop to the beach or Canterbury itself. The pub has its very own pantry area where you can pick and choose items made by the team, we have open fires and stoves, plenty of comfy chairs, a menu to make your mouth water, ales racked up on the bar and some scrumptious wines. The rooms are big and airy in that typical Georgian fashion, each is individually styled and has its own bathroom. All rooms have large sash windows overlooking either the river or across our front garden into the nature reserve. oooh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Grove Pantry Pub & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Ferry Hotel Upstreet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing