We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An ideal base.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Holly Cottage Barn

Holly Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holly Barn
View from Rear window Dinning area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Holly Barn
View from Rear window
Dinning area
Kitchen
bathroom
Holly Barn
Stelling Minnis Windmill
Stelling Minnis
Stelling Minnis
view from Holly Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stelling Minnis, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ray Y
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
“An ideal base.”
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We found Holly Cottage Barn, to be the ideal base for exploring this part of Kent. All the main attraction areas, such as Canterbury, Dover, Folkestone, Whitstable, are all in easy reach. Stelling Minnis is a quiet village with a good pub, The Rose and Crown , with a friendly landlord. Holly Barn itself we found to be warm, and comfortable, with all that was needed for a pleasant stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui St...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful 2 weeks”
Reviewed February 27, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Set in beautiful countryside with amazing views of the countryside.
The owner is extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble she ensures you have all that you need and checks you are ok throughout stay. You have fresh linen towels each week.
The barn is very comfortable warm and cosy. There is a bedroom with a very comfy mattress bathroom living area large window beautiful views kitchen downstairs with a that you need a secluded secure garden. There is a tv and Wi-Fi.
Two sofas one of which is a sofa bed.
There is complete peace and quiet here you don't hear anything.
We recommend a stay here excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2018
Thank you, hopefully will see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
39AngelA
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful week”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

A Little late but I wanted to share how much we enjoyed our week in this lovely welcoming pet friendly place last summer. It truly is a perfect base for discovering the the many beautiful towns and coast within comfortable driving distance, but also a beautiful and friendly village to spend time in especially the walks. The accommodation is everything you need although a new mattress would be good. Nicola was friendly and easy to contact

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vance W
Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best little Christmas spot ever...”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This little redone barn/garage is a cozy spot for a family getaway or a longer stay. Nicola, the host, is quite attentive: we had some water issues while we were there, and she attended to it immediately and efficiently. When we arrived on Christmas Eve, we found a lighted tree and a gift-wrapped bottle of wine waiting for us. The kitchen was well stocked with cookware, which my wife loved, as she enjoys cooking. It is well-heated on cold days and nights. Perhaps the only thing to be aware of is the stairs: they are a bit steep and a child could be easily injured if he or she fell. However, we were there together for a week, and my wife is still there, with our two small girls, and haven't had an incident of any sort. Keep an eye out, and all will be well. Very comfortable.

The cottage is about three blocks from a fairly well-stocked general store (which I would recommend) and the Rose and Crown pub (which I would NOT), and the bus into Canterbury (a 30 minute ride) stops outside the pub. Very convenient access to attractions such as the Whitefriars shopping center (supermarkets, ATMs aplenty). There is a spot to park a car at the cottage as well, and Dover is only a half-hour drive away to the southeast. So, if you want a place to hole up during cold weather or a base for tourist outings, the cottage is an excellent choice. We highly recommend it!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The cottage is perfect, cosy and comfortable and has everything we need.”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stelling Minnis near Canterbury. Holly Cottage Barn is set in a very quiet and peaceful area overlooking farmland. It has a small secure garden for our dog and there are plenty of places to walk him. The Village Store/Post office and the Rose & Crown pub is just a ten minute walk from the cottage. You can order fish and chips to take away from the pub (or eat in). Nicola, the owner of Holly Cottage Barn is very obliging.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S
Spain
1 review
“Ideal place for people with dogs or those seeking tranquility.”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely rural position, with views and plenty of walking opportunities. Very quiet and peaceful village with shop, pub etc all within walking distance. Well positioned for Canterbury, Dover, Folkestone and Ashford. Accomodation clean and very suitable, bed and futon very comfortable. Kitchen had all items we required to make meals and Nicola was very helpful and welcoming. Enclosed area at the back of property great for popping our dog out into and the internet speed suited our family of three perfectly. We really enjoyed ourselves and will be back again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing