We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pilgrims Rest
Nearby Hotels
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$100
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$102
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$91
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$108
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
90
43
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
43
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarmaladechoice of cooked breakfastfriendly ownersfresh fruitkent coastbus stopplace to stayplenty of parkingcanterbury areaclean bathroomselection of cerealsrelaxing staystayed here for one nightlarge roomtea and coffeefull englishexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 140 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great little b and b, in the countryside yet only a short trip on the bus from canterbury. We arrived on Sunday and received a lovely welcome. We asked if we could order a take away but of course there is a no food in the rooms policy - Gerald was more then happy for us to have our food in the lounge. Only thing that ruins the 5 star is our room - so hot and stuffy. The windows are small and the blinds dont open!! After a restless night, i propped open the corner of the blinds with a wastepaper basket, allowing much needed air into our room. The breakfast is fab too real hotel service x

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Needed A Well Earned Break Was Going To Howletts Wildlife Park And Needed A Close By Stay, What A Gem We Found!!
A Very warm and friendly reception on arrival from Gerrard & his wife,Stayed in Room 1 very light and airy beautiful room, Bed was Fantastic Had Two excellent nights sleep woke up feeling very refreshed.
Went Down For Breakfast Homemade butter,Jam & marmalade.Gerrard showed us the side table which had fresh fruit, juices, cereals,yogurts and everything anyone would need for breakfast.
We Had the Pilgrims English Breakfast, Superb and Plenty, and was topped off with a full pot of leaf tea & fresh coffee.
Excellent Value For The Money And The Service is Excellent! (But Book Direct for a personal service and The Dot Coms Charge More).

Steve & Jo Wilkes Stayed 21st & 22nd March 2014.

Another plus was A Fantastic Restaurant 2 mins down the road recommended by Gerrard The Lion The Food was amazing!
We Will Defiantly Be returning!!!.

Room Tip: Ask Gerrard Nothing Is Too Much Trouble.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilkoSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in 2 rooms on night of 28th December. We chose an overnight stop outside of Canterbury to avoid all the parking hassles in town. Everything was very clean and comfortable and well thought out with good attention to detail.The bedrooms (as the photos demonstrate) are plainly decorated in a contemporary and pleasing style. The rooms were warm, in fact we were rather too hot in our room ( number 3) as we couldn't turn off the radiator. We like to sleep in cool room so some way of modifying the temperature would have been great.
The breakfast was lovely, of good quality including home made jam, and there was plenty of choice. The owners were warm and hospitable and willing to offer advice about the local area.We thought this was a lovely place in a picturesque village offering good value for money. There is a pub opposite which was very friendly and serves food but we didn't eat there. We would be very happy to stay at this B and B again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just returned from one night stay and cannot praise enough. Beautifully clean, excellent service .Breakfast was superb and the owners could not have been more helpful.
Good location for getting into Canterbury.
Would thoroughly recommend.
Will be returning for annual Christmas shopping trip!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueyb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was a last minute booking on a Friday night and what a little gem this bed and breakfast was. Welcoming host, clean comfortable room and a delicious breakfast in the morning. Also a bonus of an excellent pub nearby for dinner. Really good location for visiting Canterbury, buses pass the door if you don't want to drive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theresamac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews