We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woolpack Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Chilham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a lovely pub / restaurant / place to stay in a beautiful village. We stayed in one of the four poster rooms across the road from the pub and everything was lovely. It was quite snowy and cold outside but the room was lovely and warm.

We ate at the pub / restaurant on both nights and the food was lovely. We sat next to the roaring fire and had some nice company in the shape of the pub dog along with another visiting dog!

The whole place was very welcoming. The staff were so helpful and friendly.

I would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Four poster room was beautiful and included a lovely courtyard garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raaaaaaaaaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    74
    34
    17
    9
See reviews for
64
88
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
andover
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed for three nights over Christmas in No 15 which gave us a double room and a twin room for elderly mother, separated by a lounge area with sofa bed and TV. This was ideal as we all had our own space without being oppressively close. We shared the bathroom and this was next door to mum's room so very easy for her in the night. No stairs so ideal for those with mobility problems, although the slight slope and cobbles are a challenge but manageable with care.
Food at the inn was excellent and special requests dealt with quickly and with good humour, nothing appeared too much trouble – extra heaters supplied, extra double duvet (even when it was so mild outside it's still cold for my mum!) bacon and eggs cooked until brown round the edges, fresh milk supplied for tea in the room etc.
Also used the restaurant for a big family lunch and everyone was pleased with their meals, portion size and freshness. It's an interesting pub with a huge log fire and a fascinating history.
Staff all very helpful, cheerful and welcoming. Would be happy to stay again as for three people over Christmas the B&B rate is very good, maybe unbeatable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 15 ideal for family groups up to 6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were attending a wedding and booked in advance so all was ready for us, staff friendly, clean sheets although my bed had very wonky legs and I was pleased to have brought my memory foam with me. The plumbing in the next door room made an awful racket whenever they turned a tap on which disturbed us. Very strong smell of Febreze so we had to have the windows open and the room was very warm but we are used to a cool bedroom. We thought the tea/coffee was a little miserly with just 2 ordinary and 2 earl grey teabags and the smallest biscuits I have ever seen and the TV shelf was over the kettle area making a bang on the head likely. The breakfast was nice with plenty of toast and we had a really nice dinner with a great Abba soundtrack (not intrusive though). Other members of the party commented that the drinks from the bar were rather expensive £15 for 2 ports and a guinness (the only port was vintage and lovely). Altogether a nice place to stay with a lovely atmosphere but if you want posh or boutique or lots of extras then maybe not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This Inn is warm, welcoming and friendly. We were attending a wedding at the village hall and we prebooked quite a while before the big day. We arrived at 2 and we reminded that check-in is not til 3pm, which was ok as we needed to eat and planned to do so in their restaurant. The staff advised another member to tell the housekeeper that it was a double room so the beds needed to be put together. We looked at the menu and a sharp intake of breath was needed at the prices ( reminded us we were in kent,near christmas!) We optted for the light bar bites of scampi and pie. Food was very nice and well presented but the slice of steak and ale pie didnt have much flavour. We stayed in room 14 which is away from the Inn. The room was clean but needs some colour,it was so 'blank' and unwelcoming and not very warm,until the evening. Towels are lovely and big and the shower is brilliant! Our main disappointments were that the two single beds had been made with single bedding and just pushed together,not zipped together and made up as a double. Also i only sleep with one pillow, but the pillows were so thin and lumpy i had to search for more ( drawer in wardrobe) and use two but woke with a bad neck and headache due to them being so awful. Also a toilet was flushed in the night from another room which caused the plumbing to bang and rattle like an old machine and woke us up. Understandable and acceptable in old buildings,not in newer ones. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice and the staff were most helpful and friendly. we would stay again.

Room Tip: carpark at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We enjoyed our meal in the bar with a warming fire to our backs. The staff were all helpful and friendly. Our room was across the road in a separate building which was clean and well fitted. Unfortunately the room was not very warm but we were provided with an additional heater which helped. Then the heating went off during the night so the room was cold again in the morning - the weather was pretty cold so it would probably be ok in milder temperatures. The ensuite was also a wet room for the disabled so was quite spacious. The wifi is very expensive but the parking fortunately is free. Would probably consider staying again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night after a recommendation from a friend. We had a lovely stay. The room was one in the patio area. The room was lovely - plenty of room and tastefully decorated. It was very clean and comfortable - and it smelt nice! The bathroom was quite small but fine and again very clean - my only slight moan was that the grouting in the shower needed to be tidied up! We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was delicious with very interesting choices. There were 4 of us and we all really enjoyed what we had. It was very busy in the restaurant but they had enough staff on duty to deal with the number of people in so it all went very smoothly. The tables were also not too near each other so you felt you had your own space. The waiting staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice-Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

While out with friends in May we came across the Woolpack by accident and decided to go back later in the year to stay. We have just come back home after having a great two days and can't recommend the pub, rooms and most of all the friendly and welcoming staff enough. We have two dogs which can complicate things but not here as they where not only supplied with beds, bowels and poop bags but the odd bit of pork scratching from the kitchen, which they loved. Amazing food,great beer and friendly staff!! We all agreed that we were made to feel like locals and while sitting by the log fire with a pint of Masterbrew in hand I wish that I was. We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasonpurplefingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilham
5.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
3.3 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
5.5 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Inn

Property: Woolpack Inn
Address: The Street | Chilham, Chilham, Canterbury CT4 8DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chilham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chilham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolpack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Hotel Chilham
Woolpack Inn Chilham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing