We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply brilliant”
Review of The Artichoke

The Artichoke
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Chartham
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
“Simply brilliant”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Simply the best food I have ever eaten anywhere....staff really friendly,especially the ones called Claire and Vicki....great choice of drinks....family really loved every second.....the best pub I have been to....very highly recommend....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick19690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    84
    29
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
thamestrader
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved by Lunchtime Crusties”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The starters were very good, the staff friendly and efficient but the mains were disappointing despite the large portions. The pub architecture is attractive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank thamestrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top notch nosh!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely service, friendly, food as it should be! The best 1/2 pint of shell on prawns I've had in years, served with warm lemon hand wash as it should be. Scallops were beautifully cooked to perfection.
Going back for more, reserved the Well table and know we're going to have a lovely time.
Will make sure I have room for the cheeseboard next time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy pub with a warm heart”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Chances upon this pub with some friends on a Saturday night. They were busy, but attentive nonetheless. The locals were friendly and the staff chatty and pleasant. Good food, enormous portions. We didn't have starters Be could not manage desseert. Very reasonably priced, and we will visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canterbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing pub, amazing staff, amazing food, amazing experience.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I visited this pub last week for the first time. It's is simply as I'm sure you would gather from the title smazing. The staff our friendly and welcoming, the atmosphere was really nice and relaxing. The food is awesome. You have to try this pub to experience it's awesomeness!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Artichoke also viewed

 

Been to The Artichoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing