We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food with a view”
Review of Chapter Arms

Chapter Arms
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pub with excellent restaurant 1 mile from Chartham railway station set in the middle of orchards on the South Downs way. Extensive outdoor seating area with stunning views. All meals prepared freshly from top quality locally sourced ingredients. Dogs and children welcome
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“food with a view”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Remote location but easy to find and lovely views
Friendly service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    39
    9
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly & great service”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Never had a bad meal or bad service here & we've been many times. Staff are always friendly & helpful. A little on the pricy side but definitely worth it for the great tasting food.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't stay away”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Yesterday was our third visit. The wife and have visited twice with my mother and once with friends of ours. Each time we have a nice walk with our dog around Chartham Hatch, lots of routes including the Northdowns Way, then return to the pub for a meal. The pub allows well behaved dogs into a side room with is fine and understandable. The food, always very well cooked and presented. Good use of local in season products and always tasty, especially the home made deserts. Yesterday I had rhubarb three ways, yum! The owners and staff are always cheerful and nothing is too much to ask. Tucked away in Chartham Hatch this is one of our very few good finds. Oh and they sell Green King IPA.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jones0492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This pub is located in a fantastic location; it's really nice to look out over the orchards in the summer. The food is good, particularly the roast pork. They also rotate a selection of ales so there is always something new to try. However, the decor has been changed in the last couple of years and now it's a bit bland. It used to have such a lovely country charm with dark wood and branches with twinkling lights on the ceiling. For some reasons these were stripped out for wood floor and leather chairs, it's ruined that good old fashioned country pub atmosphere. The toilets could do with a bit of updating. Also, prices are a bit dear and I feel the quality of the food has dropped a bit from what it was a few years ago. All in all it's nice, but used to be much better.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustycat_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Above average pub food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Four of us went here last weekend and had a very nice meal in the Restaurant area. We had some reservations before our visit has we heard mixed reviews. Other friends had lunched several times and assured us the food was good but not the cheapest. We need not have concerned ourselves as the service was good, the seating was comfortable and the food we all agreed was first rate. True its not the cheapest pub fair but its excellent quality and it’s a cut above most pubs in the area and we are talking only about an few pounds a head. We thought it was good value. We commented on the fact that we expected more diners on a Saturday evening but concluded the recent hot weather meant the BBQ’s were being got out of storage! My fish course was excellent and the Rhubarb triple desert was nothing short of outstanding. We will return soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jake272005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapter Arms also viewed

 

Been to Chapter Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing