We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay and a lovely breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howfield Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A good stay and a lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

A last minute booking that we thought we would risk even after having read the reviews as the price was so good. What a pleasant treat. The welcome was good, the room spacious and the breakfast was excellent. A thoroughly enjoyable experience, especially when you pay a bargain price!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnomemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    115
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
64
192
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

We booked this hotel through late rooms and got what we considered to be a good deal.

The room (number 3) was lovely and spacious, in the old part of the house, so had an original fire place and nice features, we had two windows over looking the gardens which was great.

Had a fantastic flat screen TV with numerous channels and the usual tea/coffee and hot chocolate making facilities.

The en-suite was of a good size and included a bath - however the shower over did not fit in the holder and leaked to such an extent we were unable to shower using it. However, plenty of hot water, so enjoyed a bath instead.

The breakfast was first rate - English Breakfast - freshly cooked with quality ingredients - and a choice of eggs. There was a good selection of fruit juice, cereals and fresh fruit salad (not tinned) which you could help yourself to as you waited for the breakfast to be cooked.

For the price we paid, I would say that overall it was a good stay - we slept very well, very quiet location and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzylizlizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

Our night at Howfield Manor was a suprise 50th birthday gift to my husband from our daughter. We arrived at about six thirty on Saturday evening with the intention of having an hour to relax and shower before meeting our friends in Canterbury for a birthday celebration. The staff in reception were extremely welcoming and helpful. We were shown to a cold, but attractive room. Could n't get tv to work despite following instructions....called reception....girl arrived who couldn't make TV work either so left.... two girls arrived who still couldn't make tv work, removed diggie box and promised to return...Decided to run bath as unable to relax with staff coming and going. Oh dear ran a bath of barely luke warm water... another phone call .... another visit...another phone call to offer us a discount for no TV.... no, we want a TV, can we change room? Finally left for Canterbury in mad rush having had to re pack belongings so staff could move our stuff to new room. Next morning.... very dead flowers on all breakfast tables.... ordered kippers that were completely dried out from over cooking or from being cooked and reheated... miserable colourless fruit salad...oh yes and no butter for our toast only margerine! VERY DISAPPOINTED but didn't complain very forcefully as serving staff so sweet and clearly not their fault also tried to laugh it off so we didn't feel too mad about it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frances57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

The staff were friendly and competent. The room was a good size for a family, clean and comfortable with good views, Breakfast was of a good standard, with .plenty of choice. The bar was expensive but probably in line with other hotels. Didn't eat in the restaurant, but menu looked ok.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddy1wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Upon Hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

We found the Howfield Manor Hotel by chance, we had looked on our travels to Canterbury and found either unsuitability or no vacancies, we decided to follow another hotel sign and 3rd time lucky we found this Hidden Gem. On arrival we were very warmly greeted by the evening staff and given an upgrade room free of additional charge, it was a spacious Four Poster bedroom with a large flat screen TV, WiFi etc., well we were over the moon, the views over the gardens from the 2 large windows was marvellous.
We decided to eat in the restaurant because we found it too late to go out.
The meals were superb and the wine delicious and not overpriced.
Most of all it was the care and consideration they had taken over us to make us welcome that meant the most to us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetlangton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

We booked for a two-night stay 17th - 18th August 2009. We wanted to explore Canterbury.
On arrival we were greeted by the friendly front of house staff. They were most helpful, suggesting we drove to the nearest Park and Drive - this was brilliant - for £2.50 we parked all day and had a bus to and from Canterbury Bus Station.
We were going to explore Canterbury on the Monday, walk the city walls etc; and then on Tuesday we were going to see the Cathedral; and then on the Wednesday we would have a day free to do whatever we wished. That was our intention.

The reality was somewhat different.

Arriving back at the hotel Monday evening we decided not to have a dinner (having eaten out earlier) but we would try the bar menu. Oh WOE !

My wife decided to have a steak in a baguette - NO BAGUETTES !

Fish and chips? - NO FISH EXCEPT SALMON

Burger and Chips? - NO BURGERS

Whilst this was going on a I asked for a pint of draught bitter - OUT OF DRAUGHT BEER!

At this point my wife went to Reception and asked for the manager - he was on holiday!

Whilst discussing the shortcomings with the apologetic front of house staff the Chef de Cuisine arrived on the scene. Good now we can get a few answers!

Apparently they had a wedding reception on the previous Saturday for 180 guests, consequently they were short of food and drink (draught beer).

As we pointed out to the chef we are all aware wedding receptions are booked well in advance for catering purposes and should have no bearing on the regular clientele who may frequent the hotel.

The chef replied that they took no deliveries on Mondays. My wife suggested they should change to suppliers that could deliver on a Monday.

The chef replied, in front of the rest of the staff, ''You have a choice and I am not bothered if you left here and now''. Apparently he is French - but this is no excuse for his rudeness.

The front of house staff were very embarrassed at this outburst. His attitude was unbelievable!

My wife ended up with a bowl of chips and I had a cheese omelette without the chips that I ordered. The omelette was terrible it was approximately 3mm thick with wedges of half-melted red leicester stuck in it.

It was at this point we told reception that we would be cutting short our stay and would leave Tuesday morning.

After a good nights sleep (the accommodation was excellent) we thought breakfast would be an improvement. (Oh foolish virgin - the leopard does not change his spots.)

The tea and coffee were in flasks - how long had that been made?.

Egg, bacon, mushrooms and two sausages - simple! The bacon had been cooked some time before as it was extremely tough to cut and chew. The sausages the size of my little finger were awful.

This hotel is on borrowed time which is a shame as the hotel and grounds are in a beautiful and idyllic setting.

We are both retired and had looked forward to this stay but it was completely ruined by one person's attitude. Unfortunately it is this one person in particular that can make or break a hotel's reputation.

I certainly will not be recommending this hotel to my friends - not even to my enemies!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Optomist421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulsharma, Director at Howfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
In response to this review I have investigated the comments and would make the following comments:

1 The reception staff informed you of the limited menu choice available as some suppliers had not delivered that day. Dishes were offered by the chef from any fresh ingredients available, all were turned down. You then requested some dishes from our bar menu, these were prepared and served. The staff were apologetic for the limited choice and tried to ensure you were well looked after. The downside of using freshly sourced local produce from small independent suppliers sometimes means that suppliers are limited. We have spoken to our suppliers who assure us that they will now step up production to cope with our increasing demands.

2 The food served that evening was I am assured of a good quality and not as you describe.

3 Breakfast was served as it always has been, on a recent inspection by visit Britain the inspector complimented us on our breakfast and our use of local produce. Your comments regarding the tea and coffee was already in the process of being addressed and the member of staff who changed the method of service has been given more training.

4 Draught beer was available at the time, again we offer a locally produced selection of beers.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy the whole of your experience at Howfield Manor, but feel that I need to answer your comments given that this is an open forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

A lovely Manor house, set in a beautiful location just outside of Canterbury. Arrived to a welcoming reception. The staff are exceptionally pleasant and friendly. You feel welcomed on arrival.

Our room was clean and comfortable looking out onto the gardens.

Food
We only had breakfast at the hotel as we were in town on an evening. Unfortunately, this is where standards slip. You cannot fault the service however the little things such as the tea was in a container and not in your own pot. Orange juice was out of a carton and would be better fresh and some of the ingredients were tinned instead of fresh. I’m probably being too picky but an improvement in this area would do wonders to the reputation of the hotel.

Location
The hotel is located 2 miles out of Canterbury, which is nice as its quiet. I didn't mind the location or the drive out.

Overall; a lovely hotel with friendly staff, and good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartham
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
2.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
1.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howfield Manor Hotel

Property: Howfield Manor Hotel
Address: Howfield Manor Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chartham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howfield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Howfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing