We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Took advantage of a midweek DBB in a superior room. Our room was on the ground floor close to the marque and had lovely views of the garden although we had to keep the curtains closed when dressing or undressing. Staff extremely helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. A taxi into Canterbury was about £8 and saved the hassle of trying to find somewhere to park. Had an immediate e-mail after checking out to say we'd left a pair of shoes in the room. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    119
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
197
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Lovely room, very affordable price. Wonderful food, a la carte prices as would be expected but special 'two course' or 'three course' prices made it extremely good value. Extremely friendly and accommodating staff. Held the kitchen open when we were a few minutes late. Made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. This is what good service should be. The only slight drawback is location. The hotel is just on the outskirts of Canterbury and sadly there are industrial units nearby. However none of this was visible from any part of the hotel and even on a weekday there was no noise at all. Both inside and outside the hotel in their extensive grounds was very quiet. We loved it and will certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We chose to stay here rather than in Canterbury so we didn't have to worry about car parking which proved a good choice, although the taxi company suggested by the hotel as giving a discount to hotel customers was more expensive than the return one later at night from the taxi rank!

Comfortable, quiet room with an ample breakfast. Better quality bacon, sausage and scrambled egg would have been nice but generally very good value for money.

We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58Helen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We decided to stay at the Howfield to celebrate our 34th Wedding Anniversary. We could not have chosen anything better. We stayed for 3 nights with 1/2 board. All the meals were excellent particularly the dinners. The Hotel has the services of a great chef and kitchen team very ably assisted by the waiting staff. All the staff made us very welcome .We stayed in Room 1 which is in the original part of the building, it is a huge room with a huge bed. Parts of the hotel were built in the 800's so don't expect level floors etc. It is 5 minutes to Canterbury and Deal, Margate, Ramsgate etc are all within easy reach.

Room Tip: Room 1 is probably the largest and quietest. It also has a very large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We weren't sure about booking this hotel as we wanted to stay in Canterbury itself but left it too late to book. The location however turned out to be easy to find and within 5 mins drive of the city. We spent 2 nights and got a very good deal with breakfast included. Unfortunately we were in a newish wing so the historical character we hoped for was a bit lacking, but our room was on the ground floor overlooking the grounds and was very quiet. (I would hesitate to book a similar room in the summer though as the windows were directly onto the garden used by residents and wedding parties, and only large thick curtains, so it would be a choice of darkness or no privacy). The staff were pleasant and keen, the environment inside and outside the building was pleasant and the room spacious. There were a few little things though - our double bed was actually two singles pushed together, and although the room was a reasonable size there was only one tiny single wardrobe. There was a kettle but the only socket we could find to plug it in was behind one of the bedside cabinets, on the other side of the room from the tea and cups. The bathroom was adequate, with good water pressure, but not a luxurious one where I'd want to laze in the bath. The staff were very keen to get us to eat in the restaurant, but we declined as there was nothing on the menu that appealed to me, but we were busy in Canterbury anyway so hadn't planned to eat at the hotel. We did ask what time the resident's bar closed as often we like to eat in a restaurant then have a drink in the hotel before bed, but unfortunately it was only open until 11 even though it was a weekend. so we just went to a pub in Canterbury before coming back. All in all though, we had a good stay for our money and if you prefer to stay ousidet of the city you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst checking out Canterbury. Managed to get a good deal and the room was nice, if a little warm (took a while to get the furnace-like radiators turned off). Breakfast with Alex was a pleasure and he was by far the best member of staff there. For some reason they kept trying to get us to eat dinner in their in the restaurant but we stayed out most of the day and returned last.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleJona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Last minute searching found us this great hotel staff were very friendly and efficient and could not be more helpful. The room was lovely. We had a fantastic evening meal, breakfast and stayed for their first Sunday carvery, all of which were perfect. Would highly recommend and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartham
2.5 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howfield Manor Hotel

Property: Howfield Manor Hotel
Address: Howfield Manor Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chartham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howfield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing